Discrimination

Towards zero tolerance: How can we spot it and how do we defend ourselves against it?

What is discrimination?

Due to its diversity, Luxembourg obviously feels concerned by discrimination issues, and has deemed it necessary to anticipate possible risks by introducing a legal plan to protect citizens both in public places and in the workplace.

-          discrimination (latin discriminatio, -onis, separation): Discrimination is the practice of treating one person or group of people less fairly or less well than other people or groups. [1]

What does the law say?

The law of 28 November 2006 on equal treatment condemns discrimination. This applies to all public or private, natural or legal persons, including public bodies. It strictly prohibits any form of direct or indirect discrimination based on religion or beliefs, disability, age, sexual orientation, membership or non-membership, actual or supposed, of a race or ethnic group.

The scope of application of the law also includes workplaces and living places, schools and the public space in general.

In its 2016 annual report, the Centre pour l’égalité de traitement (Centre for Equal Treatment - CET) revealed that it received 115 discrimination case files, of which over half (54%) were submitted by men, and 34% by women. The remaining 12% come from organisations and associations, or on the basis of self-referral. Most (25%) of the people were aged between 31 and 40, 9.6% were between 18 and 30 and 5.2% over the age of 60. Finally, 67% of files were from citizens of the European Union, 44% of whom were Luxembourgers.

What can we do?

Although it is a citizen's duty to report cases of discrimination when they occur, many people directly or indirectly affected refuse to talk, or do not even realise that they have been discriminated against. This is why it's important to know the law and – where necessary – which public authorities we can turn to in order to ask for support.

Who can you turn to?

  • Centre pour l'égalité de traitement (Centre for Equal Treatment - CET)

The CET was created by the above-mentioned law of 28 November 2006. The CET carries out its work completely independently and its purpose is to promote, analyse and monitor equal treatment between all persons without discrimination based on race or ethnic origin, sex, sexual orientation, religion or beliefs, disability and age.

  • Chambre des Salariés - CSL (Chamber of Employees)

The CSL was established by the law of 13 May 2008. The powers conferred on it aim to defend professional interests and represent its members. Any person working in Luxembourg, other than civil servants and public employees, is represented by the CSL.

The website discrimination.csl.lu contains a section entirely dedicated to discrimination at work. As well as a clear and concise definition, it also states the legal framework and means of action.

  • Luxembourg Reception and Integration Agency (OLAI);

The OLAI, a public agency under the authority of the Ministry of the Family, Integration and the Greater Region, has the legal capacities to support the reception and integration of foreigners in the Grand Duchy. Its legal provisions include the implementation of a national plan for integration and the fight against discrimination. Each year, an interministerial committee on integration, in consultation with civil society, establishes priorities to ensure a better integration policy.

  • National Reference Center for the Promotion of Affective and Sexual Health - CESAS

The Cesas aims to promote emotional and sexual health at the national level, through information, awareness, and training. Created as part of the national program "Promotion of emotional and sexual health initiated and supported by four ministries: Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth, Ministry of Equal Opportunities, Ministry of Family, Integration and the Greater Region and Ministry of Health, the center advises on
various themes, including discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation.


[1] Definition taken from collinsdictionary.com

  • Updated 09-05-2018

Diskriminierung

Für Null Toleranz: Wie bemerkt man sie, und wie kämpft man dagegen an?

Was ist Diskriminierung eigentlich?

Da sich Luxemburg aufgrund seiner Vielfältigkeit natürlich auch von Diskriminierungsfragen betroffen fühlt, hielt man es für angebracht, eventuellen Risiken zuvorzukommen, indem man einen Gesetzesplan einführt, der den Bürger sowohl in der Öffentlichkeit als auch an seinem Arbeitsplatz beschützt.

-          Diskriminierung (Latein discriminatio, -onis, Trennung): Die Tatsache, jemanden oder eine Gruppe gegenüber der übrigen Gemeinschaft bzw. einer anderen Person abzugrenzen und anders (meistens schlechter) zu behandeln. [1]

Was sieht das Gesetz vor?

Das Gleichbehandlungsgesetz vom 28. November 2006 verurteilt Diskriminierung. Es gilt für alle öffentliche oder private, natürliche oder juristische Personen einschliesslich öffentlichen Einrichtungen. Es untersagt ausdrücklich jegliche Form vondirekter oderindirekter Diskriminierung im Hinblick auf die Religion, Überzeugungen, Behinderungen, Alter, sexuelle Orientierung, tatsächliche oder vermeintliche Zugehörigkeit bzw. Nicht-Zugehörigkeit zu einer Rasse oder Ethnie.

Der Geltungsbereich des Gesetzes bezieht sich auf die Lebens- und Arbeitsplätze, die Schule und die Öffentlichkeit im Allgemeinen.

In seinem Jahresbericht von 2016 teilt das Zentrum für Gleichbehandlung CET mit, 115 Fälle von Diskriminierung erfasst zu haben, von denen mehr als die Hälfte (54%) von Männern, 34% von Frauen eingereicht wurden. Die übrigen 12% stammen von Organisationen und Vereinigungen ohne Gewinnerzielungsabsicht oder sind Eigeninitiativen. Die Mehrheit (25%) der Personen sind zwischen 31 und 40 Jahre alt, 9,6% sind zwischen 18 und 30 Jahre alt, und 5,2% älter als 60 Jahre. Abschliessend beziehen sich 67% der Fälle auf Bürger der Europäischen Union, von denen 44% Luxemburger sind.

Wie reagieren?

Auch wenn es zu den bürgerlichen Pflichten gehört, auftretende Fälle von Diskriminierung zu denunzieren, weigern sich viele direkt oder indirekt Betroffene zu reden oder sind sich nicht einmal bewusst, dass sie diskriminiert werden. Deshalb ist es so wichtig, die Gesetzeslage und gegebenenfalls die öffentlichen Instanzen, an die man sich wenden kann, um Unterstützung zu bekommen, zu kennen.

An wen kann man sich wenden?

  • Zentrum für Gleichbehandlung - CET

Das CET entstand durch das zuvor genannte Gesetz vom 28. November 2006. Das CET arbeitet vollkommen unabhängig mit dem Ziel, die Behandlungsgleichheit - ohne auf der Rasse, ethnischer Herkunft, Geschlecht, sexueller Orientierung, Religion oder Überzeugung, Behinderungen und Alter beruhender Diskriminierung - unter allen Personen zu fördern, zu untersuchen und zu überwachen.

  • Arbeitnehmerkammer - CSL

Die CSL entstand durch das Gesetz vom 13. Mai 2008. Die ihr übertragenen Aufgabenbereiche dienen zur Bewahrung der beruflichen Interessen und dazu, die Staatsangehörigen zu repräsentieren. Jede in Luxemburg arbeitende Person mit Ausnahme der Beamten und öffentlichen Angestellten ist in der CSL repräsentiert.

Die Website discrimination.csl.lu enthält eine ausschliesslich der Diskriminierung am Arbeitsplatz gewidmete Seite. Neben einer klaren und bündigen Definition, informiert sie über den gesetzlichen Rahmen und die Handlungsmöglichkeiten.

  • Luxemburger Aufnahme- und Integrationsamt (OLAI);

Das OLAI, dessen Verwaltung dem Ministerium für Familie und Intergration sowie der Grossregion unterliegt, verfügt über die gesetzliche Amtsbefugnis, die Aufnahme und Eingliederung von Ausländern im Grossherzugtum zu leiten. Seine gesetzlichen Dispositionen umfassen die Schaffung eines nationalen Plans zur Eingliederung und zur Bekämpfung von Diskriminationen. Ein interministerielles Gremium für Eingliederung legt jedes Jahr in Absprache mit der Zivilgesellschaft die Prioritäten im Hinblick auf eine bessere Integrationspolitik fest.

  • Nationales Referenzzentrum zur Förderung der affektiven und sexuellen Gesundheit - CESAS

Die Cesas zielt darauf ab, die emotionale und sexuelle Gesundheit auf nationaler Ebene durch Information, Bewusstsein und Training zu fördern. Erstellt im Rahmen des nationalen Programms "Förderung der emotionalen und sexuellen Gesundheit", initiiert und unterstützt von vier Ministerien: Ministerium für nationale Bildung, Kindheit und Jugend, Ministerium für Chancengleichheit, Ministerium für Familie , Integration und die Großregion und Gesundheitsministerium berät das Zentrum verschiedene Themen, einschließlich Diskriminierung aufgrund der sexuellen Orientierung.


[1] Definition entnommen von www.larousse.fr

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 09-05-2018