Euthanasia and palliative care

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg adopted legislation on euthanasia and assisted suicide in 2009. At the same time, legislation was introduced on palliative care and end-of-life accompaniment.

Euthanasia and assisted suicide

The Law of 16 March 2009 on euthanasia and assisted suicide, defines euthanasia as a medical procedure by which a doctor intentionally ends the life of another person at the express and voluntary request of the latter.

The assisted suicide consists in helping another person to commit suicide, including by providing the necessary means for this purpose.

It is about giving, or helping to give death to a person with an incurable disease, to shorten his suffering and agony period.

The law describes the conditions for a legal request for euthanasia or assisted suicide in Luxembourg, the steps to be taken by the doctor who receives a request for euthanasia as well as his obligations.

For more details of the practicalities and prior conditions with regard to a request for euthanasia or assisted suicide, or to download the forms online, visit the page 'Find out about making a request for euthanasia or assisted suicide' on the Citizens' portal (in French).

Palliative care and end-of-life accompaniment

The law of 16 March 2009 on palliative care, advance instructions and end-of-life accompaniment applies to anyone in a hopeless medical situation as a result of an accident or serious illness.

The aim of palliative care, in addition relieving physical pain and other symptoms, is to take account of the patient's psychological, social and spiritual suffering. Every effort is made to preserve the best possible quality of life, right up to the moment of death.

The Health portal provides detailed information on palliative care and end-of-life accompaniment.

Leave to accompany a dying person

Leave to accompany a dying person is a special type of paid leave which enables a worker (employed or self-employed) with a relative in the terminal stage of a serious illness to take leave of absence to be able to stay at their bedside. This leave is organised much in the same way as leave taken for family reasons.

Consult the procedure in the section entitled 'Applying for leave to accompany a dying person' on the Citizens' portal.

The Luxembourg Chamber of Employees provides detailed information (Q&A) on leave to accompany a dying person.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Sterbehilfe und Palliativpflege

Seit 2009 gilt im Großherzogtum Luxemburg das Gesetz über die Sterbehilfe und die Beihilfe zur Selbsttötung. Gleichzeitig hat der Gesetzgeber ein Gesetz über Palliativpflege und Sterbebegleitung erlassen.

Sterbehilfe und Beihilfe zur Selbsttötung

Das Gesetz vom 16. März 2009 über die Sterbehilfe und die Beihilfe zur Selbsttötung definiert die Euthanasie als medizinische Maßnahme, mit der ein Arzt dem Leben einer anderen Person auf deren ausdrückliche und freiwillige Bitte hin absichtlich ein Ende setzt.

Beihilfe zur Selbsttötung, für die die gleichen Bestimmungen gelten, besteht darin, einer anderen Person dabei zu helfen, sich das Leben zu nehmen, und zwar insbesondere dadurch, dass ihr die hierzu notwendigen Mittel bereitgestellt werden.

Es geht darum, die Leiden eines unheilbar kranken Menschen zu verkürzen indem ihm zum Tod verholfen wird bzw. ihm geholfen wird sich selbst zu töten.

Das Gesetz beschreibt die Bedingungen die zu erfüllen sind damit eine Bitte um Sterbehilfe oder Beihilfe zur Selbsttötung auf einer legalen Grundlage erfolgt, sowie die Schritte und die Pflichten die auf einen Arzt zukommen, auf den eine solche Bitte zukommt.

Um sich ausführlich über die praktischen Modalitäten und Vorbedingungen in Bezug auf einen Wunsch auf Sterbehilfe oder Beihilfe zur Selbsttötung zu informieren oder die Formulare herunterzuladen, besuchen Sie die Seite "Sich über Sterbehilfe oder Beihilfe zur Selbsttötung informieren" auf dem Bürgerportal.

Palliativpflege und Sterbebegleitung

Das Gesetz vom 16. März 2009 über die Palliativpflege, die Patientenverfügung und die Sterbebegleitung wurde vom Gesetzgeber für alle Personen erlassen, die sich nach einem Unfall oder einer schweren Krankheit in einer ausweglosen medizinischen Lage befinden.

Ziel der Palliativmedizin ist es, körperliche Schmerzen und weitere Symptome zu lindern, aber auch dem psychischen, sozialen und geistigen Leiden des Kranken Rechnung zu tragen. Sie bemüht sich, bis zum Lebensende die bestmögliche Lebensqualität zu erhalten.

Auf dem Guichet.lu-Portal finden Sie ausführliche Informationen über Palliativpflege und Sterbebegleitung.

Sonderurlaub zur Sterbebegleitung

Der Urlaub zur Sterbebegleitung ist ein Sonderurlaub, der dem Arbeitnehmer die Möglichkeit bietet, beurlaubt zu werden, um einem nahen Verwandten beizustehen, der an einer Krankheit im Endstadium leidet. Die Regelung des Urlaubs zur Sterbebegleitung ist vergleichbar mit derjenigen des Urlaubs aus familiären Gründen.

Mehr über die Formalitäten zum Thema "Sonderurlaub zur Sterbebegleitung beantragen" finden Sie auf dem Bürgerportal.

Die Arbeitnehmerkammer von Luxemburg informiert Sie ausführlich über den Sonderurlaub zur Sterbebegleitung (Fragen-Antworten).

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 20-10-2017