Buying a property

Buying a home is a step calling for mature reflection. You should consider in great detail the administrative procedures and examine property advertisements carefully. This page helps to guide you through the various steps leading to the signing of the sales contract.

Where to look?

In Luxembourg, as elsewhere, searching for housing involves looking at property listings on specialised websites, accessible through www.editus.lu, or in the local press. Interested parties may also apply directly to the many estate agencies in this country.

Indeed, in the Grand Duchy, and especially in the capital city, few owners manage the sale of their properties themselves. Most of them entrust this task to an estate agency, which earns a commission for the said transaction.

Public auctions

If you plan to buy a property, note that the site www.notariat.lu allows you to find a notary, a competent person to draw up a deed of sale in accordance with procedures in force, following the signing of the 'preliminary sales agreement' (compromis de vente). In addition, notaries regularly conduct public auctions of real estate, which can prove to be very interesting.

Tax credits

It should be noted in this context that the Luxembourg Government has introduced an allowance known as the tax credit (Bëllegen Akt) to reduce incidental expenses associated with the acquisition of real estate. It applies to registration and transcription fees and can be received by anyone wishing to acquire property (and certain annexes to them) for the purpose of personal accommodation. Please refer to 'Apply for a tax credit for deeds' on the Citizens' Portal.

State assistance

People wishing to acquire accommodation are also entitled to several types of State capital assistance, but certain conditions apply. More information can be found at the Citizens’ portal and on the website of the Ministry of Housing.

The energy performance certificate

It should also be noted that it is obligatory to arrange for an energy performance certificate whenever there is a change of owner or tenant in a residential building. You can find more information on the www.myenergy.lu site

Look closely at prices

Before you embark on your search, take a look at the website of the Housing Observatory (Observatoire de l’habitat). This body, which was established by the Ministry of Housing in 2003, collects data on the housing market and, throughout the year, analyses the supply and prices of housing and building plots.

Your procedures, your rights

Visit the Citizens’ portal at guichet.lu to learn more about steps to be taken regarding the purchase of housing.

And for a better understanding of your rights and duties as a future property owner, consult the brochure 'Devenir propriétaire' ('Becoming a property owner') published by the Consumers' Union (Union des consommateurs)! 

  • Updated 29-09-2016

Eine Immobilie erwerben

Der Kauf einer Immobilie sollte gut durchdacht sein und sorgfältig geplant werden. Umso ratsamer ist es, bereits im Vorfeld umfassende Erkundungen zu den erforderlichen Verwaltungsvorgängen einzuholen und die Immobilieninserate genauestens unter die Lupe zu nehmen. Diese Internetseite dient Ihnen als Leitfaden für die einzelnen Schritte bis zur Unterzeichnung des Kaufvertrages.

Wo sollte man suchen?

Wie auch in anderen Ländern verläuft in Luxemburg die Wohnungssuche über Inserate, die auf spezialisierten Webseiten veröffentlicht werden (zu finden beispielsweise über editus.lu) oder in der lokalen Presse erscheinen. Interessenten können sich auch direkt an die zahlreichen hiesigen Immobilienagenturen wenden.

Fakt ist, dass im Großherzogtum und vor allem in der Hauptstadt nur wenige Immobilienbesitzer sich selbst um den Verkauf ihrer Objekte kümmern. Meist wird diese Aufgabe einer Immobilienagentur anvertraut, die für Geschäftsabschlüsse eine Provision erhält.

Die öffentlichen Versteigerungen

Wer eine Immobilie erwerben möchte, sollte wissen, dass er auf der Webseite www.notariat.lu einen Notar finden kann. Nach der Unterzeichnung des Vorvertrages muss der Notar den eigentlichen Kaufvertrag entsprechend den geltenden Vorschriften beurkunden. Die Notare führen darüber hinaus in regelmäßigen Abständen öffentliche Immobilienversteigerungen durch, die durchaus von Interesse sein können.

Die Steuergutschrift

In diesem Zusammenhang ist auch zu erwähnen, dass die luxemburgische Regierung einen Steuerfreibetrag eingeführt hat (auf luxemburgisch Bëllegen Akt, sinngemäß eine "kostengünstige Urkunde"), um die beim Kauf von Wohneigentum anfallenden Begleitkosten zu verringern. Dieser Freibetrag kann bei der Entrichtung der Eintragungs- und Registriergebühren geltend gemacht werden und steht jeder Person zu, die eine Immobilie (oder bestimmte Nebengebäude) für die private Nutzung erwerben möchte. Mehr dazu finden Sie auf der Seite "Eine Steuergutschrift auf notarielle Beurkundungen („Bëllegen Akt“) beantragen" auf dem Bürgerportal .

Die staatlichen Beihilfen

Wer eine Immobilie erwerben möchte, hat außerdem ein Anrecht auf mehrere staatliche Kapitalbeihilfen, deren Erhalt jedoch an Bedingungen geknüpft ist. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf dem Bürgerportal guichet.lu und auf der Internetseite des Ministeriums für Wohnungsbau

Der Energiepass

Zu beachten ist auch, dass Wohngebäude spätestens bei Besitzer- oder Mieterwechseln mit einem Energiepass ausgestattet werden müssen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Webseite www.myenergy.lu.

Preise, die man im Auge behalten sollte

Vor Beginn Ihrer Suche sollten Sie außerdem einen Blick auf die Webseite der Wohnraumerfassungsstelle (Observatoire de l'habitat) werfen. Diese Einrichtung, die 2003 durch das Ministerium für Wohnungsbau ins Leben gerufen wurde, erhebt Daten über den Wohnungsmarkt und untersucht ganzjährig Wohnungsangebot und -preise.

Ihre Vorgehensweise und Ihre Rechte

Besuchen Sie auch das Bürgerportal guichet.lu, wo Sie weitere Informationen zur Vorgehensweise beim Erwerb einer Wohnung finden.

Mehr über Ihre Rechte und Pflichten als zukünftiger Besitzer finden Sie auch in der Broschüre "Erwerb von Wohneigentum" des Verbraucherverbandes (Union des Consommateurs, ULC). 

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 29-09-2016