Applying for social housing

In Luxembourg, two public promoters in the social housing market specialise in the construction of affordable housing or housing at subsidised prices. Housing which is then sold or rented in accordance with social criteria. In addition, the Grand Duchy has a Social Housing Agency (Agence immobilière sociale).

Given the high demand for social housing, waiting lists can be very long. Here are the organisations to contact :

Housing fund

The Housing Fund (Fonds du logement), a public promoter, which sells housing, but also manages the country's largest supply of social housing for rent, comprising 1,703 units of accommodation located throughout Luxembourg.

National Society for affordable housing

The National Society for Affordable Housing (Société nationale des habitations à bon marché, SNHBM) specialises in finding and buying building plots, preparing private development plans, drawing up technical infrastructure plans, carrying out site development and the design and construction of housing. In addition, it manages a rental stock of some 170 houses and apartments. These properties are rented or sold to persons who meet certain criteria, relating in particular to income and wealth. 

Social Housing Agency

The Social Housing Agency (Agence immobilière sociale, AIS), which seeks to combat social exclusion, acts as an intermediary between owners of real estate and households with modest income. This body, which operates under the auspices of the Foundation for Access to Housing (Fondation de l’accès au logement), rents out accommodation suitable for the applicant’s household and then pays the rent to the owner of the property. However, every application for accommodation through the AIS must go through a welfare office, since its services are subject to a number of conditions.

Welfare offices        

In fact, the provision of emergency accommodation in cases of material deprivation is among the benefits offered by the thirty welfare offices in the Grand Duchy. The municipal or regional welfare offices work together closely with the Social Housing Agency.

Here is a list of Luxembourg's welfare offices on the website of the Ministry of Family Affairs.
  • Updated 27-04-2015

Eine Sozialwohnung erhalten

In Luxemburg haben sich zwei öffentliche Bauträger des sozialen Wohnungsmarktes auf die Errichtung erschwinglichen oder bezuschussten Wohnraums spezialisiert. Diese Wohnungen werden anschließend nach sozialen Kriterien verkauft oder vermietet. Darüber hinaus verfügt das Großherzogtum über eine Agentur für Sozialwohnungen (Agence immobilière sociale, AIS).

Aufgrund der hohen Nachfrage nach Sozialwohnungen können die Wartelisten sehr lang sein. Nachfolgend die zuständigen Organisationen:

Fonds für Wohnungswesen

Der Fonds für Wohnungswesen (Fonds du logement) ist ein öffentlicher Bauträger, der Verkäufe tätigt, daneben aber mit 1.703 Unterkünften im ganzen Land auch die umfangreichste soziale Wohnraumeinheit Luxemburgs verwaltet;

Nationale Gesellschaft für verbilligtes Wohneigentum (Société nationale des habitations à bon marché, SNHBM)

die nationale Gesellschaft für verbilligtes Wohneigentum (Société nationale des habitations à bon marché, SNHBM) ist spezialisiert auf die Suche und den Erwerb von Bauland, die Ausarbeitung von Teilbebauungsplänen, die Erstellung der technischen Infrastrukturpläne, die Erschließung von Bauland sowie die Wohnungsplanung und -errichtung. Darüber hinaus verwaltet sie etwa 170 Häuser und Wohnungen. Verkauft oder vermietet werden diese Immobilien an Personen, die vor allem in Bezug auf Einkommen und Vermögen unter bestimmte Kriterien fallen. 

Agentur für Sozialwohnungen

Die Agentur für Sozialwohnungen (Agence immobilière sociale, AIS) ist ein Instrument zur Bekämpfung der sozialen Ausgrenzung und vermittelt zwischen Wohnungsbesitzern und geringverdienenden Haushalten. Die Agentur – eine Unterorganisation der Stiftung für den Zugang zu Wohnraum (Fondation pour l'accès au logement) – mietet auf die Bedürfnisse der antragstellenden Haushalte angepasste Wohnungen und zahlt anschließend die Miete an den Besitzer. Mietanträge an die AIS müssen über ein Sozialamt eingereicht werden, da die Dienstleistungen der Agentur an eine Reihe von Bedingungen geknüpft sind.

Die Sozialämter

In der Tat gehört die Bereitstellung von Notunterkünften in Fällen materieller Not zu den Dienstleistungen der landesweit etwa dreißig Sozialämter. Die kommunalen oder regionalen Sozialämter arbeiten eng mit der Agentur für Sozialwohnungen (AIS) zusammen.

Auf der Internetseite des Familienministeriums finden Sie eine Liste der Sozialämter des Landes.
  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015