Renting a property

Are you planning to settle in Luxembourg and are looking for a flat or house for rent? Maybe you already live in the Grand Duchy, but you have decided to change accommodation, while remaining a tenant? Then this page is designed for you. Find all the useful information about renting a property, from agency fees to flat-sharing, student housing and the energy performance certificate!

Where to look?

In Luxembourg, as elsewhere, searching for a place to rent involves looking at property listings on specialised websites, accessible through www.editus.lu, or in the local press. Interested parties may also apply directly to the many estate agencies in the country.

Indeed, in the Grand Duchy, and especially in the capital, few owners manage the renting out of their properties themselves. Most of them entrust this task to an estate agency, which earns a commission for each transaction. Thus, in the case of rental housing, the agency fee is usually one month's rent plus VAT at 17%.

In addition, there is generally a tenant’s guarantee of a maximum of three months’ rent, which also has to be paid before you move in. In some cases, this deposit is paid directly to the owner or transferred into a blocked bank account in the form of a bank guarantee. People who wish to rent a dwelling but do not have the resources to fund the guarantee deposit required by the lessor can seek financial assistance for this guarantee from the State. For more information, please refer to 'Ask for financial assistance from the State to pay a security deposit' on the Citizens' Portal.

Relocation agencies

However, to find an apartment or house to rent, you can also go through a relocation agency, that is to say, a company that provides a personalised service to enable you to settle in smoothly. They help you with the search for housing, deal with administrative formalities, find a school for your children, etc. You will find a list of relocation agencies in the online directory at www.editus.lu.

Tips for students

If you are a full time student, you can apply for student rental accommodation on the website of the University of Luxembourg Student Housing Unit. Student housing is conveniently located near the various campuses, in Walferdange, Luxembourg City, Mondercange, Esch-sur-Alzette and Noertzange. Most often, the student rents a furnished room in a residence or fitted-out house that he or she shares with other young people. Furnished and equipped studios are available only to doctoral students. Existing housing, which costs between EUR 350 and 590 per month, is allocated according to availability. However, waiting lists can be long.

For more information, please refer to 'Accommodation for students' on the Citizens' Portal.

Flat-sharing

Whether or not you are a student, flat-sharing can be an interesting alternative for those looking for a degree of conviviality and wishing to limit their accommodation costs. Visit websites such as www.appartager.lu, which allow you to advertise and look for advertisements for flat-sharing in Luxembourg! Please note that in some cases these advertisements may have to be paid for!

Look closely at prices

Before you embark on any house search, take a look at the website of the Housing Observatory (Observatoire de l’habitat). This body, which was established by the Ministry of Housing in 2003, collects data relating to the housing market and analyses the supply of housing and accommodation prices throughout the year.

Are you energy efficient?

While you are browsing the property listings, be sure to check the energy performance certificate of the different properties available. This mandatory document, that the owner must have drawn up by experts, gives interesting guidance concerning the energy performance of your future accommodation.

Your procedures, your rights

Visit the Citizens’ Portal at guichet.lu to find out about steps you should take regarding the renting of accommodation!

And in order to better understand your rights and obligations in terms of lease contracts, please refer to the special page made available by the Consumers’ Union (Union des consommateurs)!

  • Updated 29-09-2016

Eine Immobilie mieten

Sie möchten sich in Luxemburg niederlassen und sind auf der Suche nach einer Wohnung oder einem Haus, das Sie mieten möchten? Sie leben schon in Luxemburg, wollen aber die Mietwohnung wechseln? Dann sind Sie auf dieser Seite genau richtig. Von aktuellen Agenturgebühren über Wohngemeinschaften und Studentenzimmer bis hin zum Energiepass finden Sie hier alle nützlichen Informationen zur Wohnungsmiete.

Wo sollte man suchen?

Wie in anderen Ländern verläuft in Luxemburg die Mietwohnungssuche über Inserate, die auf spezialisierten Webseiten veröffentlicht werden (zu finden z. B. über editus.lu) oder in der lokalen Presse erscheinen. Interessenten können sich auch direkt an die zahlreichen hiesigen Immobilienagenturen wenden.

Fakt ist, dass im Großherzogtum und vor allem in der Hauptstadt nur wenige Immobilienbesitzer sich selbst um die Vermietung ihrer Objekte kümmern. Meist wird diese Aufgabe einer Immobilienagentur anvertraut, die für Geschäftsabschlüsse eine Provision erhält. Bei Wohnungsvermietungen belaufen sich die Agenturgebühren gewöhnlich auf den Betrag einer Monatsmiete zuzüglich 17 Prozent Mehrwertsteuer.

Hinzu kommt üblicherweise die Mietkaution - ein Betrag von maximal drei Monatsmieten, der ebenfalls vor dem Einzug zu zahlen ist. Je nach Fall wird diese Kaution entweder direkt an den Besitzer überwiesen oder auf einem Bankkonto als Bankgarantie hinterlegt. Wer mieten möchte, jedoch die dafür erforderliche Kaution nicht aufbringen kann, hat die Möglichkeit, staatliche Unterstützung für die Finanzierung des entsprechenden Betrages zu beantragen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie auf der Seite "Eine staatliche Beihilfe für die Stellung einer Mietkaution beantragen" auf dem Bürgerportal.

Relocation-Agenturen

Für die Miete einer Wohnung oder eines Hauses können Sie sich auch an sogenannte "Relocation-Agenturen" wenden. Hierbei handelt es sich um Unternehmen, die mit einem persönlich zugeschnittenen Service für eine reibungslose Unterbringung sorgen: sie helfen bei der Wohnungssuche, kümmern sich um die anfallenden Verwaltungsvorgänge, finden eine Schule für Ihre Kinder und so weiter. Eine Liste mit Relocation-Agenturen finden Sie im Online-Telefonverzeichnis editus.lu.

Interessante Angebote für Studenten

Vollzeitstudierende können sich auf der Webseite der Anlaufstelle für Studentenwohnungen (Unité logements étudiants) der Universität Luxemburg für ein Studentenzimmer bewerben. Die Unterkünfte befinden sich logischerweise in der Nähe der unterschiedlichen Universitätscampusse, d. h. in Walferdingen, Luxemburg-Stadt, Monnerich, Esch an der Alzette und Noertzingen. Meist mietet der Student ein möbliertes Einzelzimmer in einer entsprechend ausgestatteten Wohnung oder einem Haus, das er mit anderen jungen Leuten teilt. Möblierte und ausgestattete Einzimmerwohnungen sind den Doktoranden vorbehalten. Die vorhandenen Unterkünfte, die monatlich zwischen 350 und 590 Euro kosten, werden nach Verfügbarkeit vergeben. Die Wartelisten können allerdings lang sein.

Mehr dazu erfahren Sie auf der Seite "Als Student mieten" auf dem Bürgerportal.

Wohngemeinschaften

Auch für Nicht-Studenten, die Geselligkeit suchen und ihre Mietkosten in einem überschaubaren Rahmen halten wollen, kann die Wohngemeinschaft eine interessante Alternative darstellen. Besuchen Sie Webseiten wie www.appartager.lu, wo Sie Anzeigen für Wohngemeinschaften in Luxemburg aufgeben und sich die Inserate anderer Anbieter anschauen können. Achtung, in bestimmten Fällen sind diese Anzeigen kostenpflichtig!

Preise, die man im Auge behalten sollte

Vor Beginn Ihrer Suche sollten Sie einen Blick auf die Webseite der Wohnraumerfassungsstelle (Observatoire de l'habitat) werfen. Diese Einrichtung, die 2003 durch das Ministerium für Wohnungsbau ins Leben gerufen wurde, erhebt Daten über den Wohnungsmarkt und untersucht ganzjährig Wohnungsangebot und -preise.

Energiesparend oder energieintensiv?

Beim Durchgehen der Immobilienanzeigen sollten Sie bei den unterschiedlichen Angeboten auch auf den Energiepass achten. Dieses für den Immobilienbesitzer vorgeschriebene Dokument, das von Fachleuten erstellt werden muss, liefert aufschlussreiche Angaben zur Energieeffizienz Ihrer zukünftigen Wohnung.

Ihre Vorgehensweise und Ihre Rechte

Besuchen Sie auch das Bürgerportal guichet.lu, wo Sie weitere Informationen zur Vorgehensweise beim Mieten einer Wohnung erhalten.

Mehr über Ihre Rechte und Pflichten als Mieter erfahren Sie auch auf der Sonderseite des Verbraucherverbandes (Union des Consommateurs, ULC). 

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 29-09-2016