Quality of life

Physical safety, an asset

Luxembourg is a safe country. And this remains the case despite the slight but steady increase in crime recorded by the Grand-Ducal Police, in particular crime against property.

This is borne out by ‘Risk Map 2017’, an interactive map produced by the British company Control Risks, which shows that the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is one of the rare countries in the world - along with Switzerland and the Scandinavian countries - to be categorised as very safe.

Let us take the homicide rate, an important indicator in this field. The police statistics provide every year reliable - and reassuring - figures.

Thus, in 2013, the Grand-Ducal Police recorded just one murder, a crime, moreover, which has since been solved. A year earlier, 1 murder and 2 killings were recorded in the annual police report. Overall, the rate of homicide as a percentage of the population came to 4.2% between 2009 and 2013.

Statec has inquired into safety

In 2013, the National Statistics and Economic Studies Institute (Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques, STATEC) studied safety in Luxembourg in collaboration with the University of Luxembourg. The first findings of this survey showed that 50% of Luxembourg households had not been the victim of any crime between 2008 and 2013. The bulk of the 50% who had been affected by criminality had been confronted by a consumer fraud (17.6%), theft without violence (12.8%) or fraud involving a bank card (12.7%). 10% of the households questioned had been burgled during the period considered.

In the same context, Statec also inquired into persons who claimed they had been victims of violence at least once in their lives. It emerged that 17% of the people interviewed had been harassed in the course of the 5 years preceding the survey (psychological harassment/threats/bullying), 4% had been the victims of theft with violence, 9% had suffered physical violence and 4% had been victims of sexual violence.

However, it appears from the survey that 85% of the inhabitants of Luxembourg feel safe there. Only 15% stated that they did not feel safe when they went out alone in their area in the evening and 8% do not go out after nightfall. And 34% of the persons surveyed consider that it is probable that they will be burgled.

However, more than 80% of inhabitants consider that the Grand-Ducal Police do a good, if not very good, job. Moreover, with a presence of 324.8 police officers for every 100,000 habitants, the country is near the European average (337.7).

  • Updated 08-11-2017

Lebensqualität

Physische Sicherheit - ein Pluspunkt

Luxemburg ist ein sicheres Land. Und das trotz der Tatsache, dass polizeilich registrierte Straftaten, vor allem im Bereich der Eigentumsdelikte, leicht, aber konstant zugenommen haben.

Das bestätigt auch die „RiskMap“ der britischen Firma Control Risks, in der das Sicherheitsrisiko jedes Landes weltweit dargestellt wird. Hier gehört Luxemburg neben der Schweiz und den skandinavischen Staaten zu den wenigen Ländern, die als sehr sicher eingestuft werden.

Ein wichtiger Indikator für diesen Bereich ist die Tötungsrate. Den jährlich erstellten Polizeistatistiken zufolge liegen die Zahlen auf einem unbedenklich niedrigen Niveau

Statec-Erhebung zur Sicherheit

Im Jahr 2013 untersuchte das Statistikamt Statec in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Luxemburg die Sicherheit in Luxemburg. Erste Ergebnisse dieser Erhebung zeigten, dass 50 % der luxemburgischen Haushalte zwischen 2008 und 2013 keiner Straftat zum Opfer fielen. Die von Kriminalität betroffenen 50 % wurden mehrheitlich Opfer von Warenbetrug (17,6 %), Diebstahl (12,8 %) oder Kreditkartenbetrug (12,7 %). Bei 10 % der befragten Haushalte kam es im Untersuchungszeitraum zu Einbrüchen.

Neben diesen Erkenntnissen hat das Statec auch interessiert, wie viele Menschen in ihrem Leben mindestens einmal Opfer einer Gewalttat wurden. 17 % der Befragten erlebten demnach in den der Erhebung vorangehenden fünf Jahren eine Form von Nötigung (Mobbing, Drohungen, Belästigungen), 4 % wurden Opfer von Diebstählen mit Gewaltanwendung, 9 % waren von Körperverletzungen betroffen und 4 % ist sexuelle Gewalt widerfahren.

Die Studie kommt indes zu dem Ergebnis, dass sich 85 % der Bewohner in Luxemburg sicher fühlen. Lediglich 15 % gaben an, sich nachts alleine außerhalb ihrer Wohnung unsicher zu fühlen. 8 % verlassen nach Einbruch der Nacht nicht mehr das Haus. 34 % der Befragten halten es für wahrscheinlich, dass sie Opfer eines Einbruchs werden könnten.

Immerhin 80 % der Bewohner bewerten die Arbeit der Polizei in Luxemburg als gut oder sehr gut. Die Anzahl an Polizisten pro 100.000 Einwohner entspricht mit 324,8 Beamten übrigens nahezu dem europäischen Durchschnitt (337,7).

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 09-11-2017