History of sport

In the history of sports in the Grand Duchy, there is one iconic figure who is famous and admired all over the world: the cyclist Charly Gaul (1932-2005), winner of the Tour de France in 1958, winner of the Giro d'Italia in 1956 and 1959, and also the winner of ten stages in the 'Grand Boucle', the Tour de France.

It is indeed cyclists who have written the best pages of the Grand Duchy's sports history. Three other Luxembourgers have also won the Tour de France:  François Faber (1887-1915), the first non-French competitor to win the race, in 1909, Nicolas Frantz (1899-1985), winner in 1927 and 1928, and Andy Schleck (b. 1985), winner of the 2010 Tour de France.

Since the beginning of the 2000s, a new generation of cyclists has been causing a stir, such as Kim Kirchen (b. 1981) and the brothers Frank Schleck (b. 1980) and Andy Schleck (b. 1985). The 2008 edition of the Tour de France was particularly riveting for Luxembourgish cycling, as Kim Kirchen and Andy Schleck bore the yellow and green jerseys for multiple stages during the Tour, and Andy Schleck was eventually awarded Best Young Rider of the Tour. For more information, visit our page on 'Luxembourgers in the Tour de France'.

The athlete Josy Barthel (1927-1992) is another great figurehead of sports in the Grand Duchy, having won the Olympic gold medal at the 1952 Games in Helsinki, in the 1,500 metre run. Since the early 2000s, expectations have concentrated on athlete David Fiegen (b. 1984), European vice-champion in 2006 over 800 metres, and triathlete Liz May (b. 1983), came in third twice at the European championships in the U23 category.

Since the end of the 2000s, the Grand Duchy's tennis players have achieved notable results, with Mandy Minella (b. 1985), and Gilles Muller (b. 1983) — junior world champion in 2001 and winner of the US Open in the same category. In 2008, Muller was the first Luxembourger to reach the quarter-final of a Grand Slam tournament, at the US Open. He can boast victories against some of the circuit’s biggest names, such as Andre Agassi, Andy Roddick and Rafael Nadal.

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Geschichte des Sports

In der Sportgeschichte des Großherzogtums ist er eine symbolische, international gefeierte und bewunderte Persönlichkeit: der Radrennfahrer Charly Gaul (1932-2005), Sieger der Tour de France im Jahr 1958, Sieger des Giro d’Italia in den Jahren 1956 und 1959 und zehnmaliger Etappensieger bei der Tour de France.

Es sind vor allem die Radrennfahrer, die die schönsten Seiten der Luxemburger Sportgeschichte geschrieben haben. Luxemburg zählt 3 weitere Sieger der Tour de France:  François Faber (1887-1915), der erste nicht-französische Sieger im Jahre 1909, Nicolas Frantz (1899-1985), Gewinner in den Jahren 1927 und 1928, und Andy Schleck (geb. 1985), Sieger der Tour de France 2010.

Seit Beginn der 2000er Jahre sorgt eine eine neue Generation für Furore, mit Rennfahrern wie Kim Kirchen (*1978) und den Schleckbrüdern Frank (*1980) und Andy (*1985). Besonders spannend für den Luxemburger Radsport war die Tour de France 2008, bei der Kim Kirchen über mehrere Etappen das gelbe Trikot trug und Frank Schleck das grüne. Im selben Jahr wurde Andy Schleck zum besten Jungprofi gekürt. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie auf unserer Seite "Die Luxemburger bei der Tour de France".

Eine weitere Galionsfigur des Luxemburger Sports ist der Leichtathlet Josy Barthel (1927-1992), Olympiasieger über 1.500 Meter bei den Spielen in Helsinki 1952. Seit Beginn der 2000er Jahre ruhen alle Hoffnungen auf dem Leichtathleten David Fiegen (geb. 1984), Vize-Europameister 2006 über 800 Meter, und der Triathletin Liz May (geb. 1983) die zweimal den 3. Platz bei den Europameisterschaften in der U23-Kategorie belegen konnte.

Seit Ende der 2000er Jahre liefern auch die luxemburgischen Tennisspieler beachtliche Ergebnisse mit Mandy Minella (geb. 1985) und Gilles Muller (geb. 1983), der 2001 Weltmeister der Junioren wurde und im gleichen Jahr die US-Open in dieser Kategorie für sich entschied. 2008 erreichte Muller bei den US-Open als erster Luxemburger das Viertelfinale eines Grand-Slam-Turniers. Des Weiteren hat er in seiner bisherigen Karriere mehrere Tennisstars besiegt, darunter André Agassi, Andy Roddick und Rafael Nadal.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 28-04-2015