Sports

Luxembourgers are real sports adepts, be it for leisure or competition, or as (television-) spectators at sports events. It is especially in individual disciplines that Luxembourg's high-level sportsmen and -women have managed to stand out.

Nevertheless, in the history of grand ducal sport, one emblematic figure, renowned and admired throughout the world, stands out: the cyclist Charly Gaul (1932-2005). It is indeed the cyclists who have written the best pages of Luxembourg's sports history. 

The athlete Josy Barthel (1927-1992) is another great figurehead of Luxembourg's sports, having won the Olympic gold medal at the 1952 Helsinki games in the 1,500m run.

For some time, the Grand Duchy has proven itself as a competent organiser for major sports events, such as the BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open or the ING Europe Marathon Luxembourg. Luxembourg was the point of departure of the Tour de France in 1989 and in 2002, and the country has seen the arrival of 9 stages between 1947 and 2006. 

  • Updated 23-11-2017

Sport

Luxemburger sind sportsbegeistert, sei es beim Freizeitsport, Leistungssport oder als (Fernseh-) Zuschauer bei Sportveranstaltungen. Die luxemburgischen Hochleistungssportler konnten sich vor allem in den Einzeldisziplinen einen Namen machen.

In der Geschichte des Luxemburger Sports gibt es eine berühmte Figur, die weltweit bewundert wird: der Radfahrer Charly Gaul (1932-2005). Es sind vor allem die Radfahrer, die die schönsten Seiten der Luxemburger Sportgeschichte geschrieben haben. 

Eine weitere Galionsfigur des Luxemburger Sports ist der Leichtathlet Josy Barthel, Olympiasieger über 1.500 Meter bei den Spielen in Helsinki 1952.

Seit Jahren schon beweist sich Luxemburg immer wieder im Organisieren von sportlichen Großereignissen wie den BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open oder dem ING Europe Marathon Luxembourg. Zweimal schon fand der Startschuss der Tour de France in Luxemburg statt: 1989 und 2002. Und zwischen 1947 und 2006 war Luxemburg sieben Mal das Ziel einer Etappe der Tour.

  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 27-04-2015