Sports events

For some time, the Grand Duchy has proven itself as a competent organiser of major sports events. Here is a list of the main sports events throughout the year.

January

  • Luxembourg Euro Meet: organised annually since 1999, this is the biggest swimming event in the Grand Duchy, attended by international elite swimmers

February

  • ING Eurocross: this international cross country race takes place every year in Diekirch and is one of the qualifying events for the IAAF World Cross Country Championships

March

April

  • DKV Urban Trail: a run right in the heart of Luxembourg City. During this run, established in 2010, participants have the choice between courses covering 34km (the 'GranDucale'), 27km (the Forts Trail) and 13km (Traces of Vauban) and mini-trails over 1,600 metres (for 9-12 year-olds) and 900 metres (for 6-8 year-olds). This is a perfect opportunity to discover the centre and the suburbs of Luxembourg City and take some exercise at the same time.

May

  • COSL Spillfest: sports festival organised by the Luxembourg National Olympic Committee (Comité olympique et sportif luxembourgeois, COSL), held annually in Kockelscheuer, with the participation of sports clubs and federations.
  • ING Europe-Marathon Luxembourg: this night-time marathon has been held in Luxembourg City since 2006. The event comprises several races: a marathon (42.195km), a semi-marathon (21.00km) and a mini-marathon (4.2km).
  • Mission Nicht Rauchen (Mission No Smoking): event organised by the Cancer Foundation, with sports workshops on the Place Guillaume II and the Place d'Armes in Luxembourg City

June

  • SKODA Tour de Luxembourg: established in 1935, the Tour de Luxembourg is a cycling race in several stages; it starts in Luxembourg City and travels around the country before returning to Luxembourg City.
  • Flèche du Sud: international cycling race in several stages for hopeful elite racing cyclists
  • Réiser Päerdsdeeg CSI Luxembourg (equestrian days in Roeser): created in 1992, the Luxembourg international jumping competition is the most prestigious equestrian event held in the Greater Region. Since 2011, the Luxembourg Grand Prix has counted as a selection event for the European Championships.
  • Ergo Ironman 70.3: organised for the first time in 2013 in the Luxembourg Moselle area, this was the first Ironman-type triathlon to be held in the Grand Duchy; it comprises 1.9km swimming, 90km cycling, and a semi-marathon.

July

  • JP Morgan City Jogging: running and Nordic walking through the most beautiful parts of Luxembourg City, with no timing. Distances of 10km or 6km to choose between. Organised by the Luxembourg Athletics Federation (Fédération luxembourgeoise d'athlétisme), with the support of the City of Luxembourg.
  • 6 Stonne Vëlo: six hours of cycling. Relay cycle race for amateurs, organised by the cycling section of the Amicale Post Luxembourg, Luxembourg Post Office's friendly association. In recent years, the race has started in various towns, including Luxembourg City, Wiltz, Moutfort, Wincrange, Mersch and Roeserbann. For more information, please consult www.6stonnevelo.lu.
  • Alles op de Velo (everybody on your bike!): on the third Sunday in July each year, between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m., the Mamer valley is reserved exclusively for walkers and non-motorised vehicles. This concerns a section of the CR101 road between Mamer and Mersch. The different stages of the course are Mersch, Schoenfels, Kopstal and Mamer. Distance covered: 15km. Entertainment and food stalls round off the event. Organisers: Ecology Movement (Mouvement écologique), in collaboration with the municipalities of Kopstal, Mamer and Mersch and the Luxembourg Bike Initative (Lëtzebuerger Vëlos-Initiativ, LVI). For more information, consult www.meco.lu.
  • Gala Tour de France criterium by invitation for elite racers and hopefuls: famous cyclists meet up each year at the end of July and early August in Esch-Belval for the Gala Tour de France. Various other events take place as part of this criterium.
  • Foyer International Triathlon in Echternach: international triathlon organised since 1985 by the Luxembourg triathlon association Trilux — Triathlon Luxembourg and held near the lake in the historic town of Echternach.

September

  • Escher Kulturlaf: 10km run combining sport and music. The route takes participants through Esch-sur-Alzette to various cultural sites. Along the way, a dozen music groups encourage the runners in their effort. Free race with no timing. For more information, please consult www.kulturlaf.lu.
  • ING Route du vin semi-marathon: semi-marathon with the participation of a number of top international runners, held each year in the Luxembourg Moselle area.

October

  • The BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open, the only official indoor tournament of the 'WTA Tour' for women in the Greater Region, has been bringing major national and international stars of the tennis circuit to Luxembourg since 1996;
  • Walfer Vollékslaf: organised since 1975, this very popular family run offers a choice of distances (12km, 4.5km, and 900 metres for 5-12 year-olds).
  • Indoor cycling marathon (spinning) in favour of organ donation: organised by the Ministry of Health and Luxembourg-Transplant on World Organ Donation Day each year, with the participation of many sport celebrities. For more information, please consult www.dondorganes.lu.
  • Updated 14-09-2017

Sportveranstaltungen

Seit geraumer Zeit macht sich das Großherzogtum auch bei der Durchführung sportlicher Großveranstaltungen einen Namen. Hier finden Sie eine Liste der wichtigen Sportereignisse im Laufe des des Jahres.

Januar

  • Luxembourg Euro Meet: Der seit 1999 jährlich stattfindende Schwimmwettbewerb ist das größte Schwimm-Event in Luxemburg, an dem internationale Spitzenschwimmer teilnehmen.

Februar

  • ING Eurocross: Dieses internationale Cross-Country-Rennen in Diekirch findet einmal pro Jahr statt und ist ein Qualifikationslauf im Hinblick auf die IAAF World Cross Country Championships.

März

  • Postlaf: Äußerst beliebte Laufveranstaltung für die ganze Familie in der Stadt Luxemburg, die neben einem 10-Kilometerlauf auch zwei Strecken für Kinder anbietet (500 und 1.000 Meter).
  • Relais pour la vie: Relais pour la vie (Staffellauf für das Leben): Die Krebsstiftung (Fondation Cancer) lädt jedes Jahr zur 24-Stunden-Laufveranstaltung "Relais pour la vie" ins nationale Sport-und Kulturzentrum d'Coque in Luxemburg-Kirchberg ein.

April

  • DKV Urban Trail: Laufveranstaltung im Herzen der Hauptstadt. Bei der seit 2010 stattfindenden Veranstaltung hat der Teilnehmer die Wahl zwischen Runden über 34 Kilometer ("La GranDucale"), 27 Kilometer ("Le Trail des Forts" - Traillauf entlang der Festungsanlagen), 13 Kilometer ("Les Traces de Vauban", d. h. "auf Vaubans Spuren") sowie Mini-Trails von 1.600 Metern (9-12 Jahre) und 900 Metern (6-8 Jahre). Eine Teilnahme ist die perfekte Möglichkeit, die Stadt und ihre Vororte auf sportliche Weise zu entdecken.

Mai

  • COSL Spillfest: Ein alljährlich auf Kockelscheuer stattfindendes Sportfest, das vom Luxemburgischen Olympischen Komitee (Comité olympique et sportif luxembourgeois, COSL) in Zusammenarbeit mit den Sportvereinen und -verbänden veranstaltet wird.
  • ING Europe Marathon Luxembourg: seit 2006 stattfindender Nachtmarathon auf dem Gebiet der Stadt Luxemburg. Zu der Veranstaltung zählen mehrere Rennen: ein Marathon (42,195 km), ein Halbmarathon (21 km) und ein Mini-Marathon (4,2 km).
  • Mission Nicht Rauchen: Veranstaltung der Krebsstiftung mit Sportworkshops auf dem Place Guillaume II und dem Place d'Armes in Luxemburg-Stadt.

Juni

  • SKODA Tour de Luxembourg: Die 1935 erstmals ausgerichtete Tour de Luxemburg ist ein Radsport-Etappenrennen, das in Luxemburg-Stadt startet und nach einer Durchquerung des Landes dort auch endet.
  • Flèche du Sud: Internationales Radsport-Etappenrennen für angehende Elite-Fahrer.
  • Réiser Päerdsdeeg CSI Luxembourg (Roeser Pferdetage): Der 1992 ins Leben gerufene internationale Springreiterwettbewerb in Luxemburg ist das renommierteste Pferdesportereignis der Großregion. Seit 2011 gilt der Große Preis von Luxemburg als Qualifikationsrunde für die Europameisterschaften.
  • Ergo Ironman 70.3: Bei dem erstmals 2013 an der luxemburgischen Mosel organisierten Event handelt es sich um den ersten in Luxemburg veranstalteten Triathlon des Typs Ironman mit 1,9 km Schwimmen, 90 km Radfahren und einem Halbmarathon.

Juli

  • JP Morgan City Jogging: Joggen und Nordic Walking durch die schönsten Ecken der Stadt Luxemburg, ohne jede Zeitmessung. Zur Auswahl stehen Strecken von 6 oder 10 Kilometern. Veranstalter: Luxemburgischer Leichtathletikverband (Fédération luxembourgeoise d'athlétisme) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stadt Luxemburg.
  • 6 Stonne Vëlo: Sechs-Stunden-Radrennen. Fahrrad-Staffellauf für Nicht-Profis, veranstaltet von der Radsport-Gruppe des Freundeskreises Post Luxemburg (Amicale Post Luxembourg). In den vorhergehenden Jahren startete das Rennen in unterschiedlichen Ortschaften wie Luxemburg-Stadt, Wiltz, Moutfort, Wincrange, Mersch und Roeserbann. Mehr dazu: www.6stonnevelo.lu.
  • Alles op de Velo (Alle aufs Fahrrad): An jedem dritten Sonntag im Juli, zwischen 10 und 18 Uhr, ist das Mamertal ausschließlich Fußgängern und nicht-motorisierten Fahrzeugen zugänglich. Ein Abschnitt der Landstraße CR101 zwischen Mamer und Mersch ist an diesem Tag für den Autoverkehr gesperrt. Die Streckenetappen befinden sich in Mersch, Schoenfels, Kopstal und Mamer. Länge der Strecke: 15 Kilometer. Aktivitäten und Lebensmittelstände sind vorgesehen. Organisatoren: Mouvement écologique, gemeinsam mit den Gemeinden Kopstal, Mamer und Mersch sowie mit der Luxemburger Fahrrad Initiative (Lëtzebuerger Vëlos-Initiativ, LVI). Weitere Informationen auf der Webseite www.meco.lu.
  • Gala Tour de France - Kriterium auf Einladung für Elite-Fahrer und angehende Elite-Fahrer: Renommierte Radsportler treffen sich jedes Jahr Ende Juli / Anfang August in Esch-Belval für die Gala Tour de France. Im Rahmen dieses Kriteriums finden auch verschiedene andere Veranstaltungen statt.
  • Internationaler Foyer Triathlon Echternach: Internationaler Triathlon, der seit 1985 von der Vereinigung Trilux - Triathlon Luxembourg am See der geschichtsträchtigen Stadt Echternach ausgerichtet wird.

September

  • Escher Kulturlaf: Laufveranstaltung über 10 Kilometer, die Sport und Musik auf einzigartige Weise miteinander verbindet. Die Strecke verläuft quer durch Esch an der Alzette, an mehreren kulturellen Sehenswürdigkeiten vorbei. Entlang der Strecke feuern etwa fünfzehn Musikgruppen die Läufer an. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos, eine Zeitmessung findet nicht statt. Mehr dazu: www.kulturlaf.lu.
  • ING Route du vin semi-marathon: Halbmarathon mit der Teilnahme international bekannter Läufer, der jährlich an der Luxemburger Mosel stattfindet.

Oktober

  • Das BGL BNP Paribas Luxemburg Open - einziges offizielles Hallenturnier der Großregion im Rahmen der Damentennis-"WTA Tour" – bringt seit 1996 die großen heimischen und internationalen Stars des Tenniszirkus nach Luxemburg.
  • Walfer Vollékslaf: Diese seit 1975 stattfindende, äußerst beliebte Laufveranstaltung richtet sich an die ganze Familie und bietet Strecken über 12 Kilometer, 4,5 Kilometer und 900 Meter (5-12 Jahre).
  • Spinning-Marathon für Organspenden: Veranstaltung des Gesundheitsministeriums und der Vereinigung Luxembourg-Transplant anlässlich des Welttags der Organspende, an der zahlreiche Persönlichkeiten aus der Welt des Sports teilnehmen. Mehr dazu: www.dondorganes.lu.
  • Letzte Änderung dieser Seite am 14-09-2017