On Wednesday 6 July, the Dräi Eechelen Museum is opening its new temporary exhibition called Pont Adolphe 1903, which will be open for visitors from 7 July 2016 to 8 May 2017. The exhibition revives the history of the famous Adolphe bridge, which has been spanning the Petrusse valley for more than a century now. It contains unpublished original plans and documents, historical photographs, as well as an impressive multimedia presentation 14 metres wide. Visitors can learn about the construction of the bridge, its complex and modern architecture, as well as its impact on urban development and the emergence of new means of transport, like the automobile, the steam train or the tram.
In addition, the 'Roude Leiw' (red lion), the emblematic stone figure made by the Italian sculptor Aurelio Sabbatini that has been adorning the Adolphe bridge since 1961, before being dismounted in order to renovate the bridge, has been moved to the Dräi Eechelen Museum so that it can now be admired as a part of the exhibition.
The 45 metres tall Adolphe bridge, named after Grand Duke Adolphe, is one of the most prestigious monuments in Luxembourg City. It was designed by the French engineer Paul Séjourné and opened on 24 July 1903. For the first few years after its opening it was the largest arched bridge in the world. In order to keep the main supporting arches of the bridge in good condition, renovation works are currently taking place, until the end of 2016.
(Article written by the editorial team of the portal www.luxembourg.lu; Source: www.m3e.lu)