Employment

Statutory public holidays in 2017

Here is a full list of statutory public holidays in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in 2017.

01-ferieIn the Grand Duchy, the duration of annual leave consists of 25 workdays per year, regardless of the age of the employee. However, a collective convention or an individual agreement between employer and employee may allow a higher number of days of annual leave. Added to the annual holidays are ten statutory public holidays per year.

Here are the dates for 2017:

  • New Year's Day: 1 January 2017 (Sunday);
  • Easter Monday: 17 April 2017;
  • Labour Day: 1 May 2017 (Monday);
  • Ascension: 25 May 2017 (Thursday);
  • Whit Monday: 5 June 2017;
  • 'Fête nationale' national day: 23 June 2017 (Friday);
  • Assumption: 15 August 2017 (Tuesday);
  • All Saints' Day ('Toussaint'): 1 November 2017 (Wednesday);
  • Christmas Day: 25 December 2017 (Monday);
  • Boxing Day (St Stephen's Day): 26 December 2017 (Tuesday).

(Article written by the editorial team of the portal www.luxembourg.lu)

  • Updated 05-01-2017