Literary prizes and competitions

A number of literary prizes and competitions are held in the Grand Duchy at regular intervals to promote literary creation.

National Literary Competition

The National Literary Competition, organised annually since 1978 by the Ministry of Culture, is devoted to a different literary genre each year. It is open to anyone of Luxembourg nationality or officially resident in the Grand Duchy, writing in Luxembourgish, German, French or English. Past prizewinners are listed on the website of the Encyclopaedia of Luxembourg's authors.

Batty Weber national literature prize

The Batty Weber national literature prize is awarded every three years by the Ministry of Culture to a Luxembourgish writer for the ensemble of his work. Illustrious Luxembourgish writers, such as Edmond Dune, Roger Manderscheid, Anise Koltz and Jean Portante are among its recipients. Past winners of the Batty Weber prize are listed on the Encyclopaedia of Luxembourgish authors.

Servais prize for literature

Since 1992, the Servais prize for literature has been awarded by the Servais Foundation to the most significant Luxembourgish work published in the course of the year, regardless of language. Past winners of the Servais prize are listed on the Encyclopaedia of Luxembourgish authors.

Tony Bourg prize

The aim of the Tony Bourg prize, created by the French Cultural Centre and Banque BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg as a tribute to a Luxembourgish teacher and man of letters, is to encourage French-language literary creation in the Grand Duchy. It is generally awarded every other year, for a pre-determined literary genre. Past winners of the Tony Bourg prize are listed on the Encyclopaedia of Luxembourgish authors.

Libertés prize

The Libertés prize, created in 2000, is awarded by the 'Liberté de Conscience' association (freedom of conscience), with a view to encouraging literary creation and spreading the idea of human rights and secularism. The competition is open to authors of fiction and non-fiction writing in Luxembourgish, French or German. Past winners of the Libertés prize are listed on the Encyclopaedia of Luxembourgish authors.

Lëtzebuerger Buchpräis

The national federation of publishing houses has awarded the Lëtzebuerger Buchpräis (Luxembourg book prize) every year since 2006 on the occasion of the Book Days in Walferdange (Walfer Bicherdeeg). The best Luxembourgish books, pre-selected by a panel of specialists and divided into four categories, are determined by the votes cast by readers in the participating bookshops or on the Internet. The four categories are: art and images, literature, reference works, and books for children and teenagers.

Lëtzebuerger Bicherpräis

The Lëtzebuerger Bicherpräis (Luxembourg literature prize), instituted in 2010 by the ultimomondo publishing house, is awarded to a person or association demonstrating particular commitment to the promotion of book culture in the Grand Duchy. The prize is therefore awarded to either a literary scientist, publisher, graphic artist, journalist, bookseller or librarian, or to the representative of an institution or organisation whose activities in favour of literature are deemed outstanding. The Lëtzebuerger Bicherpräis should not be confused with the Lëtzebuerger Buchpräis (Luxembourg book prize) awarded annually by the National Federation of Publishing Houses on the occasion of the 'Walfer Bicherdeeg'.

'Young literary talent' competition

The Luxembourg National Association of Catholic Academics (Association luxembourgeoise des universitaires catholiques, ALUC) organises a young literary talent competition every three years, in collaboration with the Saint-Paul publishing house and the 'Nos Cahiers' journal. The competition is open to anyone between the ages of 15 and 35.

  • Updated 21-03-2018