The government is part of the legislative and executive power. The government has the right to initiate legislation (known as 'governmental initiative'), which allows it to table bills ('projets de loi'). The Grand Duke is the Head of State. Any measure adopted by the Grand Duke in the exercise of his constitutional powers must be countersigned by a member of Government, which assumes full responsibility.

The Bettel-Schneider-Braz Government

The government resulting from the general election held on 20 October 2013, under the leadership of Xavier Bettel, is a coalition government involving the Democratic Party (Parti Démocratique, DP), the Luxembourg Socialist Workers' Party (Parti Ouvrier Socialiste Luxembourgeois, LSAP), and the Greens (Déi Gréng).

The Bettel-Schneider-Braz Government was sworn in on 4 December 2013. It comprises:

  • a head of government, who has the title of Prime Minister,
  • a Deputy Prime Minister,
  • thirteen members who have the title of Minister,
  • and three Secretaries of State.

On 4 December 2013, HRH The Grand Duke signed the Grand-Ducal decrees on the formation of the Government.

The first Government Council meeting was held on 5 December 2013.

The Government's programme constitutes the basis of the policy pursued by the coalition of the DP, the LSAP and the Greens. The Government's programme, the minutes of the coalition's negotiations and other attachments to the Government's programme are available on the government's news portal at

The Prime Minister, Xavier Bettel, made his Government statement to the Chamber of Deputies on 10 December 2013. The Government's programme was debated by all the parties represented in the Chamber of Deputies on 11 December 2013.

Ministerial responsibilities

Ministerial responsibilities are allocated as follows:

  • Xavier Bettel, Prime Minister, Minister of State, Minister for Communications and Media, and Minister for Religious Affairs; Minister of Culture;
  • Etienne Schneider, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of the Economy, Minister of Internal Security, Minister of Defence;
  • Jean Asselborn, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs, Minister of Immigration and Asylum;
  • Félix Braz, Minister of Justice;
  • Nicolas Schmit, Minister of Labour, Employment and the Social and Solidarity Economy;
  • Romain Schneider, Minister of Social Security, Minister for Development Cooperation and Humanitarian Affairs, Minister of Sport;
  • François Bausch, Minister for Sustainable Development and Infrastructure;
  • Fernand Etgen, Minister of Agriculture, Viticulture, and Consumer Protection; Minister for Relations with Parliament;
  • Pierre Gramegna, Minister of Finance;
  • Lydia Mutsch, Minister of Health, Minister for Equal Opportunities;
  • Dianiel Kersch, Minister for Home Affairs, Minister for the Civil Service and Administrative Reform;
  • Claude Meisch, Minister of Education, Children and Youth, Minister for Higher Education and Research;
  • Corinne Cahen, Minister for Family Affairs and Integration, Minister for the Greater Region;
  • Carole Dieschbourg, Minister for the Environment.
  • Marc Hansen, Minister for Housing, Minister Delegate for Higher Education and Research;
  • Camille Gira, Secretary of State for Sustainable Development and Infrastructure;
  • Francine Closener, Secretary of State of the Economy, Secretary of State of Internal Security, Secretary of State of Defence;
  • Guy Arendt, Secretary of State for Culture.

The ministries

The ministries have the following names:

  • Ministry of State;
  • Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs;
  • Ministry of Agriculture, Viticulture and Consumer Protection;
  • Ministry of Culture;
  • Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure;
  • Ministry of the Economy;
  • Ministry of Education, Children and Youth;
  • Ministry of Equal Opportunities;
  • Ministry of Higher Education and Research;
  • Ministry of Family Affairs, Integration, and the Greater Region;
  • Ministry of Finance;
  • Ministry of the Civil Service and Administrative Reform;
  • Ministry of Home Affairs;
  • Ministry of Justice;
  • Ministry of Housing;
  • Ministry of Health;
  • Ministry of Internal Security;
  • Ministry of Social Security;
  • Ministry of Sport;
  • Ministry of Labour, Employment, and the Social and Solidarity Economy.

The work of the Government

Every year, the government makes

The budget of revenue and expenditure is voted annually.

The government is, strictly speaking, the body of executive power formed by the Grand Duke and the responsible members of the government. It is generally accepted that the government appoints all ministers and secretaries of state, who assist the Grand Duke in the exercise of his constitutional powers.

The government is required to deliberate in council on all matters that are subject to the decision of the Grand Duke. The decisions of the Government Council are adopted by a majority vote.

Finding out about government news is the official website of the Luxembourg government. It provides information about government news, speeches and statements, as well as about the ministers, ministries and administrations.

The 'Government' pages provide detailed information on the main functions of the government, on the process of forming the government, and on the functioning of the Government Council.

The publication entitled 'Les gouvernements du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg depuis 1848' gives an overview of the successive governments which have headed the country since 1848.

The Information and Press Service (SIP), as the press office of the Luxembourg government, ensures communication between the government, the press and the general public.

Graphic charter of the Luxembourg government's logo

At its meeting on 14 May 2004, the Government Council adopted a logo representing a red lion, based on the Grand Duchy's coat of arms, as its single visual identity, together with the corresponding graphic charter.

The Government's Information and Press Service (SIP) was instructed to ensure that the graphic charter of the government's official logo is applied.

Ten years later, the graphic charter was brought up to date. At its meeting on 10 January 2014, the Government Council adopted the graphic charter now available on this website.

The graphic charter of the Luxembourg government's logo can be consulted on the official website at

  • Updated 14-01-2016