Luxembourgish classes

This page provides information on the possibilities for learning Luxembourgish online or at language classes, whether for your personal interest or as a professional requirement, as part of your studies, or for the compulsory language test for acquiring the Luxembourgish nationality.

Learning Luxembourgish online

Quattropole

Learn Luxembourgish with the free online course developed by the Quattropole city network in partnership with the University of Luxembourg and the Grand Duchy's Ministry of National Education. The www.elearning.lu website offers;

  • an online course for French-speakers;
  • an online course for English-speakers.

Emphasis is placed on speaking and listening. The online exercises are corrected instantly. You can download sound files and listen to key phrases on your MP3 player.

Luxembourg City

With a booklet and sound files in iTunes, XML and MP3 formats, Luxembourg City provides texts accompanied by sound recordings, to make learning Luxembourgish even easier for you.

Luxembourgish classes for adults

  • The www.lifelong-learning.lu portal presents a full range of Luxembourgish classes provided by both, private language schools and public institutions such as the Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth and the Luxembourg School for Commerce.
  • The Adult Training Department of the Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth organises language classes — including Luxembourgish — either directly in secondary schools or through municipalities or not-for-profit associations, for adults (for beginners, at intermediate and advanced levels, and conversation classes). Classes are held throughout the Grand Duchy, mostly in the evening. There are also Luxembourgish classes for cross-border workers and classes in Luxembourgish culture and citizenship. Consult the page on 'Courses of general interest' ('Cours d'intérêt général') on the website of the Ministry of National Education, Childhood and Youth.

Luxembourgish classes for the acquisition of the Luxembourgish nationality

The law of 23 October 2008 on Luxembourg nationality provides that all candidates for naturalisation must pass a test to assess their spoken Luxembourgish; the test is administered by the National Languages Institute (INL).

National Languages Institute (INL)

The National Languages Institute (Institut national des langues, INL) is a public establishment offering courses in languages. The languages taught include Luxembourgish. The INL serves as the national certification centre for diplomas and certificates in Luxembourgish.

  • 'Diplom Lëtzebuergesch als Friemsprooch' (diploma in Luxembourgish as a foreign language)
  • Passing the 'Sprochentest Lëtzebuergesch' (Luxembourgish language test) is a requirement for applicants for Luxembourgish nationality

The INL also offers a course for teachers of Luxembourgish, leading to the 'Zertifikat Lëtzebuerger Sprooch a Kultur' (certificate of Luxembourgish language and culture).

University of Luxembourg

The University of Luxembourg includes Luxembourgish studies among its research priorities. These studies cover consideration of not only Luxembourgish language and literature but also identity, history, migration, regional planning, geography and politics in the Grand Duchy.

The University of Luxembourg has had a chair in Luxembourgish linguistics and literature since January 2009. Master's degrees are offered in Luxembourgish language and literature.

As part of its offer of lifelong learning, the University of Luxembourg also offers a course in Luxembourgish language and culture to train teachers for Luxembourgish language classes for adults.

  • Updated 09-12-2016

Cours de langue luxembourgeoise

Cette page vous renseigne sur les possibilités d'apprendre le luxembourgeois en ligne ou par l'intermédiaire de cours de langues, que ce soit par intérêt personnel ou professionnel, dans le cadre de vos études ou pour le test de langue obligatoire pour acquérir la nationalité luxembourgeoise.

Apprendre le luxembourgeois en ligne

QuattroPole

Apprenez le luxembourgeois avec le cours en ligne gratuit du réseau de villes QuattroPole, réalisé en partenariat avec l'Université du Luxembourg et le ministère de l'Education nationale du Luxembourg. Le site www.elearning.lu propose des

  • cours en ligne pour francophones
  • cours en ligne pour anglophones

Le cours met l'accent sur l'oral et sur l'écoute. Les exercices en ligne sont immédiatement corrigés. Vous pouvez télécharger des fichiers sonores et écouter des phrases-clefs avec votre lecteur MP3.

Ville de Luxembourg

Avec une brochure et des fichiers pour baladodiffusion au format iTunes, XML et MP3, la Ville de Luxembourg met à votre disposition des textes accompagnés d'un enregistrement audio pour vous faciliter davantage l'apprentissage de la langue luxembourgeois.

  • Pour plus d'informations, consultez la page "Lëtzebuergesch léiere mat MP3" (apprendre le luxembourgeois au moyen de MP3) sur le site de la Ville de Luxembourg!

Cours de langue luxembourgeoise pour adultes

  • Le portail www.lifelong-learning.lu vous présente une offre complète de cours de luxembourgeois, offerts à la fois par des écoles de langue privées que par des institutions publiques comme le ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse ou la Luxembourg School for Commerce.
  • Le Service de la formation des adultes du ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse organise, soit directement dans les lycées, soit par l'intermédiaire de communes ou associations sans but lucratif, des cours de langue pour adultes, parmi lesquels aussi des cours de luxembourgeois (niveau débutant, intermédiaire, avancé et conversation). Ces cours se déroulent dans les quatre coins du pays, la plupart du temps dans la soirée. Il existe aussi des cours de luxembourgeois pour travailleurs frontaliers et des cours de culture et de citoyenneté luxembourgeoise. Consultez la page Cours d'intérêt général sur le site du ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse

Cours de langue luxembourgeoise pour l'obtention de la nationalité luxembourgeoise

La loi du 23 octobre 2008 sur la nationalité luxembourgeoise prévoit que tout candidat à la naturalisation doit réussir à l'épreuve d'évaluation de la langue luxembourgeoise parlée, organisée par l'Institut national des langues (INL).

Institut national des langues (INL)

L’Institut national des langues (INL) est un établissement public d’enseignement de langues. Parmi les langues enseignées figure également le luxembourgeois. L’INL fait fonction de Centre national de certification pour les diplômes et certificats en langue luxembourgeoise:

  • "Diplom Lëtzebuergesch als Friemsprooch" (diplôme de luxembourgeois comme langue étrangère)

  • "Sproochentest Lëtzebuergesch", habilitant son détenteur à acquérir la nationalité luxembourgeoise

L’INSL offre également une formation de formateurs de luxembourgeois menant au "Zertifikat Lëtzebuerger Sprooch a Kultur" (certificat de langue et culture luxembourgeoises).

Université du Luxembourg

L’Université du Luxembourg a retenu les études luxembourgeoises parmi ses priorités de recherche. Ces études englobent des réflexions sur la langue et littérature luxembourgeoise, mais aussi sur l’identité, l’histoire, la migration, l’aménagement du territoire, la géographie et les sciences politiques au Luxembourg.

Depuis janvier 2009, l’Université du Luxembourg dispose d’une chaire professorale de linguistique et de littérature luxembourgeoise. Des masters en langue et littérature luxembourgeoise sont offerts.

Dans le cadre d’une formation continue, l’Université du Luxembourg offre aussi une formation en langue et culture luxembourgeoise, qui vise à former des enseignants pour les cours de luxembourgeois pour adultes.

  • Mis à jour le 24-01-2017