University education

In the Grand Duchy, the University of Luxembourg is the main player in the field of university education. There are nevertheless other universities — British and American — in the Grand Duchy. For those wishing to study and work at the same time, there are various possibilities for studying part-time or through distance learning.

University of Luxembourg

The University of Luxembourg, founded in 2003, is a multilingual, international research university with 6,200 students and staff from across the globe. All Bachelor students must spend one term in another country; this reflects the importance the University attaches to mobility. To this end, exchange agreements exist with 60 universities in 20 countries around the world. The priorities for research at the University of Luxembourg are international finance, ICT security, systems biomedicine, European law, business law and educational sciences. International research teams and 550 PhD students work within three faculties as well as the University’s Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT) and the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB).

The teaching departments, particularly those providing courses leading to bachelor's and master's degrees, and the research departments operate in three faculties:

  • the Faculty of Science, Technology and Communication;
  • the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance;
  • the Faculty of Language and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education.

The complete university education cycle consists of three levels of study, each leading to a different qualification. The first level leads to a bachelor's degree, the second to a master's degree, and the third to a doctorate (PhD).

The University of Luxembourg sees itself as international and multilingual. The teaching languages are French, English and German.

The University is located in Luxembourg City and in Esch-Belval, in the south of the Grand Duchy.
  • The Belval campus houses the headquarters of the rectorate and the central administration.
  • The Belval campus is also home to the Faculty of Language and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education, and the Faculty of Science, Technology and Communication.
  • Only the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance is still housed at the old campuses in Luxembourg City (Kirchberg and Limpertsberg). 

More information and procedures

  • Detailed information on the University of Luxembourg is available on its website at www.uni.lu.
  • Procedures: Whether you want to enrol at the University of Luxembourg or for a BTS course, or to study abroad under the Erasmus scheme, the Luxembourg State's on-line administrative guide at guichet.lu presents a range of procedures concerning higher or post-secondary studies.

Other universities in the Grand Duchy

The Luxembourg School of Finance (LSF) is the Finance Department of the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance of the University of Luxembourg. Its mission is to offer postgraduate courses and encourage research in the fields of banking and finance. More information is available on its website at www.lsf.lu.

A number of foreign universities have a campus in the Grand Duchy. They promote exchanges with students of different cultures and nationalities. These universities are:

Distance learning and part-time study

Various possibilities are available in the Grand Duchy for studying while continuing to work. It is therefore possible to prepare for certain university diplomas (master's degree / 5 years of higher education or bachelor's degree / 3years of higher education) at the same time as carrying on with a professional activity.

  • Updated 14-01-2016

Enseignement universitaire

Au Luxembourg, l'Université du Luxembourg est le principal acteur dans le contexte de l'enseignement universitaire. Il existe néanmoins d'autres universités au Luxembourg, d'origine britannique ou américaine. Pour ceux qui désirent poursuivre des études tout en continuant à exercer une activité professionnelle, il existe diverses possibilités d’étudier à temps partiel ou à distance.

Université du Luxembourg

L'Université du Luxembourg, fondée en 2003, est une université multilingue, internationale et centrée sur la recherche qui accueille 6.200 étudiants et un personnel venant du monde entier. Le semestre obligatoire à l'étranger pendant le programme de Bachelor témoigne de l’importance que l’Université accorde à la mobilité. Des accords d’échange sont conclus avec à peu près 60 universités dans 20 pays du monde entier. Les axes de recherche prioritaires de l’Université du Luxembourg sont la finance internationale, la sécurité des TIC, la biomédecine des systèmes, le droit européen et le droit des affaires, ainsi que les sciences de l'éducation. Des équipes internationales de chercheurs et près de 550 doctorants travaillent dans les trois facultés ainsi qu’à l’Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust (SnT) et au Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine (LCSB) de l’Université.

Les unités de formations, en particulier les bachelors et masters, et les unités de recherche se développent au sein de 3 facultés:

  • la Faculté des Sciences, de la Technologie et de la Communication;
  • la Faculté de Droit, d’Economie et de Finances;
  • la Faculté des Lettres, des Sciences humaines, des Arts et des Sciences de l’éducation.

Trois niveaux d’études, conduisant chacun à un grade différent, constituent un cycle universitaire complet. Le 1er niveau est sanctionné par le grade du bachelor, le 2e par le master et le 3e par le doctorat.

L’Université du Luxembourg se comprend comme internationale et multilingue. Les langues d’enseignement sont le français, l’anglais et l’allemand.

L’Université est située à Luxembourg et à Esch-Belval au sud du Luxembourg:
  • Le campus Belval est le siège du rectorat et de l’administration centrale.
  • Le campus Belval regroupe aussi la Faculté des Lettres, des Sciences humaines, des Arts et des Sciences de l’éducation et la Faculté des Sciences, de la Technologie et de la Communication.
  • Seule la Faculté de Droit, d’Economie et de Finance reste aux anciens campus de la capitale, notamment à Luxembourg-Kirchberg et à Luxembourg-Limpertsberg. 

Plus d'infos et démarches

  • Vous trouverez des informations détaillées sur l'Université du Luxembourg sur le site Internet www.uni.lu.
  • Démarches: Que ce soit pour s’inscrire à l’Université du Luxembourg ou dans un BTS, ou pour effectuer un séjour à l’étranger avec le programme Erasmus, le guichet virtuel de l’administration luxembourgeoise présente une panoplie de démarches liées aux études supérieures ou postsecondaires.

Autres universités à Luxembourg

La Luxembourg School of Finance (LSF) est le Département des finances de la Faculté de Droit, d’Economie et des Finances de l’Université du Luxembourg. Sa mission est d’offrir des études post-universitaires et d’encourager la recherche dans les domaines bancaire et financier. Plus d'infos: www.lsf.lu (site en anglais).

Certaines universités étrangères ont un campus au Grand-Duché. Elles encouragent l'échange avec des étudiants de différents cultures et nationalités. Ces universités sont:

Etudier à distance ou à temps partiel

Au Luxembourg, il existe diverses possibilités d’étudier tout en continuant à exercer une activité professionnelle. Il est dès lors possible de se préparer à certains diplômes universitaires (Master / Bac +5 ou Bachelor / Bac +3) tout en continuant à exercer une activité professionnelle.

  • Mis à jour le 08-01-2016