Language teaching

The official languages of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are Luxembourgish, French and German.

The language of communication of Luxembourgers is Luxembourgish, the national language. The main language of communication among Luxembourgers and foreign-language speakers is French.

Essential trilingualism

For the Grand Duchy this trilingualism is essential because of both, the intense exchanges with its neighbouring countries and the geographical situation of the country, at the meeting point of the two major German- and French-speaking areas.

Language teaching occupies a central place in the Luxembourg education system. French and German are compulsory throughout a child's school career. English is added at secondary school.

Integrated lessons for immigrant children

Integrated lessons, established in 1983, are mother-tongue lessons giving immigrant pupils an opportunity to develop their mother tongue and keep in contact with the culture of their country of origin. The lessons are integrated in the ordinary school timetable, involving two lessons of natural sciences, history and geography per week. In the Grand Duchy, integrated lessons are offered in Portuguese mother tongue.

Integrated lessons are included in the school timetable; subjects included in the official syllabus (natural sciences, history and geography) are taught in Portuguese for two lessons each week. In addition to integrated lessons, there are also Portuguese language lessons, called 'parallel classes', which are organised outside the school timetable.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Enseignement des langues

Les langues officielles du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg sont le luxembourgeois, le français et l’allemand.

La langue de communication des Luxembourgeois est le luxembourgeois, la langue nationale. La principale langue de communication entre Luxembourgeois et concitoyens de langue étrangère est le français.

Un trilinguisme vital

Pour le Luxembourg, ce trilinguisme est vital, aussi bien en raison des échanges intensifs avec ses pays voisins, que du fait de la situation géographique du pays au croisement des deux grands espaces linguistiques germanophone et francophone.

L'enseignement des langues occupe une place centrale dans le système éducatif luxembourgeois. Tout au long de la carrière scolaire d’un enfant, le français et l’allemand sont des langues obligatoires. S'y ajoute l'anglais pendant de l'enseignement secondaire.

Cours intégrés pour élèves immigrés

Mis en place dès 1983, les cours intégrés sont des cours en langue maternelle qui donnent aux élèves immigrés l’occasion de développer leur langue maternelle tout en gardant le contact avec leur culture d’origine. Intégrés dans l’horaire scolaire normal, ils sont dispensés à raison de deux leçons par semaine dans le cadre des cours de sciences naturelles, d’histoire et de géographie. Au Luxembourg des cours intégrés sont offerts en langue maternelle portugaise.

Les cours intégrés sont inscrits dans l’horaire scolaire, des matières qui figurent au programme officiel (sciences naturelles, histoire, géographie) sont enseignées en portugais à raison de deux leçons par semaine. A côté des cours intégrés, il existe également des cours de langue portugaise, appelés les "cours parallèles" et organisés en dehors de l’horaire scolaire.

  • Mis à jour le 20-04-2015