Economic Diversification

Throughout its history, Luxembourg has managed to set up a favourable business development policy, by means of a flexible, modern and innovative liberal legal framework.

A powerful iron and steel industry

The discovery of iron ore around the mid-19th century and the development of a giant global iron and steel industry made the wealth of the Grand Duchy. For long years, ARBED (Aciéries réunies de Burbach, Eich, Dudelange), the iron and steel company founded in 1911, was the Grand Duchy's most important employer, taxpayer and exporter. In the 1970s, the sudden impact of the global crisis in the steel industry hit the Luxembourg economy hard.

Industrial diversification

Aware of the danger inherent in monolithism related to the iron and steel industry, the political authorities had been working towards industrial diversification since the 1960s.

The initiatives taken to overcome the monolithic structure of Luxembourg’s industry revolved around three main concepts:

  • the construction of European and economic cooperation;
  • a voluntary policy of economic diversification through the implementation of measures to encourage investment;
  • the development of an international financial centre.

These actions have been rewarded by a remarkable success: other industrial companies of various sizes have been added to the heavy industry, largely due to the inflow of foreign capital. They belong to a large variety of branches and are using advanced technologies.

The diversification of the Luxembourg economy is best illustrated by the presence of a multitude of economic activities, in particular in the field of chemistry, plastic and synthetic materials, mechanical engineering and processing of ferrous and non-ferrous metals, the automotive industry, precision instrument engineering, electronic delivery services, glass industry or wood industry.

Towards a service economy

The transformation from an industrial economy dominated by the iron and steel industry to a service economy dominated by financial services, was almost accomplished in one decade from the mid-1970s onwards. The biggest success was the development of an international financial centre.

Today, Luxembourg's financial centre is one of the top 10 financial centres worldwide. The approximately 150 highly competitive banking institutions, the high performing investment funds sector, the dynamic insurance sector and the multitude of professionals and specialised companies offer a comprehensive range of diverse and innovative financial services.

The desire to further diversification of services led, from the 1980s onwards, to the creation and development of activities in the field of insurance and reinsurance, transport, trade, tourism, telecommunications, e-commerce, broadcasting and business services.

(Sources: Luxembourg Chamber of Commerce, Statec)

  • Updated 03-02-2017

Diversification économique

Le Luxembourg a su, tout au long de son histoire, mettre sur pied une politique économique favorable au développement de nouvelles activités, au moyen d'un cadre légal libéral, moderne, flexible, indicatif et innovateur.

Une industrie sidérurgique puissante

C’est la découverte de minerai de fer vers la moitié du XIXe siècle et le développement d’une puissante industrie sidérurgique à l’échelle mondiale qui sont à l’origine de la richesse du Grand-Duché. Pendant de longues années, la société sidérurgique fondée en 1911, l’ARBED (Aciéries réunies de Burbach, Eich, Dudelange), a été l’employeur, le contribuable et l’exportateur le plus important du Grand-Duché. Dans les années 1970, les retombées soudaines de la crise mondiale du secteur sidérurgique ont frappé de plein fouet l’économie luxembourgeoise.

Diversification industrielle

Conscientes du danger inhérent au monolithisme lié à l’industrie sidérurgique, les autorités politiques ont œuvré, dès les années 1960, à une diversification industrielle.

L’action contre le monolithisme industriel luxembourgeois repose sur trois orientations majeures:

  • la construction de la coopération économique et européenne;
  • la politique volontariste de la diversification économique mettant en œuvre des moyens propices à l’investissement;
  • le développement d’un centre financier international.

Les actions se sont soldées par un succès remarquable: à l’industrie lourde classique sont venues s’ajouter d’autres entreprises industrielles de toutes tailles, en majorité grâce à l’afflux de capitaux étrangers, appartenant aux branches d’activité les plus variées et utilisant des technologies de pointe.

La diversification de l’économie luxembourgeoise est illustrée par la présence d’une multitude de branches d’activités, notamment dans le domaine de la chimie, des matières plastiques et synthétiques, de la construction mécanique et de machines industrielles, de la transformation de métaux ferreux et non ferreux, de l’industrie automobile ou encore des instruments de précision ou des fournitures électroniques, de l’industrie du verre et de l’industrie de transformation du bois.

Vers une économie de services

La transformation d’une économie industrielle largement dominée par la sidérurgie vers une économie de services, dominée par les services financiers, s’est quasiment réalisée en une seule décennie à partir du milieu des années 1970. Le plus grand succès est le développement d’un centre financier international.

Aujourd’hui, la place financière de Luxembourg fait partie des 10 premiers centres financiers du monde. Les quelque 150 institutions bancaires hautement compétitives, le secteur performant des fonds d’investissements, le secteur des assurances dynamique et la multitude de professionnels et de sociétés spécialisées offrent une gamme complète de services financiers diversifiés et innovants.

Le souci de diversifier davantage les services a conduit, à partir des années 1980, à la création et au développement d’activités dans le domaine de l’assurance et de la réassurance, des transports, du commerce, du tourisme, des télécommunications, du commerce électronique, de l’audiovisuel et des services aux entreprises.

(Sources: Chambre de commerce, Statec)

  • Mis à jour le 18-10-2017