Public key players

A multitude of public key players play a major role in the financial industry. Their role is essential to meet future challenges and ensure that Luxembourg's economy is in good health.

Ministry of Finance

Among the responsibilities of the Ministry of Finance is the national, European and international tax policy, as well as monetary, financial and exchange policy.

The ministry is also competent in treasury and budgetary matters and for financial and insurance legislation.

Luxembourg for Finance (LFF)

Jointly created by the state and key private players in the financial sector in 2008, the mission of Luxembourg for Finance, the agency for the development of the financial sector, is to make the financial sector better known to professional actors, potential investors and the media abroad.

The agency regularly organises finance seminars in the major financial centres around the world. Luxembourg for Finance regularly publishes technical brochures and other documentation on products and services of the Luxembourg financial centre, and is very active in online communication.

High Committee of the Financial Centre

To allow the financial centre to maintain its assets, former Minister of Finance Luc Frieden instated the High Committee for the Financial Centre. Under the chairmanship of the Minister of Finance, the High Committee of the Financial Centre rallies the regulatory authorities (Insurance Commission, Central Bank, Financial Sector Supervisory Commission CSSF), the professional associations (ABBL, ALFI, ACA and support PFS), large law firms and trustees as well as the government.

Designed like a think tank, it is a consultative body which aims to better coordinate all efforts to promote the financial sector. According to Luc Frieden, it is all about 'being well informed, conducting a detailed analysis of the developments that are at work in order to identify the challenges and to launch concrete actions.'

Luxembourg Central Bank (BCL)

The Luxembourg Central Bank (Banque centrale du Luxembourg), was founded on 1 June 1998, at the same time as the European Central Bank (ECB). It succeeds the Luxembourg Monetary Institute founded in 1983 and charged with supervising the financial sector and issuing banknotes.

The Luxembourg Central Bank's prime mission is to contribute to the execution of the missions of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB). It's missions are:

  • defining and implementing the European monetary policy;
  • conducting exchange transactions;
  • holding and managing the official foreign reserves of the member states;
  • promoting the good functioning of the payment systems.

The Luxembourg Central Bank also provides services to the government, the financial centre and the entire national economy. It opens accounts, in general only to monetary and financial institutions, but it is not a commercial bank.

The Financial Sector Supervisory Commission (CSSF)

The Financial Sector Supervisory Commission (Commission de surveillance du secteur financier, CSSF) is the competent authority for the prudential supervision of the financial sector.

The CSSF has taken over the tasks previously exercised by the Luxembourg Monetary Institute (IML), which later on became the Luxembourg Central Bank on 1 June 1998. It integrated the responsibilities of the former Stock Exchange Commission (Commissariat aux bourses).

CSSF's prudential supervision of companies of the financial sector aims at:

  • promoting a considered and prudent business policy in compliance with the regulatory requirements;
  • protecting the financial stability of the supervised companies and of the financial sector as a whole;
  • supervising the quality of the organisation and internal control systems;
  • strengthening the quality of risk management.

CSSF acts solely in the public interest. It ensures that the laws and regulations concerning the financial sector are enforced and observed and that international agreements and European directives in the fields under its responsibility are implemented.

Commissariat aux Assurances (CAA)

The Insurance Commission (Commissariat aux Assurances, CAA) is the official institution for the supervision of Luxembourg's insurance sector.

Amongs its missions are:

  • review of applications for approval of insurance companies, reinsurance companies and insurance intermediaries (agents and brokers);
  • prudential supervision of these companies and persons;
  • the preparation of draft laws and regulations on the insurance industry;
  • coordination of the efforts made by the Luxembourg government to properly expand the activities of the insurance sector in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Luxembourg Stock Exchange

The Luxembourg Stock Exchange (Bourse de Luxembourg) was founded in 1927 and started its activities in 1929. Since its creation, it has developed an important expertise in the listing and trading of securities from many different regions. For more information, visit the Luxembourg Stock Exchange website www.bourse.lu.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Acteurs publics

Une multitude d'intervenants publics jouent un rôle majeur dans l'industrie financière. Leur rôle est essentiel pour relever les défis de demain et assurer ainsi au Luxembourg une bonne santé économique.

Ministère des Finances

Parmi les attributions du ministère des Finances on compte la politique fiscale nationale, européenne et internationale ainsi que la politique monétaire, financière et de change.

Le ministère a également des compétences en matière de trésor et de budget, comme la législation sur le secteur financier et sur les assurances.

Luxembourg for Finance (LFF)

Créée conjointement par l’Etat et les acteurs privés du secteur financier en 2008, Luxembourg for Finance, l’agence pour le développement de la place financière, a pour mission de mieux faire connaître le secteur financier auprès des acteurs professionnels, des investisseurs potentiels et des médias à l’étranger.

L’agence organise régulièrement des séminaires financiers dans les principaux centres financiers à travers le monde. Elle tient à disposition des intéressés une large gamme de publications techniques sur les produits et services de la place et elle est très active dans la communication en ligne.

Haut Comité de la place financière

Pour permettre à la place financière de garder ses atouts majeurs, l'ancien ministre des Finances, Luc Frieden, a mis en place en février 2010 le Haut Comité de la place financière. Présidé par le ministre des Finances, le Haut Comité de la place financière rassemble les régulateurs (Commissariat aux assurances, Banque centrale, Commission de surveillance du secteur financier), les associations professionnelles (ABBL, ALFI, ACA et les PSF de support), les grandes études d’avocats et les fiduciaires ainsi que le gouvernement.

Conçu à la manière d’un think tank, il s’agit d’un organe de concertation qui a pour vocation de mieux coordonner tous les efforts réalisés pour promouvoir la place financière. Selon Luc Frieden, il s’agira "d’être bien informé, de procéder à une analyse détaillée des évolutions qui sont à l’œuvre afin de cerner les défis et de lancer des actions concrètes".

Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL)

La Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL) a été créée le 1er juin 1998, en même temps que la Banque centrale européenne (BCE). Elle succède à l'Institut monétaire luxembourgeois (IML), créé en 1983 et chargé de surveiller le secteur financier et d'émettre des signes monétaires.

La BCL a comme mission principale de contribuer à l’exécution des missions du Système européen de banques centrales (SEBC) qui compte parmi ses missions:

  • la définition et la mise en oeuvre de la politique monétaire européenne;
  • la conduite des opérations de change;
  • la détention et la gestion des réserves officielles de changes des Etats membres;
  • la promotion du bon fonctionnement des systèmes de paiement.

La BCL fournit également des services aux pouvoirs publics, au monde financier et à l’ensemble de l’économie nationale. Elle ouvre des comptes, en général, aux seules institutions financières et monétaires mais elle n’est cependant pas une banque commerciale.

Commission de surveillance du secteur financier (CSSF)

La Commission de surveillance du secteur financier (CSSF) est l'autorité compétente pour la surveillance prudentielle des entreprises du secteur financier.

La CSSF a repris les compétences exercées précédemment par l'Institut monétaire luxembourgeois (IML), devenu Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL) au 1er juin 1998 et a intégré les responsabilités de l'ancien Commissariat aux bourses.

Les buts de la surveillance prudentielle exercée par la CSSF sur les entreprises du secteur financier sont les suivants:

  • promouvoir une politique d'affaires réfléchie et prudente, conforme aux exigences réglementaires;
  • protéger la stabilité financière des entreprises surveillées et du secteur financier dans son ensemble;
  • veiller à la qualité de l'organisation et des systèmes de contrôle interne;
  • renforcer la qualité de la gestion des risques.

La CSSF agit exclusivement dans l'intérêt public, elle veille à l'application et au respect des lois et réglementations concernant le secteur financier et s'assure de la mise en oeuvre des conventions internationales et des directives européennes dans les domaines qui tombent sous sa compétence.

Commissariat aux assurances

Le Commissariat aux assurances est l'organe officiel luxembourgeois de surveillance du secteur des assurances.

Il compte parmi ses missions:

  • l'examen des demandes d'agrément des entreprises d'assurances, de réassurances et des intermédiaires d'assurances (agents et courtiers);
  • la surveillance prudentielle de ces mêmes entreprises et personnes;
  • l'élaboration de projets de lois et de réglementations relatives au secteur des assurances;
  • la coordination des efforts du gouvernement en vue d'une expansion ordonnée des activités du secteur des assurances au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

Bourse de Luxembourg

La Bourse de Luxembourg a été fondée en 1927 et a commencé ses activités en 1929. Depuis sa création, elle a su développer une expérience importante dans le domaine de la cotation et du négoce de valeurs mobilières de nature et d'origine géographique très variées. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez visiter le site www.bourse.lu.

  • Mis à jour le 20-04-2015