Financial centre

Luxembourg, an ideal platform for international capital

Luxembourg has always looked with confidence beyond its borders and European borders in all areas. The country has thus become an ideal platform to raise capital internationally and attract international investments to Europe.

Stability, prosperity and internationality

Today Luxembourg is ranked among the leading financial centres in Europe. The country enjoys exemplary economic, social and fiscal stability, making it one of the rare countries in the world with an AAA rating from every major ratings agency. This stability is not only based on economic growth higher than the euro zone average, or the diversity of products on offer in its financial centre, but also on the internationality of the financial centre, which is one of its areas of excellence.

Connecting investors to Europe and Europe to the rest of the world

The global asset management industry has found a good home in Luxembourg. Luxembourg banks have significant capitalisation and play a vital role within their respective group, providing them with significant liquidity which is then made available to European countries and households in the form of loans.

A financial centre with global connectivity

The country has one of the key infrastructures of the European capital market, allowing Luxembourg to connect international investors to Europe and European investors to the rest of the world.

The financial centre helps the European finance industry to access international capital markets. With an investment fund distribution market covering over 70 countries worldwide, the Grand Duchy also plays a crucial role by attracting international investors to Europe. Luxembourg provides them with access to funds invested in shares, as well as government and corporate bonds issued in Europe.

It thus acts as a European hub for international clients and their families, by directing investments from the Private Equity and Risk Capital industry from Asia, the Middle East and North America into the European market.

A hub for financing the European economy

With its expertise in international finance, ranging from the distribution of funds to capital market services, Luxembourg's financial centre raises large-scale investments and capital in Europe, by listing these bonds on the Luxembourg stock exchange, thus helping to stimulate the entire European economy.

The Grand Duchy is also proud of its highly diversified international financial ecosystem which has enabled it to develop a high level of expertise in several fields such as:

The home of supranational institutions

Because of this, many supranational financial institutions have chosen Luxembourg as their European operational centre or have created their centre of excellence in fields such as investment funds, asset management, Private Equity, insurance and reinsurance here. They have been joined by FinTech companies which develop innovative solutions and serve their European clients from the Grand Duchy.

Regulators

Luxembourg's financial centre is subject to regulation in line with all the European and international standards. The Luxembourg regulators, the Commission de surveillance du secteur financier (CSSF - Luxembourg Financial Sector Supervisory Commission), and the Commissariat aux assurances (CAA - Luxembourg Insurance Commission), the official supervisory body of the insurance sector, have taken advantage of the international environment to acquire established experience in the authorisation and regulation of financial institutions offering their services and products throughout Europe and beyond.

  • Updated 27-07-2017

Le centre financier

Le Luxembourg, une plateforme idéale pour les capitaux internationaux

Depuis toujours et dans tous les domaines, le Luxembourg a regardé en toute confiance au-delà de ses frontières et celles de l’Europe. Ainsi, le pays est devenu une plateforme idéale pour lever des capitaux à l’international et attirer les investissements internationaux vers l’Europe.

Stabilité, prospérité et internationalité

Aujourd’hui, le Luxembourg se classe parmi les centres financiers leaders en Europe. Le pays jouit d’une stabilité économique, sociale et fiscale exemplaire, qui fait de lui un des rares pays au monde avec une notation AAA de chaque grande agence de notation. Cette stabilité se fonde non seulement sur une croissance économique supérieure à la moyenne de la zone euro ou la diversification des produits offerts sur la place financière, mais aussi sur l’internationalité de la place financière, qui en fait un de ses points d’excellence.

Connecter les investisseurs à l’Europe et l’Europe au reste du monde

Au Luxembourg, l’industrie globale de la gestion d’actifs trouve un domicile propice. Les banques luxembourgeoises, fortement capitalisées, jouent un rôle primordial au sein de leur groupe respectif, en leur fournissant une liquidité importante, qui est ensuite mise à la disposition des entreprises et des ménages européens sous la forme de prêts.

Un centre financier à connectivité globale

Le pays accueille une des infrastructures clefs du marché européen des capitaux, ce qui permet au Luxembourg de connecter les investisseurs internationaux à l’Europe et les investisseurs européens au reste du monde.

Le centre financier aide l’industrie financière européenne à accéder aux marchés de capitaux internationaux. Avec un marché de distribution de ses fonds d’investissement couvrant plus de 70 pays dans le monde, le Grand-Duché joue également un rôle crucial en attirant des investisseurs internationaux vers l’Europe. Il leur fournit l’accès à des fonds investis dans des actions, des obligations souveraines et corporate émises en Europe.

Ainsi, il agit comme un hub européen pour les clients internationaux et leurs familles, en dirigeant vers le marché européen les investissements de l’industrie du Private Equity et du Capital à Risque issus de l’Asie, du Moyen-Orient ou de l’Amérique du Nord.

Un hub pour le financement de l’économie européenne

Avec son expertise en finance internationale, allant de la distribution de fonds aux services dédiés aux marchés des capitaux, le centre financier de Luxembourg lève d’importants investissements et capitaux en Europe, en cotant leurs obligations à la Bourse de Luxembourg, aidant ainsi à stimuler l’ensemble de l’économie européenne.

Le Grand-Duché est par ailleurs fier de son écosystème financier international très diversifié qui lui a permis de développer un haut niveau d’expertise dans plusieurs domaines, tels que:

Domicile d’institutions supranationales

De ce fait, de nombreuses institutions financières supranationales ont choisi le Luxembourg comme centre opérationnel européen ou y ont créé leur pôle d’excellence dans des domaines tels que les fonds d’investissement, la gestion de fortune, le Private Equity, l’assurance et la réassurance. Ils ont été rejoints par des entreprises FinTech qui développent des solutions innovantes et servent leurs clients européens à partir du Grand Duché.

Les agents de régulation

Le centre financier luxembourgeois est soumis à une régulation en ligne avec toutes les normes européennes et internationales. Les régulateurs luxembourgeois, la Commission de surveillance du secteur financier (CSSF), l’autorité de contrôle du secteur financier, et le Commissariat aux assurances (CAA), l'organe officiel de surveillance du secteur des assurances, ont bénéficié de l’environnement international pour acquérir une expérience avérée dans l’autorisation et la règlementation d’institutions financières qui offrent leurs services et produits à travers l’Europe et au-delà.

  • Mis à jour le 12-03-2018