Philanthropy

Today, philantropists are often world citizens whose action extends to several countries. Since 2008, Luxembourg has been openly displaying its determination to develop philanthropy and patronage in the Grand Duchy. The government has updated the legal framework and has supported the development of competences in this domain by creating the Luxembourg Foundation (Fondation de Luxembourg).

An updated philantropic framework

'When it is all about succeeding at 'living together', we need private initiative from the civil society, from individuals who work in the public interest. We need patronage and philantropic commitment', former Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker declared in his State of the Nation Address on 22 May 2008.

Three measures favouring philantropy have been implemented since:

  1. the creation of the Luxembourg Foundation;
  2. a thorough fiscal reform that made Luxembourg one of the most attractive European countries for taxation of donations;
  3. a legislation aimed at simplifying authorisation procedures.

The evolving legal framework is at the basis of the government's efforts to diversify the financial centre and to continue developing it into a centre of excellency for private banking with an international dimension.

Today, philantropists are often world citizens whose action extends to several countries. The neutrality and political stability of Luxembourg, its situation at the heart of Europe and, above all, its high concentration of international legal, fiscal and financial experts are facts that should incite the world's donors to establish their foundation in the Grand Duchy.

The Luxembourg Foundation

The Luxembourg Foundation is the partner of choice of Luxembourg in the field of philanthropy. Founded by the Luxembourg state and the Œuvre nationale de secours Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, it is an independent centre for expertise on philantropy. Recognised as being of public utility, its mission is to promote private philanthropy.

The Luxembourg Foundation is a bridge between the world of finance and the world of donors, culture and associations. As a true partner of both worlds, it plays an intermediary role between banks, law firms and notaries, which are in direct contact with a very international clientele, and the organisations and projects to support, in Luxembourg and abroad.

By providing information and advice and by developing specific tools and structures, the Luxembourg Foundation seeks to encourage, support and guide donors (both individuals and companies) who wish to make a long-term commitment to the development of significant philanthropic projects.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Philanthropie

Aujourd’hui, les philanthropes sont le plus souvent des citoyens du monde dont l’action s’étend à plusieurs pays. Depuis 2008, le Luxembourg affiche ouvertement sa détermination à développer la philanthropie et le mécénat au Grand-Duché. Le gouvernement a actualisé le cadre légal et a appuyé le développement de compétences dans ce domaine, notamment avec la création en 2009 d’une fondation abritante, la Fondation de Luxembourg.

Cadre philanthropique actualisé

"Lorsqu’il s’agit de réussir le 'vivre ensemble', on a besoin de l’initiative privée, de la société civile, de la personne individuelle qui travaille dans l’intérêt général, on a besoin du mécénat et de l’engagement philanthropique", a déclaré l'ancien Premier ministre Jean-Claude Juncker, dans son discours sur l’état de la Nation, le 22 mai 2008.

Trois mesures visant à promouvoir la philanthropie furent mises en œuvre depuis:

  1. la création de la Fondation de Luxembourg,
  2. une réforme en profondeur de la fiscalité qui fait du Luxembourg un des pays européens les plus attractifs en matière de fiscalité des donations,
  3. et une évolution de la législation visant à simplifier les procédures d’autorisation.

Cette évolution du cadre réglementaire et légal est à la base des efforts gouvernementaux pour diversifier la place financière et la développer davantage en un centre d’excellence pour la gestion de fortune avec une dimension internationale.

Aujourd’hui, les philanthropes sont le plus souvent des citoyens du monde dont l’action s’étend à plusieurs pays. La neutralité et la stabilité politique du Luxembourg, sa situation au cœur de l’Europe et surtout, sa concentration d’experts internationaux en matière juridique, fiscale et financière, sont autant d’arguments qui devraient inciter les philanthropes du monde entier à établir leur fondation au Grand-Duché.

La Fondation de Luxembourg

La Fondation de Luxembourg est l’interlocuteur de choix au Luxembourg dans le domaine de la philanthropie. Créée par l’Etat luxembourgeois et l’Œuvre nationale de secours Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, elle est un centre indépendant d’expertise et de conseil sur la philanthropie. Reconnue d’utilité publique, elle a pour mission de promouvoir l’engagement philanthropique privé.

La Fondation de Luxembourg est une passerelle entre la sphère financière et le monde caritatif, culturel et associatif. Véritable partenaire de ces deux mondes, elle joue un rôle d’intermédiaire entre les banques, les cabinets d’avocats et les notaires, qui sont en relation directe avec une clientèle très internationale, et les organisations et projets à soutenir, au Luxembourg comme à l’étranger.

Par l’information, le conseil et le développement d’outils et de structures spécifiques, notamment les fondations abritées sous l’égide de la Fondation de Luxembourg, elle encourage, soutient et guide les donateurs (individus et entreprises) souhaitant s’engager dans la durée pour développer des projets philanthropiques d’une certaine importance.

  • Mis à jour le 28-02-2018