Aerospace industry

A rising star

For the Grand Duchy, the aerospace sector is an essential component of its high-tech sector. The country's 'stellar' ambitions reach back to the beginning of the 1980s, with the creation of SES Astra, which provided the stimulus for the setting up of a number of dynamic businesses in the aerospace sector. The Grand Duchy seeks to attract small and medium-sized enterprises and large companies active in this area by providing a committed support and specialised structures.

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg - a first-rate implantation location

At the beginning of the 1980s, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg made a head-start when it decided to take a gamble on the potential of the satellite industry. Today, the country hosts SES, the world's leading satellite operator, with a fleet of about fifty satellites.

This success brought a high concentration of dynamic companies in the aerospace sector into the Grand Duchy: Euro-Composites, Gradel, Hitec, Luxspace, and CTI Systems, to name but a few. Over the last decades, with diversification and innovation in mind, the Grand Duchy's successive Governments have stepped up their efforts in this direction.

Today, some 700 employees work in the aerospace sector in the Grand Duchy, whether in research and development, manufacturing, or operation.

ESA membership

Unlike other countries, the Grand Duchy does not have a national space agency. It sets more store by transnational collaboration.

Since 2005, when the Grand Duchy – after years of cooporation – became a full member of the European Space Agency (ESA), cooperation between the agency and the Grand Duchy has steadily intensified. Since then, the Grand Duchy has participated in a number of transnational research projects on the ESA's multiannual programme.

This membership has been a key element in the Grand Duchy's action plan with regard to space science and technology, the aim of which is to consolidate and make use of existing skills, particularly in the media and ICT sectors.

The Grand Duchy devotes 0.03% of its GDP to the ESA, and ranks fourth among European countries in terms of space investment.

Detecting the best ideas and support for the sector

A number of specialised structures are made available to businesses and research centres to help them find their place in the aerospace sector in the Grand Duchy.

Luxembourg Space Cluster

The Luxembourg Space Cluster is a network providing support for the various players in the Grand Duchy's aerospace sector by helping them to develop synergies and new national and international partnerships through research, development and innovation (RDI) projects.

GLAE (Groupement luxembourgeois de l'aéronautique et de l'espace)

The GLAE operates under the umbrella of the FEDIL to facilitate contacts among the businesses and research centres active in the aerospace field, and to help its members build up a network. Founded in 2005 as a direct consequence of the Grand Duchy's membership of the European Space Agency (ESA), the GLAE serves as the Government's contact for all matters concerning official initiatives under the ESA's programmes and in formulating the Grand Duchy's space policy.

LuxLaunch programme

The aim of the LuxLaunch programme initiated in 2005 is to provide support in detecting and implementing innovative ideas in the aerospace sector. The project helps Luxembourgish companies and researchers to assert themselves in the sector and improve their visibility within the networks of international stakeholders.

Luxinnovation

Luxinnovation, the national agency for the promotion of innovation and research, is the national contact point for all collaboration with the ESA. Luxinnovation encourages innovative activities and collaboration in European research programmes through the Luxembourg Space Cluster.

National research institutes

The companies of the aerospace sector also collaborate with national research institutes, such as the University of Luxembourg and the Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), for satellite communications and earth observation.

HelloFuture

HelloFuture is a project launched in early 2017 which aims to encourage young people to take up jobs in industry in the Grand Duchy, and hence jobs connected with the aerospace sector. A range of tools (Internet site, placement offers, tour of secondary schools, etc.) are available to young people aged 14 to 30 to provide them with more information on the subject. 

  • Updated 07-02-2017

Industrie aérospatiale

Une étoile montante

Pour le Luxembourg, l’aérospatiale est une des composantes essentielles de son secteur de haute technologie. Les ambitions "stellaires" du Grand-Duché remontent au début des années 1980 avec la création de SES ASTRA, ce qui a encouragé, par la suite, l’implantation d’entreprises dynamiques dans le secteur aérospatial. Le Grand-Duché s'efforce d'attirer des petites et moyennes entreprises et de grandes entreprises actives dans ce domaine, en leur apportant un soutien résolu et des structures spécialisées.

Luxembourg, un lieu d’implantation de premier ordre

Au début des années 1980, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg a pris une longueur d’avance en misant sur le potentiel de l'industrie des satellites. Aujourd’hui, le pays héberge SES, le premier opérateur mondial de satellites avec une flotte d'une cinquantaine de satellites.

Ce succès a encouragé une forte concentration d’entreprises dynamiques dans le secteur de l'aérospatiale au Luxembourg: Euro-Composites, Gradel, Hitec, Luxspace, CTI Systems... pour n’en citer que quelques-unes. Au cours des dernières décennies, dans un souci de diversification et d’innovation, les gouvernements luxembourgeois successifs ont redoublé d’efforts dans ce sens.

Aujourd'hui, 700 personnes travaillent dans le domaine aérospatial au Luxembourg, entre recherche et développement, fabrication et exploitation.

Membre de l’ESA

Contrairement à d’autres pays, le Luxembourg n’a pas d’agence spatiale nationale. Il met l’accent sur la collaboration transnationale.

Depuis 2005, lorsque le Luxembourg est devenu - après des années de coopération - membre à part entière de l'Agence spatiale européenne (ESA), la coopération entre elle et le pays s’est progressivement intensifiée. Depuis, le Grand-Duché participe à des projets de recherche transnationaux du programme pluriannuel de l’ESA.

Cette adhésion a été un élément-clé du plan d’action du Luxembourg en matière de science et de technologie spatiales, qui vise à consolider et à mettre en valeur les compétences existantes, en particulier dans les domaines des médias et de la communication électronique.

Le Luxembourg consacre 0,03% de son PIB à l'ESA et pointe en quatrième position des pays européens en termes d'investissement spatial.

Détection des meilleures idées et soutien au secteur

Plusieurs structures spécialisées sont à la disposition des entreprises et centres de recherche pour les aider à trouver leurs marques dans le secteur aérospatial au Luxembourg.

Luxembourg Space Cluster

Le Luxembourg Space Cluster est un réseau qui fournit un soutien aux différents acteurs du secteur aérospatial au Luxembourg en les aidant à développer des synergies et de nouveaux partenariats nationaux et internationaux à travers des projets de recherche, développement et innovation (RDI).

Groupement luxembourgeois de l'aéronautique et de l'espace (GLAE)

Le GLAE fonctionne sous l'égide de la Fedil pour faciliter l'échange entre les entreprises et centres de recherche actifs dans le domaine de l'aérospatial et pour aider ses membres à nouer des liens entre eux. Depuis sa fondation en 2005, une conséquence directe de l'adhésion du Luxembourg à l'Agence spatiale européenne (ESA), le GLAE sert d'interlocuteur au gouvernement pour toutes les questions relatifs aux initiatives des autorités dans le cadre des programmes de l'ESA et à la formulation d'une politique spatiale au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

Programme LuxLaunch

Le programme LuxLaunch, lancé en 2005, vise à soutenir la détection et la mise en œuvre d'idées novatrices dans le secteur aérospatial. Le projet aide les entreprises et les chercheurs luxembourgeois à se positionner dans ce secteur et à accroître leur visibilité au sein des réseaux d’acteurs internationaux.

Luxinnovation

Luxinnovation, l’agence nationale pour la promotion de l’innovation et de la recherche, est le point de contact national pour toute collaboration avec l’ESA. Luxinnovation encourage des activités innovantes ainsi que la collaboration au sein de programmes de recherche européens via le Luxembourg Space Cluster.

Institutions de recherche nationales

Les entreprises du secteur aérospatial collaborent également avec des institutions de recherche nationales telles que l’Université du Luxembourg et le Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST) pour les communications par satellite et les observations de la terre.

HelloFuture

HelloFuture est un projet, lancé début 2017, qui a pour objectif la promotion des métiers de l'industrie au Luxembourg auprès des jeunes, par là les métiers liés à l'aérospatiale. Différents outils (site internet, offres de stages, tournée des lycées...) sont à disposition des jeunes de 14 à 30 ans afin de mieux les informer sur le sujet. 

  • Mis à jour le 31-01-2017