Logistics

Logistics Hub Luxembourg, putting Europe at your fingertips

Due to its strategic location, Luxembourg has established itself as an ideal intercontinental logistics operations hub in Europe for value-added logistics activities.

Air cargo

Luxembourg’s international airport is one of the leading freight airports in Europe and home base of Cargolux, Europe’s leading all-cargo carrier.

The global network of Cargolux and other airfreight carriers offer multiple destinations to all continents makes Luxembourg a real platform for worldwide distribution. With its modern and well-equipped air freight handling facilities, LuxairCargo offers secure, efficient and speedy ground handling, making Luxembourg on of Europe's most efficient cargo hubs. As an example, LuxairCargo boasts a Healthcare & Pharmaceuticals Hub, a constant temperature storage facility dedicated to the storage and transportation of sanitary products and pharmaceuticals.

Rail freight

CFL Cargo (conventional rail freight) and CFL Multimodal (combined transport and multimodal logistic services) are able to offer reliable rail connections to major continental hubs all across the EU and Turkey as well as to ports of the North Sea and the Baltic Sea, thus making Luxembourg an extended gateway of the main European ports of Zeebrugge, Amsterdam, Rotterdam and Hambourg. With its rail motorway connection, Lorry-Rail provides innovative solutions for multimodal transportation modes. The company operates the rail motorway service Luxembourg — Perpignan for standard unaccompanied semi-trailers. This allows for the transport of some 30,000 semi-trailers per year over a distance of over 1,000km. New routes across Europe are planned.

River freight

Inland waterway shipping is another form of reliable and safe transport. Luxembourg has a river port, which can be used for the shipment of raw materials and agricultural products, iron and steel, and petroleum products to other domestic destinations or to the North Sea.

Luxembourg Freeport

Inaugurated in September 2014, the Luxembourg Freeport is destined to become a pillar of the booming logistics sector. This freeport, located at Findel Airport, is a safe and highly secure area of ​​22.000m2, spread over four floors. Under the control of the services of the Administration of Customs and Excise, it stores works of art, jewelry, vintage cars, wines, important documents and other treasures. Storage of goods at the Luxembourg Freeport benefits form a VAT suspension of.

Key actors of global logistics

Moreover, an important number of qualified players (i.e. carriers, handling agents, forwarding agents and logistics service providers) provide quality service allowing just-in-time access to the EU consumer market.

Major players such as Cargolux, China Airlines, Cobelfret, DB Schenker, DHL, Kühne + Nagel, Morrisson Express, Nippon Express, Panalpina, TNT, Yangtze River and Yusen Air & Sea, to name but a few,have already opted for Luxembourg as base of operations for their high value added logistics activities. As a result, numerous international companies are shipping their products through Luxembourg to tap into the European market.

Cluster for Logistics

The Cluster for Logistics is a network giving support to different key players in the Grand Duchy's logistics sector by helping them to develop synergies and new national and international partnerships through RDI projects.

(Source: Luxembourg, your prime business location)

  • Updated 23-11-2017

Logistique

Au Luxembourg, le monde à portée de main

Avec son excellente connectivité aux marchés internationaux, le Luxembourg apparaît aujourd’hui comme base opérationnelle idéale pour des activités logistiques à forte valeur ajoutée.

Fret aérien

L'aéroport international de Luxembourg est un des plus grands aéroports de fret en Europe et la base d’affectation de Cargolux, la première compagnie aérienne tout cargo en Europe.

Le réseau mondial de Cargolux et des autres compagnies aériennes cargo propose de multiples destinations quotidiennes vers tous les continents, faisant du Luxembourg une vraie plate-forme de distribution mondiale. Avec ses installations de manutention du fret aérien modernes et bien équipées, LuxairCargo offre une manutention au sol sûre, efficace et rapide, faisant du Luxembourg l’un des hubs de fret les plus efficaces d’Europe. A titre d'exemple, LuxairCargo dispose d'un "Pharma & Healthcare Hub", des halls à température constante dédiés au stockage et au transport de produits sanitaires et pharmaceutiques.

Fret ferroviaire

CFL Cargo (fret ferroviaire conventionnel) et CFL Multimodal (conteneurs) assurent quotidiennement des liaisons ferroviaires vers les principaux points nodaux en Union européenne et en Turquie ainsi que vers les ports de la mer Baltique et de la mer du Nord, faisant du Grand-Duché le hinterland des ports d’Anvers, de Zeebrugge, d’Amsterdam, de Rotterdam et de Hambourg. Grâce à son service rail-route piggy-back, Lorry-Rail propose des solutions innovantes pour le transport intermodal. La société exploite l’autoroute ferroviaire Luxembourg - Perpignan en offrant un service route/rail en mode non accompagné pour semi-remorques. Cette solution assure l'acheminement de quelque 30.000 semi-remorques par an sur une distance de plus de 1.000 km. De nouveaux itinéraires à travers l'Europe sont prévus.

Fret fluvial

La navigation fluviale constitue un autre mode de transport fiable et sûr. Le Luxembourg dispose d’un port fluvial, qui peut être utilisé pour l’expédition de matières premières ainsi que de produits agricoles, de fer et d'acier, et de produits pétroliers vers d’autres destinations intérieures ou vers la mer du Nord.

Le Freeport Luxembourg

Inauguré en septembre 2014, le Freeport Luxembourg est destiné à devenir un pilier du secteur de la logistique en plein essor. Ce port franc, situé à l'aéroport de Findel, est un lieu sûr et hautement sécurisé de 22.000m2 de surface, répartis sur quatre étages. Placé sous le contrôle des services de l'Administration des douanes et accises, il est fait pour stocker des oeuvres d'art, des bijoux, des voitures de collection, des vins, des documents importants et bien d'autres trésors. Le stockage de biens au sein du Luxembourg Freeport bénéficie d'une suspension de la TVA.

Acteurs clés de la logistique mondiale

Par ailleurs, un grand nombre d’acteurs qualifiés (c.-à-d. les agents de manutention, les transitaires, les prestataires logistiques) fournissent des services de qualité permettant un accès à tous les pays européens dans les délais impartis.

Les acteurs de la logistique d’envergure mondiale tels que Cargolux, China Airlines, Cobelfret, DB Schenker, DHL, Kühne + Nagel, Morrisson Express, Nippon Express, Panalpina, TNT, Yangtze River et Yusen Air & Sea, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns, ont déjà opté pour le Luxembourg comme base opérationnelle pour leurs activités logistiques à forte valeur ajoutée. Par conséquent, de nombreuses compagnies internationales ont choisi d’acheminer leurs produits via le Luxembourg pour pénétrer les marchés européens.

Cluster for Logistics

Le Cluster for Logistics est un réseau qui fournit un soutien aux différents acteurs du secteur de la logistique au Luxembourg en les aidant à développer des synergies et de nouveaux partenariats nationaux et internationaux à travers des projets de recherche, développement et innovation (RDI).

(Source: Luxembourg, le meilleur choix pour l’implantation de votre entreprise)

  • Mis à jour le 14-11-2017