Audiovisual production

With giant steps ...

The Grand Duchy has been playing a pioneering role on the European media scene. Two media and communications giants came into being in the Grand Duchy and are still continuing to expand: RTL Group, the leading radio and television broadcaster in Europe, and SES, the world's leading provider of communication and broadcasting services, with a fleet of about fifty satellites. Although it is far from able to boast a long and rich tradition of national cinema, the Grand Duchy has in recent years found its place in the international audiovisual industry. Proof of this is that a good number of (co-)productions have been awarded prizes at international film festivals.

Since the creation of RTL Group and SES, a good many companies in the converging fields of multimedia and information and communication technologies (ICTs) have established themselves around these two pillars in the Grand Duchy.

The Luxembourg government actively encourages the development of audiovisual and communication services, supported by the potential generated by the trend towards the liberalisation of the telecommunications market in Europe and by technological progress.

As an expression of this proactive policy, the Grand Duchy has adopted a number of public support schemes in the early 1990s aimed at promoting the development of audiovisual production.

The film production sector

Despite the absence of a long tradition of national film production, the Grand Duchy has developed a rich film production industry that has received recognition from the international audiovisual industry, as evidenced by the numerous prizes and awards obtained at international festivals in recent years.

In the Grand Duchy there are about thirty production companies in the fields of fiction and animation; 17 of them are active internationally. There are five animation studios in the country, as well as two production studios, fifteen post-production companies, recording and special effects studios, and about fifteen services companies directly linked to the sector. In addition, there are about a dozen legal and financial companies in the Grand Duchy which specialise in the audiovisual sector. The film production sector employs around 600 people (technicians, producers, actors etc.).

Professionalisation of the job has expanded the possibilities of co-production with other countries. As a result, the number of productions has increased considerably in the Grand Duchy, not only because of a favourable legal framework, but also because of the excellent technical infrastructures and the expanding skills of the local film production industry.

What is more, the wealth and diversity of the Luxembourg countryside provides a multitude of interesting alternatives for outdoor shoots.

The animated films sector

The animated films sector has developed in the same way as the film production sector. The fact that two Luxembourgish co-productions, 'Ernest et Célestine' (Studio 352) and 'Mr Hublot' (Zeilt Productions), were nominated for awards at the 86th season of Oscars in 2014 illustrates the distance the animation sector has covered in the Grand Duchy.

There are half a dozen animation studios active in the Grand Duchy. They either develop their own productions or co-productions or hire out their services to foreign productions. Support mechanisms for audiovisual production have worked perfectly as incentives in this sector, thereby helping to establish a genuine industrial platform at a very high level.

A two-year Advanced Technician's Certificate (BTS) in Animation Drawing is proposed by the Luxembourg Technical School of Arts and Crafts (Lycée technique des arts et métiers Luxembourg, LTAM). LTAM's professional qualification course functions in close collaboration with the prestigious Gobelins image school (Ecole de l'image Gobelins) in Paris. A number of former graduates currently work for DreamWorks, Universal Pictures, Walt Disney Animation and Warner Bros.

Filmland Kehlen

The Grand Duchy now has its own 'little Hollywood', at Filmland Kehlen in the western part of the country. This is a one-stop shop for audiovisual production, a real hub for national and international feature film production.

The infrastructure is impressive: more than 4,000m2 of studios for filming, two construction workshops each with an area of 400m2 each, 500m2 of production offices, sound and image editing studios, a final mixing auditorium, a calibration room, units for special effects, and equipment for green-screen filming. A number of Luxembourgish film production companies have pooled their activities there. For more information, visit the website at www.filmland.lu.

Support for the audiovisual sector

The Luxembourg Film Fund and the National Audiovisual Centre (CNA) provide help and support to professionals in the audiovisual sector.

National Support Fund for Audiovisual Production (Film Fund Luxembourg)

The National Support Fund for Audiovisual Production — the Luxembourg Film Fund — was created in 1990; it is a public institution aimed at supporting, through predetermined financial mechanisms, the production, co-production and distribution of works originating in the Grand Duchy. The government's aim by creating the Film Fund was to promote the development of a genuine film industry.

The Film Fund supports Luxembourg's cinema through indirect grants called AFS (selective financial aid) for screenwriting and for developing and producing short and full-length films and documentaries. This aid constitutes an advance on income.

25 years after the creation of the Film Fund, the dream of a film industry — which may have seemed illusory at the time — has come true.

Guy Daleiden, Director of the Luxembourg Film Fund

Between 1990 and 2013, more than 600 audiovisual and cinematographic works have been produced thanks to financial support from the Luxembourg Film Fund.

National Audiovisual Centre (CNA)

It is the mission of the National Audiovisual Centre (Centre national de l'audiovisuel, CNA) to collect, restore, preserve and screen the national audiovisual heritage. As part of its production activities, the Centre supports the creation of documentaries and other audiovisual productions. It produces exhibitions and publications, and organises public events in the audiovisual field.

  • Updated 20-05-2015

Production audiovisuelle

A pas de géants...

Le Luxembourg a joué un rôle de pionnier sur la scène médiatique en Europe. Deux géants des médias et communications sont nés au Luxembourg et continuent aujourd’hui leur développement à partir du Grand-Duché: RTL Group, premier diffuseur européen de télévision et de radio, et SES, premier fournisseur mondial de services de communication et de télédiffusion avec une flotte de 50 satellites. Loin de pouvoir se targuer d'une longue et riche tradition cinématographique nationale, le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg a su ces dernières années trouver aussi sa place dans l’industrie audiovisuelle internationale. Preuve est que de nombreuses (co)productions sont primées à l'occasion des festivals de film internationaux.

Depuis l’apparition de RTL Group et de SES, de nombreuses sociétés actives dans les domaines convergents du multimédia et des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) se sont établies autour de ces piliers au Luxembourg.

Le gouvernement luxembourgeois mène une politique active de développement des services audiovisuels et de la communication, appuyé en cela par le potentiel offert par le mouvement de libéralisation du marché des télécommunications en Europe et le progrès technologique.

Comme expression de cette politique proactive, le Luxembourg a adopté au début des années 1990 plusieurs schémas d’accompagnement public destinés à encourager le développement de la production audiovisuelle.

Le secteur de la production cinématographique

Malgré l’absence d’une longue tradition cinématographique nationale, le Grand-Duché a su développer une production cinématographique riche et reconnue par l’industrie audiovisuelle internationale, comme en témoignent les nombreux prix et récompenses obtenus lors de festivals internationaux ces dernières années.

Le Luxembourg compte une trentaine de sociétés de production dans le domaine de la fiction et de l'animation, dont 17 sont actives au niveau international. Le pays compte cinq studios d'animation, deux studios de production, 15 sociétés de postproduction, des studios d'enregistrement ou d'effets spéciaux, une quinzaine de sociétés de services directement liés au secteur. Au-delà, une dizaine de sociétés juridiques ou financières spécialisées dans l'audiovisuel opèrent dans le secteur. Le secteur de la production cinématographique emploie près de 600 personnes (techniciens, réalisateurs, acteurs...).

Une professionnalisation du métier a élargi les possibilités de coproduction avec l'étranger. Dès lors, les productions se sont multipliées au Grand-Duché, non seulement en raison d’un cadre législatif avantageux, mais aussi grâce aux excellentes infrastructures techniques et aux compétences grandissantes de l'industrie de production locale.

D'un autre côté, la richesse et la diversité du paysage luxembourgeois fournissent une multitude d’alternatives intéressantes pour des tournages en extérieur.

Le secteur de l'animation

Le secteur de l'animation a connu une éclosion semblable à celle du secteur de la production cinématographique. Le fait que deux coproductions luxembourgeoises, Ernest et Célestine (Studio 352) et Mr. Hublot (Zeilt Productions), ont été nominées à la 86e édition des Oscars en 2014, illustre quel bel parcours le secteur de l'animation a fait au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg.

Il y a une demi-douzaine de studios d’animation exerçant au Luxembourg. Ceux-ci développent leurs propres productions ou coproductions ou louent leurs services à des productions étrangères. Les mécanismes de soutien à la production audiovisuelle ont dans ce secteur parfaitement joué leurs rôles d’incitants, ce qui a permis de voir l’émergence d’une véritable plateforme industrielle de haut niveau.

Une formation BTS dessin d’animation sur un cycle de deux ans est proposée par le Lycée technique des arts et métiers (LTAM) Luxembourg. Le BTS Animation du LTAM travaille en étroite collaboration avec la prestigieuse école de l'image Gobelins à Paris. Certains anciens diplômés de ce BTS travaillent chez DreamWorks, Universal Pictures, Walt Disney Animation ou encore Warner Bros.

Filmland Kehlen

Le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg a désormais son little Hollywood à l'ouest du pays, le Filmland Kehlen. Il s'agit d'un one stop shop en matière de production audiovisuelle, une véritable plaque tournante pour des productions cinématographiques nationales et internationales.

L'infrastructure est impressionnante: plus de 4.000m2 de studios de tournage, deux ateliers de construction de 400m2 chacun, 500m2 de bureaux de productions, des studios de montage image et son, un auditorium de mixage final, une salle d'étalonnage et des cellules d'effets spéciaux, équipements pour des tournages en green screen. Plusieurs sociétés de production cinématographiques luxembourgeoise y ont regroupé leurs activités. Pour en savoir plus: www.filmland.lu.

Soutien au secteur audiovisuel

Le Film Fund Luxembourg et le CNA fournissent aide et soutien aux professionnels du secteur audiovisuel.

Fonds national de soutien de la production audiovisuelle (Film Fund Luxembourg)

Le Fonds national de soutien de la production audiovisuelle ou Film Fund Luxembourg, créé en 1990, est l'établissement public luxembourgeois ayant pour but de soutenir, par des mécanismes financiers préétablis, la production, la coproduction et la distribution des œuvres d'origine luxembourgeoise. Avec la création du Filml Fund, le gouvernement voulait favoriser le développement d'une véritable "industrie du cinéma".

Le Film Fund soutient le cinéma luxembourgeois à travers des subsides indirects, appelés AFS (aides financières sélectives) pour l'écriture de scénarios, le développement et la production de courts métrages, longs métrages et documentaires. Ces aides sont des avances sur recettes.

25 ans après la création du Film Fund, le rêve d'une industrie cinématographique, qui a pu paraître illusoire à l'époque, est devenu réalité.

Guy Daleiden, directeur du Film Fund Luxembourg

Entre 1990 et 2013, plus de 600 oeuvres audiovisuelles et cinématographiques ont vu le jour grâce à l'apport financier du Film Fund Luxembourg.

Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA)

Le Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) a pour mission de collecter, de restaurer, de préserver et de diffuser le patrimoine audiovisuel national. Dans le cadre de ses activités de production, le centre apporte son soutien à des documentaires et à d’autres productions audiovisuelles. Il réalise des expositions et des publications et organise des manifestations publiques qui relèvent du domaine audiovisuel.

  • Mis à jour le 08-05-2015