Environmental technologies

Green shoots

Sustainable development is a key industry for growth in Luxembourg. Over the past few years the Grand Duchy has thus been seeking solutions to reduce pollution and waste. There are many examples of this: the growing use of wind farms, the introduction of energy performance certificates in the building sector as well as the efforts implemented for more electric public transport.

It is estimated that there are over 200 eco businesses in Luxembourg. These companies mainly operate in the fields of renewable energy, waste management, water and environmentally sound construction. In order to support these companies in their efforts, the Luxembourg government is offering financial support, but is also helping to establish networks of expertise.

Encouraging research

In addition, over one hundred eco businesses operate within the EcoInnovation Clusternetwork of expertise run by Luxinnovation, the National Agency for Innovation and Research. The Cluster identifies potential, connects the different actors and helps them to implement collaborative projects.

In addition to this, several entities are carrying out research in the field: the University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), the sustainable construction innovation hub Neobuild, and the Centre de ressources des technologies pour l’environnement - CRTE(Resource Centre for Environmental Technologies).

Attracting investors

The labelling agency Luxflag launched 'Climate Change', an environmental label awarded to funds in which at least 75% of the portfolio is invested in companies linked to environmental issues. With the Luxembourg Green Exchange, the Luxembourg Stock Exchange inaugurated the first green stock exchange in the world, where only 100% environmentally sound projects are accepted.

Green innovation as far away as Antarctica

Many companies based in Luxembourg export their innovations worldwide:

  • the Société électrique de l'Our- SEO (Our Electricity Company) is boosting investment in hydro and wind power generation for both domestic use and export;
  • the start-up Ujet has just revealed its electric scooters, which will be available in Paris, Milan, Monaco and Barcelona as of 2018;
  • a waste management concept has been devised by ECO-Conseil in the United Arab Emirates;
  • Apateq supplies waste water treatment systems, from Grevenmacher to Canada;
  • L.E.E. exports its methods to extract biogas from household waste and the agro-industrial sector to Europe, Africa and Canada.
  • China has embraced the compressed natural gas conversion kits created by Rotarex, which reduce the amount of pollution produced by old vehicles;
  • Prefalux specialises in wood constructions, and enables scientists at the 'Princesss Elizabeth' Belgian research centre in Antarctica to work safely, protected against the wind and cold.

 (Article written by the editorial team of the luxembourg.lu portal / Source:www.ecoinnovationcluster.lu)

  • Updated 23-11-2017

Technologies environnementales

Les pousses vertes

Le développement durable est une industrie-clé de la croissance au Luxembourg. Aussi le Grand-Duché s’est-il engagé ces dernières années à trouver des solutions pour réduire la pollution et les déchets. On citera à titre d’exemple l’exploitation croissante de parcs éoliens, l’instauration de certificats de performance énergétique dans le secteur du bâtiment, ou encore les efforts fournis pour un transport public davantage électrique.

On estime à plus de 200 le nombre d’éco-entreprises au Luxembourg. Celles-ci œuvrent principalement dans les domaines de l’énergie renouvelable, de la gestion des déchets, de l’eau et de l’éco-construction. Pour soutenir ces entreprises dans leurs efforts, le gouvernement luxembourgeois intervient par le biais d’apports financiers, mais contribue aussi à établir des réseaux d’expertise.

Encourager la recherche

En outre, une centaine d’éco-entreprises sont actives au sein du réseau d’expertise, EcoInnovation Cluster, piloté par Luxinnovation, l’agence nationale pour la promotion de l’innovation et de la recherche. Le Cluster identifie les potentiels,  met en relation les différents acteurs, et aide à la réalisation de projets collaboratifs.

À côté de ça, plusieurs organismes mènent des recherches dans le domaine: l'Université du Luxembourg, le Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), le pôle d'innovation de la construction durable, Neobuild, ou encore le Centre de ressources des technologies pour l’environnement (CRTE).

Attirer les investisseurs

L’agence de labellisation, Luxflag, a lancé “Climate Change”, un label environnement attribué  à des fonds dont au moins 75% du portefeuille est investi dans des sociétés liées aux questions environnementales. Le Luxembourg Stock Exchange a, quant à lui, inauguré avec “Luxembourg Green Exchange” la première bourse verte au monde, où ne sont acceptés que les projets 100% écologiques.

L’innovation verte jusqu’en Antarctique

De nombreuses entreprises implantées au Luxembourg exportent leurs innovations à travers le monde:

  • La Société électrique de l’Our (SEO) accroît ses investissements dans la génération d’électricité hydraulique et éolienne à des fins d’usage domestique et d’exportation;
  • la start-up Ujet vient de dévoiler ses scooters électriques, qui seront commercialisés à Paris, Milan, Monaco et Barcelone dès 2018;
  • un concept de gestion des déchets a été élaboré par ECO-Conseil aux Émirats arabes unis;
  • la société Apateq fournit des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées, de Grevenmacher au Canada;
  • la société L.E.E. exporte ses méthodes d’extraction de biogaz provenant de déchets ménagers et agro-inudstriels vers l’Europe, l’Afrique et le Canada.
  • la Chine s’est ouverte aux kits de conversion de gaz naturel comprimé de Rotarex, qui réduisent la pollution des vieux véhicules;
  • La contribution de Prefalux, spécialiste de la construction bois, permet aux scientifiques du centre de recherche belge en Antarctique, “Princess Elizabeth”, de travailler en sécurité, protégé contre le vent et le froid.

 (Article rédigé par l’équipe rédactionnelle du portail luxembourg.lu / Source: www.ecoinnvationcluster.lu)

  • Mis à jour le 23-11-2017