10 good reasons for choosing Luxembourg

What are the advantages of Luxembourg which may induce potential organisers of MICE events (meetings, incentives, conferences, events) to choose Luxembourg? Here are ten good reasons for choosing Luxembourg.

Short distances

The Grand Duchy is one of the few European countries on a small, more human scale. This has the great advantage that all hotels and all tourism and business infrastructures are quickly and easily accessible, which is a tremendous asset in the organisation of MICE events.

In short: in Luxembourg there is no wasted time caused by long journeys!

Nearby and easy to reach

Strategically located in the heart of Europe, Luxembourg is an easily reachable destination for many European visitors, easily accessible from all sides. Connected to the rest of Europe thanks to an excellent network of motorways, an international airport and good rail connections (including the high-speed TGV from Paris and Strasbourg), the Grand Duchy is close to its European neighbours.

High-quality infrastructures

Whether in Luxembourg City or in other parts of the country, the Grand Duchy offers modern, well-equipped conference and training facilities that leave nothing to be desired. Facilities equipped with the most modern communication technologies and often totally adaptable make it possible to organise high-quality conferences, seminars, exhibitions and other events.

Security

The Grand Duchy's political stability and the safety of both people and property are significant advantages. Mercer's annual quality of living survey places Luxembourg City among the safest capitals in the world — one less worry for business events organisers.

A European capital

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is an active and dynamic founding member of the European Union. Today, Luxembourg is not only an economic player of international renown but also the seat of several European institutions, making it a 'European capital'. The country benefits from this European aspect of its history, both in terms of infrastructure as in terms of know-how, and it is the same for business events organisers.

Diversity

Luxembourg boasts a huge diversity at all levels. This applies to the carefully maintained natural landscapes and to the countless reminders of its exceptional and varied past: historic castles, fortifications, museums, exhibition halls and galleries are witness to our country's rich cultural heritage. A number have even been listed as UNESCO World Heritage sites.

Sustainable development

Protecting its natural sites, developing its urban centres harmoniously, preserving the quality of everyday life: the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is a staunch adherent to the principles of sustainable development, never losing sight of the well-being of future generations.

Fascinating nature

From the vineyards of the Moselle valley to the rocky landscapes of the Ardennes, the legendary 'Red Earth' in the southern part of the country — witness to a rich industrial past — to the Mullerthal, the Grand Duchy's 'Little Switzerland', and the beautiful capital city, with its fantastic fortifications: the country offers extraordinary natural surroundings and countless exceptional landscapes.

Regional produce

Wine and sparkling wine from the Moselle valley, beer, honey, meat, butter and other gourmet delights — Luxembourg's produce is famous throughout Europe, and the various quality labels ensure that 'made in Luxembourg' produce is of a high quality. The number of excellent restaurants, from the traditional rustic inn to the starred gourmet palace, points to the importance bestowed on the quality of gastronomy in the Grand Duchy.

Multicultural and multilingual

The Grand Duchy is currently home to people from more than 170 countries. Over time, these different cultures have strongly influenced the country, as has its geographical position halfway between the Latin and Germanic cultures. These influences have found their way into the Grand Duchy's culture, art, cuisine and sports. Indeed, most Luxembourgers speak at least three languages, which is a clear advantage over other countries.

(Source: Department of Tourism)

  • Updated 26-09-2016

10 arguments en faveur du Luxembourg

Quels sont les atouts du Luxembourg qui peuvent inciter des organisateurs potentiels de choisir le Luxembourg pour l’organisation de leur événement MICE (meetings, incentives, conferences, events)? Voici dix arguments touristiques en faveur du Luxembourg.

De courtes distances

Le Grand-Duché est un des rares pays européens qui propose des dimensions réduites et humaines. Cela a l’énorme avantage que tous les hôtels ainsi que l’ensemble des infrastructures touristiques et d’affaires soient facilement et rapidement accessible, ce qui constitue un atout considérable pour l’organisation d’événements MICE.

En bref: Au Luxembourg on ne perd pas de temps à cause de longs trajets!

L'accessibilité

Situé stratégiquement au cœur de l’Europe, le Luxembourg est une destination de proximité pour de nombreux visiteurs européens, facilement accessible de tous les côtés. Lié au reste de l’Europe grâce à un excellent réseau d’autoroutes, un aéroport international et de bonnes connexions ferroviaires (p.ex. TGV à partir de Paris et de Strasbourg), le Grand-Duché est proche de ses voisins européens.

Des infrastructures de qualité

Que ce soit dans la capitale ou dans les autres régions du pays, le Grand-Duché offre des infrastructures de conférence et de formation modernes et très bien équipées qui ne laissent rien à désirer. Des établissements équipés des technologies de communication les plus modernes et souvent parfaitement modulables permettent d’organiser des conférences, séminaires, expositions ou autres événements de haute qualité.

La sécurité

La stabilité politique ainsi que la sécurité des personnes et des biens sont des atouts non négligeables. L’étude Mercer sur la qualité de vie place Luxembourg-Ville parmi les capitales les plus sûres du monde – un souci de moins pour les organisateurs d’événements d’affaires.

Une capitale européenne

Le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg est un membre fondateur actif et dynamique de l’Union européenne. Aujourd’hui, le Luxembourg est non seulement un acteur économique de renommée internationale, mais également le siège de plusieurs institutions européennes, soit une "capitale européenne". Le pays bénéficie de cet aspect européen de son histoire, aussi bien en matière d’infrastructures qu’en matière de savoir-faire, et il en est de même pour les organisateurs d’événements d’affaires.

La diversité

Le Luxembourg peut se vanter d’une énorme diversité à tous les niveaux. Ceci s’applique aux différents paysages naturels, précieusement entretenus et soignés ainsi qu’aux innombrables témoins d’une histoire exceptionnelle et variée: châteaux historiques, fortifications, musées, salles d’exposition et galeries témoignent du riche héritage culturel de notre pays. Certains comptent même parmi l’héritage culturel mondial de l’Unesco.

Développement durable

Protéger les beautés naturelles, réaliser un développement urbain harmonieux, préserver la qualité de vie au quotidien…, le Grand-Duché s’engage selon les principes du développement durable, ne perdant jamais de vue le bien-être des futures générations.

Une nature fascinante

Des vignobles à la Moselle aux formations rocheuses des Ardennes, des légendaires Terres rouges dans le sud – témoin d'une riche histoire industrielle – jusqu'au Mullerthal, la petite Suisse Luxembourgeoise, et à la belle capitale avec ses fortifications mythiques: le pays offre une nature extraordinaire et d’innombrables paysages d’exception.

Les produits régionaux

Vins et crémants de la Moselle, bières, miel, viande, beurre et autres délicatesses…, les produits gastronomiques luxembourgeois sont renommés à travers l’Europe et les différents labels de qualité sont garants de produits de qualité made in Luxembourg. Le nombre d’excellents restaurants, de l’auberge traditionnelle rustique au palais de gourmets étoilé, est synonyme de l’importance que l’on attribue à la gastronomie de qualité au Luxembourg.

Multiculturel et multilingue

Des habitants originaires de plus de 170 nations vivent aujourd’hui au Luxembourg. Au fil du temps, ces différentes cultures ont largement influencé le pays, tout comme sa situation géographique à cheval entre les cultures latine et germanique. Ces influences diverses ont été intégrées dans la culture, l’art, la gastronomie et le sport. D’ailleurs, la majorité des luxembourgeois maîtrisent au moins trois langues, ce qui est un avantage évident par rapport à d’autres pays.

(Source: Département du tourisme)

  • Mis à jour le 05-07-2016