Architecture

A museum designed by Ieoh Ming Pei and a medieval manor house, a Place de l'Europe designed by Ricardo Bofill and Vauban's military fortifications — architecture in the Grand Duchy is all about coexistence, with a mixture of well-preserved remains and surprising modern creations. Moreover, this architecture reveals: a turbulent history, a prominent industrial past, and impressive economic development.

As an example, let's take the Old City of Luxembourg. Here, you can find thousand-year-old fortifications, included on the UNESCO World Heritage list: these remains date back to the time when Luxembourg was nicknamed the 'Gibraltar of the North', precisely because of its imposing fortress, which was dismantled in 1867. However, resolutely modern buildings, signed Perrault, de Portzamparc, Meier and Böhm, mingle with the remainders of the past, only a few steps away, on the Kirchberg plateau. The area was just a field in the 1950s, but rapidly became transformed as the country's European, financial and cultural hub.

In the south, this theme continues. Here, the remains of the iron and steel industry, formerly the pillar of the Grand Duchy's economy, stand alongside ultramodern research laboratories and fashionable offices for the creative industry. Across the country, internationally renowned architects have marked this easy blend of past, present and future with their ideas and expertise. At the same time, the architecture scene in the Grand Duchy is extremely lively: in 2013 some 900 architects were registered with the Order of Architects and Consulting Engineers (Ordre des architectes et ingénieurs-conseils, OAI). Added to this number are 450 consulting engineers and around 40 interior designers. Be it public buildings (museums, cultural centres, the 'Cité judiciaire' (Judiciary Centre)) or private residences, Luxembourg architects have established their style, at home and abroad.

Discover Luxembourg's architecture through the ages!

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Architecture

Un musée de Ieoh Ming Pei contre un manoir datant du Moyen Âge, une place de l’Europe signée Ricardo Bofill contre les fortifications militaires de Vauban – l’architecture au Luxembourg, c’est avant tout une histoire de coexistence, de mélange entre les vestiges d’antan bien conservés et d’étonnantes créations modernes. Plus encore, cette architecture est révélatrice: d’une histoire tumultueuse, d’un passé industriel marquant et d’un développement économique impressionnant.

Prenons le quartier de la vieille ville à Luxembourg. On y trouve la forteresse millénaire, patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco: il s’agit des vestiges d’une époque où Luxembourg était surnommé "le Gibraltar du Nord", justement à cause de son imposante forteresse, qui fut démantelée dès 1867. Or, des constructions résolument modernes, signées notamment Perrault, de Portzamparc, Meier et Böhm, viennent se mêler aux témoins du passé, seulement quelques pas plus loin, sur le plateau de Kirchberg. Simple champ aux alentours des années 1950, cette surface s’est rapidement transformée en centre européen, financier et culturel du pays.

Au sud, ce fil rouge se poursuit. Ici, les vestiges de la sidérurgie, autrefois pilier de l’économie luxembourgeoise, côtoient aujourd’hui des laboratoires de recherche ultramodernes, ainsi que les bureaux branchés de l’industrie créative.Un peu partout au pays, des architectes de renommée internationale ont marqué ce mélange aisé du passé, du présent et du futur de leurs idées et de leur savoir-faire. En même temps, la scène architecturale luxembourgeoise est extrêmement vivante: en 2013 quelque 900 architectes sont inscrits à l’Ordre des architectes et ingénieurs-conseils (OAI), s’y ajoutent 450 ingénieurs-conseils et une quarantaine d’architectes d’intérieur. Que ce soit au niveau des bâtiments publics (musées, centres culturels, Cité judiciaire) aux résidences privées, les architectes luxembourgeois savent imposer leur style, aussi à l’étranger.

Découvrez l’architecture luxembourgeoise au fil du temps!

  • Mis à jour le 16-04-2015