Culture

Cultural life in the Grand Duchy is marked by the country's openness to the world, the number of its top-quality cultural infrastructures, its exceptional natural settings, its multilingualism in every field and its festivals and traditions. The result is an amazing diversity of production in literature, art, architecture and music.

Live opera, dance and theatre productions, some as part of the Luxembourg Festival and the Wiltz Festival, evenings of classical music at the Luxembourg Philharmonie and at the Echternach International Festival, rock, pop and indie concerts at the Rockhal and at various open-air festivals, contemporary art at the MUDAM, to name but a few: all year round, the Grand Duchy offers a varied range of major cultural events in a number of up-to-date cultural infrastructures.

In addition, alongside Luxembourgish artists, leading companies from Europe and further afield offer audiences a varied, top-quality repertoire worthy of the major European capital cities, mainly in their original language.

And at the cinema, film fans are able to appreciate films that are always shown in their original language.

Over the years, the Luxembourg scene has both gained from many foreign cultural influences and retained its originality. The Grand Duchy's cultural offer reflects its multicultural society and the enthusiasm of its residents for quality cultural events.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Culture

La vie culturelle au Luxembourg se caractérise par son ouverture sur le monde, une quantité d’infrastructures culturelles de choix, des coulisses naturelles hors norme, un multilinguisme dans tous les domaines et par ses fêtes et traditions. Il en résulte une étonnante diversité de la production littéraire, artistique, architecturale et musicale.

Spectacles d'opéra, de danse ou de théâtre dans le contexte, entre autres, du Luxembourg Festival ou du Festival de Wiltz, soirées de musique classique à la Philharmonie Luxembourg et lors du Festival international d’Echternach, concerts rock, pop ou indie à la Rockhal ou lors de festivals en plein air, art contemporain au MUDAM pour ne citer qu’eux: le Grand-Duché propose tout au long de l’année une diversité de rendez-vous culturels marquants dans des infrastructures culturelles modernes.

De plus, aux côtés des artistes luxembourgeois, les plus grandes compagnies d'Europe et d'ailleurs offrent au public un répertoire d'une diversité et d'une qualité dignes des grandes capitales européennes, la plupart du temps dans la version originale des pièces représentées.

Et au cinéma, les cinéphiles peuvent apprécier les films présentés systématiquement en version originale.

La scène luxembourgeoise s’est enrichie au fil du temps de nombreuses influences culturelles étrangères, tout en gardant son originalité. Une offre culturelle à l’image de la société multiculturelle du Grand-Duché et du goût prononcé de ses habitants pour les événements culturels de qualité.

  • Mis à jour le 16-04-2015