Literature

One of the main features of Luxembourg literature is due to the linguistic environment, resulting from the geographical situation and history of a country at the intersection of Latin and Germanic cultures.

Over the centuries, this has resulted in a unique linguistic environment, featuring the association and coexistence of three languages on an everyday basis: Luxembourgish, German, and French. Multilingualism is an underlying feature of Luxembourg literature and influences the route taken by Luxembourgish writers.

From a purely linguistic point of view, Luxembourgish literature is not singular but plural, as it is produced in three languages - or even four, if English-language writers are included. This polyphonic production is given the collective term 'Luxemburgensia', a concept which covers all literary works and printed documents that are either written by Luxembourg nationals, or produced in the Grand Duchy, or are about the Grand Duchy, regardless of the language used.

German-language literature is the most accessible and the most widespread in the Grand Duchy, although in recent years there has been an increase in the number of writers using Luxembourgish. Luxembourg literature production in French is less common, but has a very high profile outside the country.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Littérature

Une des principales caractéristiques de la littérature luxembourgeoise est due à l’environnement linguistique né de la situation géographique et de l’histoire du Luxembourg, qui se trouve à la croisée des cultures romane et germanique.

C’est ainsi que s’est développé au fil des siècles un environnement linguistique unique, caractérisé par l’association et la coexistence au quotidien de trois langues: le luxembourgeois, l’allemand et le français. Le multilinguisme sous-tend la littérature luxembourgeoise et influence le parcours des écrivains luxembourgeois.

D’un point de vue purement linguistique, il n’existe pas une littérature luxembourgeoise, mais à proprement parler, des littératures luxembourgeoises s’exprimant en trois, voire en quatre langues si l’on y compte les auteurs anglophones. Cette production polyphone est répertoriée sous le terme collectif de Luxemburgensia qui englobe toutes les œuvres littéraires et documents imprimés soit rédigés par des Luxembourgeois, soit produits au Luxembourg, soit ayant pour sujet le Luxembourg, et ce quelle qu’en soit la langue.

La littérature de langue allemande est la plus accessible et la plus répandue au Luxembourg, même si, depuis quelques années, des talents en langue luxembourgeoise se dévoilent de plus en plus. La littérature luxembourgeoise d’expression française est plus modeste en nombre de publications, mais très remarquée à l'étranger.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015