Photography

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has two tourist blockbusters in Edward Steichen's photographic collections — 'The Family of Man' in Clervaux, and 'The Bitter Years' in Dudelange.

The legendary 'The Family of Man' collection, listed on UNESCO's Memory of the World Register, and 'The Bitter Years, 1935-1941' by the Luxembourg-born American photographer turn the Grand Duchy into 'Steichenland' — the country with a fabulous concentration of works by the famous photographer on display to the public.

Two places come to mind immediately as soon as photography is mentioned: Dudelange in the southern part of the Grand Duchy, and Clervaux in the Luxembourg Ardennes.

Dudelange because the former iron and steel centre is home to the National Audiovisual Centre (Centre national de l'audiovisuel, CNA), which plays a front-line role in the field of photography. The CNA, housed in an old water tower, is home to the famous collection called 'The Bitter Years', while the adjacent Pomhouse presents exhibitions of photographs by various contemporary photographers.

And Clervaux because the castle there is home to the legendary 'The Family of Man' collection. It has also achieved a higher profile in the field of photography as a result of the 'Clervaux — cité de l'image' project.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Photographie

Avec les collections photographiques d'Edward Steichen - "The Family of Man" à Clervaux et "The Bitter Years" à Dudelange - le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg possède deux blockbusters touristiques.

Avec la légendaire collection "The Family of Man", inscrite au Registre mémoire du monde de l'Unesco, ainsi que "The Bitter Years 1935-1941" du photographe américain d'origine luxembourgeoise, le Grand-Duché est indubitablement "Steichenland", le pays avec une très grande concentration d'oeuvres du célèbre photographe à visiter par un public intéressé.

Quand on dit photographie, deux villes viennent à l'esprit: Dudelange au sud et Clervaux dans les Ardennes luxembourgeoises.

La ville de Dudelange parce que l'ancienne cité de fer abrite le Centre national de l'audiovisuel (CNA) qui joue un rôle de premier plan dans le domaine de la photographie. Sur le site du CNA, un ancien château d'eau, accueille la fameuse collection "The Bitter Years" et le Pomhouse à côté accueille des expositions de photographies de divers photographes contemporains.

Et puis la ville de Clervaux, comme elle héberge la légendaire collection "The Family of Man" au château de Clervaux. Elle a également su s'imposer dans le domaine de la photographie avec le projet "Clervaux - cité de l'image".

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015