Theatre and dance

Fans of performing arts have the choice of a number of venues in the Grand Duchy, which host internationally renowned shows as well as their own creations.

During the last thirty years, the Luxembourg theatre scene has grown steadily, in terms of both, the number of shows on stage and the skill of the companies and venues, which have become more numerous.

In addition to traditional theatre, ballet and opera, the range of shows has become more diversified — the offer now includes contemporary dance, shows for young audiences, improvisation or street theatre.

Shows for children and young people have increasingly become an important feature of the cultural scene in the Grand Duchy.

A number of companies concentrate on creating shows for young audiences, with events such as the international puppet theatre festival (held every two years) and the 'Traffo' programming for young people at CarréRotondes, helping to make shows for young audiences an essential component of the Luxembourg scene.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Théâtre et danse

L’amateur de spectacle vivant trouve au Luxembourg de nombreuses scènes, qui accueillent des spectacles de renommée internationale et présentent leurs propres créations.

Au cours de la dernière trentaine d’années, le monde théâtral luxembourgeois s’est constamment développé, tant au niveau de l’offre en matière de spectacles, qu’au niveau des compagnies et des scènes, qui sont devenues de plus en plus nombreuses.

A côté du théâtre, du ballet ou de l’opéra traditionnels, le spectacle s’est diversifié, pour présenter de la danse contemporaine, des spectacles jeune public, de l’improvisation, du théâtre de rue...

Depuis plusieurs années, les spectacles pour enfants et jeunes ont trouvé une place de plus en plus importante dans le paysage culturel luxembourgeois.

Plusieurs compagnies se consacrent à la création de spectacles jeunes publics, et des événements comme le festival international de théâtre de marionnettes (festival bisannuel) ou Traffo, le programme Jeunes Publics du CarréRotondes, contribuent à faire du spectacle jeune public un élément incontournable des scènes luxembourgeoises.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015