Bretzelsonnden (March or April)

A pretzel for your sweetheart!

A basketfull of 'Bretzelen"
SIP / Zineb Ruppert

Luxembourgers celebrate 'Bretzelsonnden' (Pretzel Sunday) every year on the third Sunday in Lent.

Pretzels are a Luxembourg specialty, made of puff pastry with fondant icing and almonds, representing two lovers arm in arm. Although pretzels were originally salted, the sweet version is more common nowadays.

According to tradition, a man should offer his sweetheart one of these pretzels on Pretzel Sunday. If she accepts it, he is allowed to visit her on Easter Day, when he will receive eggs in return.

Otherwise she gives him a basket. Hence the Luxembourgish expression 'de Kuerf kréien' (to be given the basket), meaning to be rejected.

In leap years, the tradition is reversed: girls offer their sweetheart a pretzel.

In the 18th century, the custom began on the day of the 'Buergbrennen' bonfire, with girls calling out their sweetheart's name as they threw wood onto the fire. If all went well, he would then give her a pretzel on the fourth Sunday before Easter, and would receive eggs from her on Easter Day.  In old times, the Pretzel Sunday custom set the seal on many a marriage.

In Luxembourg City, Pretzel Sunday is celebrated these days as a neighbourhood party, and the Jhangeli tourist train is decorated with pretzels and accompanied by a small band. The procession, which includes pastrycooks from all over the Grand Duchy and the 'Pretzel Queen', walks through the streets of Luxembourg City, handing out free pretzels.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Bretzelsonndeg (mars ou avril)

Un bretzel pour l'élu(e) de coeur!

bretzel-corbeille-170276

Tous les ans, les Luxembourgeois célèbrent le quatrième dimanche de carême le Bretzelsonndeg (dimanche des bretzels).

Le bretzel est une spécialité de pâtisserie luxembourgeoise, faite de pâte levée feuilletée recouverte d’une couche de sucre fondant et d’amandes et qui représente les bras entrelacés de deux amoureux. Si au début les bretzels étaient salés, on retrouve aujourd'hui surtout la version sucrée.

La tradition veut que l’homme offre cette fameuse pâtisserie à l'élue de son coeur le dimanche des bretzels. Si la fille l'accepte, le garçon peut lui rendre visite le jour de Pâques, afin de recevoir des œufs en retour.

Dans le cas contraire, elle lui remettra un panier. D'où l'expression typiquement luxembourgeoise de Kuerf kréien (recevoir un panier) qui signifie être largué.

Durant les années bissextiles, la tradition est inversée: ce sont alors les femmes qui offrent le bretzel.

Au XVIIIe siècle, la coutume commençait le jour du Buergbrennen (fête des brandons): ce jour-là, les jeunes filles jetaient du bois dans le feu en appelant le nom de leur élu. Si tout allait bien, ce dernier leur offrait alors le bretzel le quatrième dimanche avant Pâques et se voyait remettre le jour de Pâques des œufs.  A l'époque, la coutume du Bretzelsonnden a scellé plus d'un mariage.

Dans la capitale, le dimanche des bretzels est célébré aujourd'hui comme une véritable fête de quartier, où le train touristique Jhangeli est décoré de la délicieuse pâtisserie et accompagné par un petit orchestre. Ce cortège, composé notamment des boulangers-pâtissiers du pays et de la "Reine de la bretzel", sillonne les rues de Luxembourg-Ville en distribuant gratuitement des bretzels.

  • Mis à jour le 16-04-2015