Buergbrennen

It's time to chase winter away!

On the first Sunday after Carnival, the 'Buergen' (torches) are lit across the Grand Duchy to chase away the winter. Thousands of people attend this traditional festival every year.

A 'Buerg', before being set alight
Claude Piscitelli
The 'Buergen' that are set alight on hilltops throughout the country on the first Sunday after Carnival — Buergsonndeg — are huge stakes with a large cross in the middle.

The materials frequently used include straw, branches and logs. Most of the time, the 'Buergen' are erected by the local young people, who sometimes also organise a torch-lit procession from the village to the 'Buerg', which they then set alight under the supervision of the local fire brigade.

In some places, the honour of lighting the 'Buerg' goes to the most recently married local couple, or to a local celebrity. Thousands of people of all ages meet each year for the Luxembourgish tradition of 'Buergbrennen'.

Its origins

'Burgbrennen', or 'Faaschtefeier' (Lent festival) as some people call it, is a pagan custom.

Since ancient times, the 'Buergbrennen' tradition has been observed around the time of the spring equinox. The blaze symbolises the rebirth of spring and the end of winter, the triumph of warmth over the cold, of light over darkness. Some claim the blaze is a symbolic reminder of the time when witches were burnt at the stake.

Linguists tell us that 'Buerg' has nothing to do with a castle. The etymology of the word comes from the Latin verb 'burere', meaning 'to burn'.

What happens

The event usually starts during the afternoon with the construction of the 'Buerg', followed by a torchlight procession, and ending with the lighting of the fire as darkness falls. Grilled food and traditional dishes including 'Ierzebulli' (pea soup), 'Bouneschlupp' (green bean soup) and 'Glühwäin' (mulled wine) are served.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. 'Traditions and festivals' in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Information and Press Service. 2007.)

  • Updated 28-02-2017

Buergbrennen

C'est la chasse à l'hiver!

Le premier dimanche après carnaval, les Buergen (brandons) sont allumés à travers le Grand-Duché pour chasser l’hiver. Cette fête traditionnelle réunit chaque année des miliers de personnes.

buergbrennen-192757

Une "Buerg" avant d'être brûlée

© Claude Piscitelli

Buergen qui sont allumés sur les hauteurs du pays le premier dimanche après le carnaval, le Buergsonndeg, sont d’immenses bûchers plantés d’une grande croix en leur milieu.

Les matériaux combustibles couramment utilisés sont la paille, les branchages et les morceaux de bois ronds. La plupart du temps, les Buergen sont érigés par des associations de jeunes qui organisent parfois une retraite aux flambeaux du village jusqu’au Buerg, pour l’allumer sous la surveillance des pompiers.

Dans certaines localités, l’honneur d’allumer le Buerg revient au couple le plus récemment marié ou à une personnalité locale. Le Buergbrennen est une tradition luxembourgeoise qui réunit chaque année des miliers de personnes tous âges confondus.

Les origines

Le Buergbrennen ou Faaschtefeier (fête de la carême) comme d’aucuns appelaient la tradition est une coutume païenne.

Depuis des temps anciens, cette coutume du Buergbrennen se déroule au moment de l'équinoxe de printemps. Le feu symbolise la renaissance du printemps qui chasse l’hiver; c’est le triomphe de la chaleur sur le froid, de la lumière sur la pénombre. Parfois, on lit également que l’embrasement du Buerg est un rappel symbolique du temps où l’on brûlait les sorcières.

Selon les linguistes, le terme "Buerg" n’a rien a voir avec un château fort. L'étymologie du mot provient du verbe latin burere qui signifier "brûler".

Le déroulement

La fête débute habituellement l’après-midi avec la construction du Buerg, suivie d’un cortège aux flambeaux et se termine avec la mise à feu du bûcher à la tombée de la nuit. Des grillades et des mets traditionnels comme le Ierzebulli (potage aux petits pois), la Bouneschlupp (soupe aux haricots verts) ou le Glühwäin (vin chaud) sont servis.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. "Traditions et fêtes" dans: Lëtzebuerg. Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Service information et presse. 2007.)

  • Mis à jour le 28-02-2017