Grape and wine festivals (April to October)

An occasion to sample the new wines!

Bunch of grapes
Carlo Rinnen / Commission de Promotion Vins et Crémants Luxembourg
These days, grapes are cultivated almost exclusively on the slopes of the Moselle river. The grapes that do grow on this soil, known for its acidity, are taken to the wine press. There are seven typical wines: Elbling, Rivaner, Auxerrois, Pinot Gris, Pinot Blanc, Riesling and Gewürztraminer, plus a small quantity of rosé wines: Elbling Rosé, Pinot Rosé and Pinot Noir. Not to mention the large quantity of sparkling wines, known as 'Schampes', which are very popular with locals and visitors alike.

There is a significant difference between a grape festival and a wine festival. Grape festivals are usually held in October, as a thanksgiving for a good grape harvest. A 'grape queen' is usually elected and, to the accompaniment of music, paraded through the local town wearing sumptuous clothes and handing out wine to onlookers, as in Grevenmacher, for instance. In Schwebsange, the grape festival boasts the unique feature of a town fountain supplying wine instead of water.

Wine festivals are village events usually held in spring, on the premises of local wineries or outdoors under large marquees. They feature live music and traditional food accompanied by wine (and beer).

On 'Proufdag' (tasting day), the grape harvest and wine marketing take on a more professional tone. Between May and June, each winery can open on its cellars on a scheduled day, during which it organises tastings of its latest products. Even though the top varieties have not reached maturity by this stage, connoisseurs are able to make a few educated forecasts which wine, by autumn, will have become a Grand Premier Cru!

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. 'Traditions and festivals' in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Information and Press Service. 2007.)

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Fêtes du raisin et du vin (avril à octobre)

C'est l'occasion de déguster les vins nouveaux!

Grappe de raisinsAujourd’hui, la vigne ne pousse plus que sur les coteaux de la Moselle. Les quelques raisins qui poussent sur cette terre acide sont apportés au pressoir. Il existe sept sortes de vins typiques: l’elbling, le rivaner, l’auxerrois, le pinot gris, le pinot blanc, le riesling et le gewürztraminer; dans une moindre mesure, on trouve aussi des rosés sur le marché: l’elbling rosé, le pinot rosé et le pinot noir. Sans oublier la multitude de vins mousseux qui, sous le nom de Schampes, sont appréciés des gens du pays et de bien d’autres.

Il existe une différence importante entre les fêtes du raisin et du vin. Les fêtes du raisin, qui ont lieu en octobre, sont considérées comme des fêtes d’actions de grâces pour la récolte. On élit la reine du raisin, puis, au son de la musique, on la conduit en habits de fête dans la localité, tout en offrant du vin au passage, comme par exemple à Grevenmacher. A Schwebsange, la fête du raisin est unique par sa fontaine dans laquelle l’eau est remplacée par du véritable vin.

Les fêtes du vin sont des manifestations villageoises qui se déroulent au printemps, dans les salles de réception des caves ou sous de grandes tentes. On s’y divertit en musique, à déguster des mets traditionnels accompagnés de vin (et de bière).

Le Proufdag (journée de dégustation), le jour des vendanges et le marché aux vins s’inscrivent dans un contexte plus "professionnel". Entre mai et juin, toutes les caves disposent d’une journée spéciale, au cours de laquelle elles font déguster leurs "vins nouveaux". Les variétés les plus prestigieuses ne sont certes pas encore à maturité, mais le connaisseur peut se permettre de faire quelques pronostics assurés: en automne, ce vin-ci ou ce vin-là donnera naissance à un Grand Premier Cru!

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. "Traditions et fêtes" dans: Lëtzebuerg. Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Service information et presse. 2007.)

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015