Christmas (25 December)

A religious and family celebration

On 25 December, Luxembourgers celebrate Christmas, one of the most important Christian festivals, in memory of the birth of Jesus of Nazareth, the Son of God. Christmas Eve, 24 December, provides an occasion for organising a festive family meal and, for practising Christians, the opportunity to attend midnight mass.

A religious festival

Christmas market on the Place de la Constitution (Luxembourg City)
SIP / Zineb Ruppert
In Luxembourg, the majority of the population are Catholic. To celebrate Christmas, practising Christians attend mass — either midnight mass (Metten) on 24 December, or Christmas mass on 25 December. A particularly beautiful midnight mass is celebrated every year at Notre-Dame Cathedral in Luxembourg. For practical reasons, mass is also celebrated in the early evening on 24 December.

Many villages also stage Krëppespiller (nativity plays), performed by children.

A family celebration

But Christmas is above all a family celebration, characterised especially by family reunification where people share a hearty meal.

Formerly, after the end of the midnight mass, many Luxembourgers ate Träipen (black pudding) with mashed potatoes and apple sauce. Nowadays, meals are often a little less locally typical: turkey, fondue, seafood, Yule log, Stollen, etc. However, many typical Luxembourgish dishes are also consumed around Christmas time, such as Gromperekichelcher (potato fritters), Boxemännercher (a brioche in the shape of a man), Glühwäin (mulled wine) and Egg Nogg (a drink made of sweetened milk, cream, vanilla and rum).

According to an annual study, Luxembourgers spend around 700 euros for the end of year festivities.

For Luxembourgish kids, is not Father Christmas who brings gifts, but d'Chrëschtkëndchen (infant Jesus). And it is the Kleeschen (St Nicholas) who brings gifts on 6 December. In some families, presents are opened on Christmas Eve, while in others they are opened on Christmas Day (25 December).

The presents are placed under the Christmas Tree, which can be found in the majority of Luxembourgish households.

Advent and preparation for Christmas

Numerous Christmas markets, processions, cribs, illuminated streets, decorated shops, concerts and other events create a magical festive atmosphere throughout the country. Luxembourg City, for example, creates a winter festival atmosphere with its ‘Winterlights’, providing a unifying theme for a whole series of advent festivities: a Christmas Parade, Christmas markets, public concerts, exhibitions, and a variety of other events.

Advent calendar
SIP
In the weeks preceding Christmas, Christmas parties are held in nurseries, fundamental schools, homes for the elderly, sports clubs, etc. Christmas concerts take place in churches, schools and on the Christmas markets.

In fundamental schools and children's choirs, children spend weeks learning Christmas carols. At home, children particularly enjoy the preparation of Christmas biscuits, and decorations are put up according to each family's tradition.

Many Christmas trees are decorated as long as two or three weeks before Christmas. In some villages, girl guides and boy scouts go around collecting Christmas trees in the first week of the new year. They use them as firewood at the Buergbrennen, a celebration centred around a huge bonfire.

On the first Sunday of advent, the first candle on the family Adventskranz (advent wreath ) is lit. The majority of households create or buy advent wreaths made of fir branches, pine, holly or sometimes mistletoe, adorned with four candles. Each Sunday of advent, an additional candle is lit.

Children pass the time until Christmas by opening another window on their advent calendars each day from 1 to 24 December. Originally, these calendars contained religious images, but these have now been replaced by biscuits, chocolates or small toys.

And when this atmosphere is enhanced by a snow-covered landscape, Luxembourgers can enjoy a perfect Christmas.

Public holidays and school holidays

Christmas is one of the most important holidays for many Luxembourgers. On 25 December, Chrëschtdag (Christmas Day) and 26 December, Stiefesdag (Boxing Day), are legal holidays.

Most shops, banks and businesses close on the afternoon of 24 December and remain closed on 25 and 26 December. Children in fundamental and secondary education, for their part, enjoy 2 weeks of school holidays.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Noël (25 décembre)

Une fête religieuse et familiale

Le 25 décembre, les Luxembourgeois fêtent Noël, une des fêtes chrétiennes les plus importantes célébrant la naissance de Jésus de Nazareth, fils de Dieu. Le réveillon de Noël, la soirée du 24 décembre, est l’occasion d’organiser un repas festif en famille et, pour les chrétiens pratiquants, l’occasion de se rendre à la messe de minuit.

Une fête religieuse

marche-noel-168949Au Luxembourg, la majorité de la population est catholique. Pour fêter Noël, les pratiquants vont à la messe, soit à la messe de minuit (Metten) le 24 décembre, soit à la messe de Noël le 25 décembre. Une messe de minuit particulièrement belle est célébrée tous les ans à la cathédrale Notre-Dame de Luxembourg. Pour des raisons pratiques, des messes sont également célébrées en début de soirée du 24 décembre.

Dans de nombreux villages, on peut en outre admirer le Krëppespill (scènes de la nativité) joué par les enfants.

Une fête familiale

Mais Noël est avant tout une fête familiale, caractérisée notamment par de grands regroupements familiaux autour de repas copieux.

Autrefois, de nombreux Luxembourgeois mangeaient, après la messe de minuit, des Träipen (boudins noirs) à la purée de pommes de terre et à la compote de pommes. Aujourd’hui, les repas sont souvent un peu moins typiques: dinde, fondue, fruits de mer, bûche de Noël, Stollen, … . De nombreux plats typiquement luxembourgeois sont toutefois consommés autour de Noël, comme les Gromperekichelcher (galettes de pommes de terre), les Boxemännercher (bonhomme brioché), le Glühwäin (vin chaud) ou le Egg Nogg (boisson au lait sucré, à la crème fraîche, à la vanille et au rhum).

Selon une étude réalisée annuellement, les Luxembourgeois dépensent autour de 700 euros pour les fêtes de fin d’année.

Pour les petits Luxembourgeois, ce n’est pas le père Noël qui apporte les cadeaux, mais le Chrëschtkëndchen (l’enfant Jésus). Par contre, le Kleeschen (Saint-Nicolas) apporte des cadeaux le 6 décembre. Dans certaines familles, les cadeaux sont ouverts à l’occasion du réveillon de Noël, dans d’autres, le premier jour de Noël (25 décembre).

Les cadeaux sont mis sous le sapin de Noël, installé dans la plupart des foyers luxembourgeois.

Le temps de l’Avent et les préparatifs pour Noël

De nombreux marchés de Noël, cortèges, crèches, rues illuminées, magasins décorés, concerts et autres animations créent une ambiance magique de fête dans tout le pays. La Ville de Luxembourg, par exemple, organise annuellement une ambiance d'hiver en fête avec "Winterlights", thème fédérateur de toute une série de festivités d'Avent: Christmas Parade, marchés de Noël, concerts publics, expositions et manifestations diverses.

noel-calendrier-170151Les semaines précédant Noël, des fêtes de Noël sont célébrées dans les crèches, les écoles fondamentales, les foyers pour personnes âgées, les clubs sportifs... . Des concerts de Noël sont donnés dans les églises, les écoles et sur les marchés de Noël.

A l’école fondamentale et dans les chorales enfantines, les enfants apprennent des chants de Noël pendant des semaines. Dans les familles, préparer des biscuits de Noël fait particulièrement plaisir aux enfants et la maison est décorée selon les traditions propres à chaque famille.

Bon nombre de sapins de Noël décorent les foyers déjà 2 à 3 semaines avant Noël. Dans certains villages, les guides et scouts viennent chercher les sapins de Noël au courant de la première semaine du nouvel an. Ils leur serviront de matériel combustible à l’occasion du Buergbrennen.

Le 1er dimanche de l’Avent, la première bougie de la couronne de l’Avent (Adventskranz) est allumée. En effet, la majorité des foyers fabrique ou achète une couronne de l’Avent, faite de branches de sapin, de pin, de houx ou parfois de gui, et ornée de 4 bougies. Chaque dimanche de l’Avent, une bougie supplémentaire doit être allumée.

Les enfants, quant à eux, patientent jusqu’à Noël en ouvrant chaque jour, du 1er au 24 décembre, une case de leur calendrier de l'Avent. A l'origine, ces calendriers contenaient des images pieuses, remplacées aujourd’hui par des biscuits, des chocolats ou des petits jouets.

Et quand à toute cette ambiance s’ajoute encore un paysage enneigé, Noël ne peut être que parfait aux yeux des Luxembourgeois.

Jours fériés et vacances scolaires

Noël représente une des fêtes les plus importantes pour de nombreux Luxembourgeois. Le 25 décembre (Chrëschtdag) et le 26 décembre, Stiefesdag (Saint-Etienne), sont des jours fériés légaux.

La plupart des magasins, les banques et entreprises ferment au cours de l’après-midi du 24 décembre et restent fermés les 25 et 26 décembre. Les enfants de l’enseignement fondamental et secondaire bénéficient quant à eux de 2 semaines de vacances scolaires.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015