Oktav (April and May)

The most important pilgrimage in the Grand Duchy

Final procession of the Oktave - grand ducal family
Jean-Paul Kieffer / SIP
The Oktav, celebrated in honour of the Virgin Mary, is the main religious event of the year. Over the period of a fortnight, usually during the second half of April, parishioners from all over the country, as well as from the Eifel in Germany, the Belgian province of Luxembourg and France’s Lorraine region, embark on a pilgrimage to Luxembourg’s capital. This tradition dates back to 1666, when the provincial council of the time chose the Virgin Mary as the country’s patron saint and Consoler of the Afflicted ('consolatrix afflictorum'), to protect the people from an outbreak of the plague. The origin of the statue of Mary, carved from dark wood, has not been historically established. What is known is that in 1666 the Jesuits transferred it from the old Glacis chapel to what was then the Jesuit church, which has since become the cathedral church of the diocese. During the period of the Oktav, the statue stands on a special votive altar in the central choir.

The pilgrims arrive at the outskirts of the city, where they form processions that make their way to the Cathedral while praying. Over the fortnight of the Oktav, different parishes and various organisations celebrate their own masses. The 'Oktavsmäertchen' held on the Knuedler (Place Guillaume II) is a small market closely linked to religious tradition. After the visit to the Cathedral, pilgrims can head to the market to enjoy a drink or some food and to buy a souvenir among the various ornaments and articles on offer.

The end of the Oktav is marked by a final solemn procession, during which the statue of the Virgin Mary is carried through the capital’s streets. Believers forming the procession are joined by members of the grand ducal family, representatives of the government, parliament, the courts of justice and other public institutions.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. 'Traditions and festivals' in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Information and Press Service. 2007.)

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Oktav (avril et mai)

Le plus important pèlerinage du Grand-Duché

octave-procession-135808L’Oktav, célébrée en hommage à la Mère de Dieu, est l’événement religieux le plus important de l’année. Pendant quinze jours, vers la seconde moitié du mois d’avril, les paroisses du pays ainsi que les croyants de la région allemande de l’Eifel, de la province de Luxembourg belge et de la Lorraine française partent en pèlerinage vers la capitale du Luxembourg. La tradition remonte à l’année 1666, lorsque le conseil provincial de l’époque élit Marie la Mère de Dieu, patronne du pays et consolatrice des affligés (consolatrix afflictorum) pour qu’elle enraye la peste qui faisait rage. L’origine de la statue de bois sombre n’est pas attestée sur le plan historique. On sait seulement que ce furent les pères jésuites qui durant cette année transférèrent la statue de l’ancienne chapelle des Glacis vers l’église jésuite de l’époque, aujourd’hui devenue la cathédrale du diocèse. Pendant l’Oktav, l’effigie est placée dans le chœur central, sur un autel votif spécial.

Les pèlerins arrivent à la périphérie de la ville, puis ils forment des processions qui se rendent en priant à la cathédrale où, durant quinze jours, les paroisses et certaines organisations célèbrent leurs messes. L’Oktavsmäertchen organisé au Knuedler (place Guillaume II) est un petit marché étroitement associé à la tradition religieuse. Après la visite de la cathédrale, les pèlerins peuvent y trouver de quoi se rafraîchir, se sustenter et acheter un petit cadeau parmi les divers bibelots et jouets présentés.

La fin de l’Oktav est marquée par la procession solennelle finale au cours de laquelle la statue de Marie est portée à travers les rues de la capitale. Outre les croyants, s’y joignent aussi les représentants de la maison grand-ducale, du gouvernement, de la Chambre des députés, de la justice et d’autres institutions de la vie publique.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. "Traditions et fêtes" dans: Lëtzebuerg. Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Service information et presse. 2007.)

  • Mis à jour le 01-08-2017