Schueberfouer (August and September)

The biggest funfair in the Grand Duchy and the Greater Region

The Schueberfouer dates back to 1340; it is the biggest funfair in the Grand Duchy and the Greater Region. Each year, in late August and early September, nearly two million people visit the 4-hectare funfair on the Glacis, where nearly 3.5km of funfair rides and other attractions are on offer. A unique mix in Europe of 200 attractions, including 25 gigantic high-adrenalin rides, more than a dozen attractions for young children, nearly as many restaurants and a host of brasseries, sweets stalls, lotteries, shooting ranges, etc. It's a must!

Merry-go-round at the Schueberfouer
Christof Weber / SIP
What is now a funfair was originally a market, but no-one really knows how it got its name: perhaps from the old name for the Plateau du Saint-Esprit, the Schadebourg, where it used to be held, or from the word 'Schober' (literally; stack), since the fair was held on St Bartholomew's Day, at harvest-time. The 'Schueberfouer' (or 'Fouer') was founded in 1340 by John I of Luxembourg (called John the Blind), Count of Luxembourg and King of Bohemia. That is why the fair’s stallkeepers erected a monument in his honour in the nearby municipal park.

In bygone days, the market, where cattle and all sorts of other things were sold, used to last eight days. Nowadays, the fair normally lasts for three weeks around St Bartholomew's Day (23 August). Over the years, the market has gradually turned into an entertaining funfair or 'Kiermes', with the cathedral’s patronal festival taking place during the 'Fouerzäit'.

Today, the Fouer is held on the Glacis car park in Limpertsberg. It hosts a funfair boasting every kind of ride: switchback rides, ghost trains, ferris wheels, tip-up rides, and many more. Small stallholders can still be found lining the Allée Scheffer, where all sorts of items can be purchased, from nougat to grilled almonds, from Central African ebony sculptures to whisks, to magic tin-openers, to old CDs.

Like at any funfair, food and drink take centre stage, and one specialty deserves a particular mention: 'Fouerfësch' is whiting cooked in brewer’s yeast, traditionally eaten with chips and washed down with a beer or a glass of dry Moselle wine.

Ferris wheel at the Schueberfouer
Office national du Tourisme, ONT
A word about the 'Hämmelsmarsch': early on the Sunday morning of 'Kiermes'-Day, musicians wearing the blue smocks of 19th-century farmers make their way through the streets of the capital, playing their instruments as they follow a shepherd and a little flock of beribboned sheep. As money is collected, the same tune is played over and over again — the 'Hämmelsmarsch', an old popular tune for which the Grand Duchy's poet Michel Lentz wrote lyrics. The march can also be sung.

And of course the shepherd, his sheep and the musicians all attend the ceremony when the mayor declares the Fouer open. The ceremony is followed by an inaugural tour of the fairground by the country’s politicians, both present and aspiring, as they mingle with the crowds. This concludes over a platter of 'Kiermesham' (ham) and 'Kiermeskuch' (cake) at one or other of the Fouer stalls.

Despite all the hype and entertainment, there is also a melancholy feel to the Fouer. When in early September, the rides start being taken down and the steel skeleton of the traditional ferris wheel starts to unravel in the city’s skyline, the sad truth always dawns that summer is drawing to an end. And by the last day of the Schueberfouer, when the Freedefeier(closing fireworks) fill the night sky, the swallows can already be seen gathering on the overhead wires.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. 'Traditions and festivals' in: Lëtzebuerg. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Information and Press Service. 2007.)

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Schueberfouer (août et septembre)

La plus grande fête foraine du Grand-Duché et de la Grande Région

Fondée en 1340, la Schueberfouer est la plus grande fête foraine du Luxembourg et de la Grande Région. Elle accueille chaque année de fin août à début septembre plus de 2 millions de visiteurs sur les 4 hectares du champ du Glacis, où les métiers forains se déploient sur près de 3,5 km de longueur. Un mélange unique en Europe de 200 attractions dont 25 grands métiers et manèges à sensations, plus de 12 attractions pour enfants, une douzaine de grands restaurants, une multitude de brasseries, confiseries, loteries, tirs... Un must!

Carrousel à la SchueberfouerOn ne sait pas vraiment d’où vient le nom de cet ancien marché aujourd’hui reconverti en foire: peut-être de l’ancien plateau du Saint-Esprit, le Schadebourg, où il se déroulait autrefois, ou du terme Schober lié au fait que la foire avait lieu le jour de la Saint- Barthélemy, c’est-à-dire au moment de la moisson. La Schueberfouer (ou Fouer) fut fondée en 1340 par Jean Ier de Luxembourg, dit l’Aveugle, comte de Luxembourg et roi de Bohême. Pour cette raison, les forains lui ont érigé un monument dans le parc municipal proche.

L’ancien marché, sur lequel se vendaient du bétail ainsi que toutes sortes de choses, durait huit jours. Aujourd’hui, il dure en général trois semaines groupées autour de la Saint-Barthélemy, le 23 août. Au fil du temps, le marché s’est de plus en plus transformé en une manifestation divertissante, une kermesse, car la fête patronale de la cathédrale a lieu pendant le Fouerzäit.

Aujourd’hui, la Fouer a trouvé sa place sur le parking du Glacis au Limpertsberg. Elle s’ouvre sur un parc d’attractions abritant tous les manèges possibles: montagnes russes, trains fantômes, grandes roues, manèges renversants et bien d’autres. Les petits étals des marchands persistent à peupler l’allée Scheffer où l’on peut faire toutes sortes de petits achats, du nougat aux amandes grillées, en passant par des sculptures en ébène d’Afrique noire, des batteurs à main et des ouvre-boîtes fabuleux aux CD déjà passés de mode.

Comme toujours lors des kermesses, le boire et le manger ont leur importance et en particulier une spécialité, le Fouerfësch, un merlan cuit dans de la levure de bière qui se doit d’être accompagné de frites, d’une bière ou d’un petit vin sec de la Moselle.

fouer_176714Evoquons à présent le Hämmelsmarsch: tôt le dimanche matin de la kermesse, les musiciens parcourent les rues de la ville, revêtus de la blouse bleue des paysans du XIXe siècle et marchent en soufflant dans leurs instruments derrière un berger et quelques moutons enrubannés. Une seule marche est jouée pour collecter de l’argent, le Hämmelsmarsch, une mélodie populaire ancienne dont le poète national Michel Lentz a écrit le texte. Cette marche peut également être chantée.

Il va de soi que les bergers, les moutons et les musiciens participent à l’ouverture de la Fouer, laquelle est prononcée par le maire. C’est ensuite au tour des politiciens et de ceux qui souhaitent le devenir d’effectuer une tournée officielle, un bain de foule de circonstance. Il se termine dans une échoppe de la Fouer autour du Kiermesham (jambon) et du Kiermeskuch (gâteau).

Au-delà de toute cette animation, la Fouer dispense aussi sa touche mélancolique. Lorsque l’on commence à démonter les manèges début septembre et que, de jour en jour, le squelette d’acier de la traditionnelle grande roue se détache dans le ciel de la ville, chacun sait que l’été prend congé. Et lorsque le dernier jour de la Schueberfouer, le Freedefeier (feu d’artifice) est tiré, les hirondelles sont déjà rassemblées sur les câbles électriques.

(Source: BRAUN, Josy. "Traditions et fêtes" dans: Lëtzebuerg. Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. Service information et presse. 2007.)

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015