Luxembourg's cuisine

Cuisine that is both, straightforward and international

Luxembourg's cuisine is straightforward because the culinary originality of a country is closely linked to its geographical conditions, its history, its social structure, its mentality, and the attitude of the individuals that make up that country.

This is why many recipes are related to the farming community lifestyle that was typical in the Grand Duchy for centuries.

Luxembourg's cuisine is international because the many foreign influences on the country have left their mark on Luxembourg's dishes: centuries of foreign domination (15th to 19th centuries), followed by successive waves of European immigration (from the 19th century onwards).

Today, Luxembourgish specialities do not confine themselves to the traditional recipes of yesteryear.

There is a rediscovery of the traditional cuisine, the dishes of which were for years thought to be too heavy. Many chefs in some of the finest restaurants remember recipes from their grandmother, which, once slightly adapted, and above all made lighter, are suitable to the tastes of our time.

As a result, modern menus list an increasing number of traditional Luxembourg dishes such as 'Judd mat Gaardebounden' (neck of pork with broad beans), 'Träipen' (fried blood sausage) with apple sauce and 'écrevisses à la luxembourgeoise' (crayfish).

In restaurants throughout the country, gourmands and gourmets will be able to discover many international dishes and delicious local recipes that true connoisseurs will pair with a dry white Luxembourgish wine from the Moselle region or a flavoursome local beer.

Luxembourgish dishes

  • 'Bouneschlupp': green bean soup, to which carrots, onions, leeks, celery, potatoes, milk or cream and smoked bacon can be added;
  • 'Judd mat Gaardebounen': smoked neck of pork with broad beans;
  • 'Kuddelfleck': tripe served breaded or with a spicy tomato sauce;
  • 'Stäerzelen': a dish made of buckwheat flour with smoked bacon and sometimes cream;
  • 'Friture': small fried fish from Luxembourg's part of the Moselle river, eaten with the fingers;

Pike in a Riesling sauce, fried fish and home-smoked ham are among the greatest culinary specialities of the Moselle valley.

The best known speciality of the Luxembourg Ardennes is Ardennes ham, which is served almost everywhere with bread as 'Hameschmier'.

  • Updated 01-05-2015

Cuisine luxembourgeoise

Une cuisine simple et internationale

La cuisine luxembourgeoise est simple, car l’art culinaire d’un pays est étroitement lié aux conditions géographiques de son espace de vie, à son parcours historique, à sa structure sociale, à la mentalité et à la façon d’être des individus qui le composent.

C’est ainsi que de nombreuses recettes sont liées au mode de vie de ce monde agricole qu’était le Luxembourg pendant des siècles.

La cuisine luxembourgeoise est internationale puisque les nombreuses influences étrangères exercées sur le pays ont laissé des traces dans les marmites des Luxembourgeois: les siècles de dominations étrangères (XVe au XIXe siècle), ensuite les vagues de migration européennes vers le pays (à partir du XIXe siècle).

Aujourd’hui les spécialités luxembourgeoises ne se résument plus aux recettes paysannes d’antan.

On constate une redécouverte de la cuisine traditionnelle, dont les plats étaient pendant des années soupçonnés d’être trop lourds. Nombreux sont les chefs des meilleurs restaurants à se rappeler les recettes de grand-mère, lesquelles, une fois légèrement transformées et surtout allégées, conviennent au goût de notre époque.

Sur les menus modernes, on voit de plus en plus apparaître des plats luxembourgeois traditionnels comme le Judd mat Gaardebounen (collet de porc accompagné de fèves), les Träipen (boudin grillé) avec de la compote de pommes et les écrevisses à la luxembourgeoise.

Dans les restaurants du pays, les gourmands et les gourmets découvriront de nombreuses préparations internationales et de succulentes recettes locales que les vrais amateurs accompagnent d’un vin blanc sec de la Moselle luxembourgeoise ou d’une savoureuse bière du pays.

Le Luxembourg à table

  • Bouneschlupp: soupe aux haricots verts, à laquelle on peut ajouter des carottes, des oignons, des poireaux, du céléri, des pommes de terre, du lait ou de la crème ainsi que du lard fumé;
  • Judd mat Gaardebounen: collet de porc fumé aux fèves des marais;
  • Kuddelfleck: tripes servies panées ou avec une sauce tomate piquante;
  • Stäerzelen: plat à base de farine de sarrasin avec du lard fumé et parfois de la crème;
  • Fritür: petits poissons frits de la Moselle luxembourgeoise que l’on mange avec les mains;

Le brochet à la sauce Riesling, les fritures de poissons et le jambon artisanal font partie des plus grandes spécialités culinaires de la vallée de la Moselle.

La spécialité la plus connue des Ardennes luxembourgeoises est le jambon d’Ardenne, servi presque partout avec du pain sous le nom de Hameschmier.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015