The emergence of the Grand Duchy in its current shape (1839)

On paper, Luxembourg became a state distinct from the Netherlands in 1815. In reality, however, William I made no such distinction. He governed the Grand Duchy as though it were the 18th province of his kingdom.

The Dutch fundamental law was applied to Luxembourg, Luxembourg delegates sat in Dutch institutions and Dutch was taught at school. While the Luxembourg people did not oppose this, the economic and in particular fiscal policies of the Dutch regime gave rise to a growing discontent among the population.

It was not surprising therefore that, when the Belgian Revolution started in 1830, the inhabitants of the Grand Duchy joined the Belgian insurgents. A great number of Luxembourg volunteers left for Brussels to join the army of the patriots. Following Belgium’s declaration of independence on 4 October 1830, several Luxembourg representatives sat in the constituent assembly, and later in the institutions of the young Belgian state. Only the capital of the Grand Duchy remained under Dutch control, since it was protected by the Prussian garrison.

Keen to extinguish the revolutionary fire, the great powers decided to separate the Belgians and the Dutch by creating the Kingdom of Belgium, while dividing the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg between the two adversaries (Treaty of the Twenty-Four Articles dated 14 October 1831). The Belgian parliament accepted this decision, while William I refused to do so.

During the following eight years, the Grand Duchy had a double administration. The power of the Dutch was limited to the fortress-city, while the rest of the country was under Belgian authority.

Eventually, William I agreed to the decision of the great powers. The Treaty of London of 28 April 1839 imposed the division. Henceforth, there were two Luxembourgs:

  • the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, which remained under the rule of the Orange-Nassau,
  • and Belgian Luxembourg, which became a province of Belgium.

The dividing line more or less followed the linguistic border, except in the region of Arlon. The treaty of 1839 defined the borders of the Grand Duchy, which have not changed since.

(Source: About... History of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg)

  • Updated 28-04-2015

L'apparition du Grand-Duché dans sa forme actuelle (1839)

Sur le papier, le Luxembourg devient en 1815 un Etat distinct des Pays-Bas. Dans la réalité cependant, Guillaume Ier ne fait pas de distinction. Il gouverne le Grand-Duché comme s’il s’agissait de la 18e province de son royaume.

La Loi fondamentale hollandaise est étendue au Luxembourg, des députés luxembourgeois siègent dans les institutions hollandaises et le néerlandais est enseigné à l’école. Les Luxembourgeois ne s’y opposent pas, mais la politique économique et surtout fiscale du régime hollandais suscite un mécontentement grandissant parmi la population.

Aussi n’est-il pas étonnant que lorsque la Révolution belge éclate en 1830, les habitants du Grand-Duché se joignent aux insurgés belges. Bon nombre de volontaires luxembourgeois partent à Bruxelles s’engager dans l’armée des patriotes. Après la proclamation de l’indépendance de la Belgique le 4 octobre 1830, plusieurs représentants luxembourgeois siègent dans l’assemblée constituante, puis dans les institutions du jeune Etat belge. Seule la capitale du Grand-Duché reste sous contrôle hollandais, car protégée par la garnison prussienne.

Les grandes puissances, qui ont hâte d’éteindre le foyer révolutionnaire, décident de séparer Belges et Néerlandais en créant le royaume de Belgique, tout en partageant le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg entre les deux antagonistes (traité des XXIV articles du 14 octobre 1831). Le Parlement belge accepte, Guillaume Ier refuse.

Pendant huit ans, le Grand-Duché va continuer à vivre sous une double administration: le pouvoir orangiste est limité à la ville-forteresse, tandis que le reste du pays demeure sous autorité belge.

Finalement, Guillaume Ier se rallie à la décision des grandes puissances. Le traité de Londres du 28 avril 1839 impose le partage. Il y a désormais deux Luxembourg:

  • le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg qui demeure sous la souveraineté des Orange-Nassau,
  • et le Luxembourg belge qui forme une province de la Belgique.

La ligne de démarcation suit plus ou moins la frontière linguistique, sauf dans la région d’Arlon. Le traité de 1839 délimite les frontières du Grand-Duché, qui n’ont plus changé depuis.

(Source: A propos... Histoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg)

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015