History

Luxembourgish was originally a Moselle Franconian dialect, and for a long time was less important than it is today. In the administration, French has had a clear preference over German since the 14th century. Whereas in everyday life, Luxembourgish remains the language spoken by the population. A law passed in 1984 defined Luxembourgish for the first time ever as the national language, but also recognised the existing trilingualism (German, French, Luxembourgish).

Key stages in the country's linguistic evolution

Multilingualism in the Grand Duchy is rooted in the historical coexistence of the Roman and Germanic ethnic groups.

The origins of the Grand Duchy's linguistic particularity go back to the Middle Ages. To understand the present situation, it is necessary to remember a number of key stages in the Grand Duchy's linguistic evolution.

The languages used by the administration

French gained ground initially under the first French occupation (Louis XIV - 1684), and subsequently as a result of the French Revolution (1789).

In the administration, French was already clearly preferred to German, continuing a tradition which designated French as the language of the administration in the 14th century. Under the reign of the Habsburgs (15th to 18th centuries), neither the Spanish nor the Austrians questioned the preferential use of French as the official and administrative language.

The Napoleonic Code was introduced in 1804.

German was used as the written language in the political sphere to comment on laws and ordinances so that these texts could be understood by all.

Languages taught

Before 1843, all primary schooling was carried out in German; French was added at secondary school.

The 1839 Treaty of London, which gave the Grand Duchy its autonomy, did not change linguistic practices. The Law of 26 July 1843 reinforced bilingualism substantially by introducing the teaching of French at primary school.

Luxembourgish began to be taught in schools, at the primary level, in 1912.

The 1984 Languages Law

The 1984 Languages Law elevated Luxembourgish to the rank of national language of the Grand Duchy.

Prior to 1984, the official use of languages was based on Grand Ducal Decrees dating back to 1830, 1832 and 1834 which allowed free choice between French and German.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Historique

Un dialecte francique-mosellan à l’origine, le luxembourgeois a revêtu longtemps une position moins importante qu’à l’heure actuelle. Dans l'administration, le français est nettement préféré à l'allemand à partir du XIVe siècle. Tandis que dans la vie quotidienne, le luxembourgeois demeure la langue parlée par les habitants. Pour la première fois, une loi définit le luxembourgeois en 1984 comme langue nationale tout en reconnaissant le trilinguisme existant - allemand, français, luxembourgeois.

Etapes clés de l'évolution linguistique du pays

Le multilinguisme du Luxembourg est issu de la coexistence historique de deux groupes ethniques, l’un roman et l’autre germanique.

Les origines de la spécificité linguistique du Luxembourg remontent au Moyen Âge. Pour comprendre la situation actuelle, il est indispensable de rappeler quelques étapes clés de l'évolution linguistique du pays.

Les langues de l'administration

Sous la première occupation française par le roi Louis XIV (1684), puis sous l'impact de la Révolution française (1789), le français gagne du terrain.

Dans l’administration, le français était déjà très nettement préféré à l’allemand, poursuivant ainsi une tradition au sein de laquelle le français avait été désigné comme langue de l’administration au XIVe siècle. Sous le règne des Habsbourg (XVe au XVIIIe siècles), ni les Espagnols ni les Autrichiens n’ont remis en question l’usage privilégié du français comme langue officielle et administrative.

Le code Napoléon est introduit en 1804.

L’allemand était utilisé comme langue écrite dans le domaine politique pour commenter les lois et les ordonnances afin de rendre ces textes compréhensibles à tout le monde.

Les langues enseignées

Avant 1843, l’enseignement à l’école primaire se limitait à l’allemand, tandis qu’on ajoutait le français à l’enseignement secondaire.

Le traité de Londres de 1839, qui a permis au Luxembourg d’acquérir son autonomie, n’a pas modifié la pratique linguistique. La loi du 26 juillet 1843 renforça sensiblement le bilinguisme en introduisant l’enseignement du français à l’école primaire.

L'enseignement du luxembourgeois a été introduit à l’école primaire à partir de 1912.

Loi sur le régime des langues de 1984

La loi sur le régime des langues de 1984 promeut le luxembourgeois au rang de langue nationale du Grand-Duché.

Jusqu’en 1984, l’usage officiel des langues se fondait sur des arrêtés grand-ducaux de 1830, 1832 et 1834 qui consacraient le libre choix entre l’allemand et le français.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015