Institutions promoting Luxembourgish

These are the main public institutions which work to promote Luxembourgish, whether by teaching, research, or documentation.

University of Luxembourg

The University of Luxembourg includes Luxembourgish studies among its research priorities. These studies cover consideration of not only Luxembourgish language and literature but also identity, history, migration, regional planning, geography and politics in the Grand Duchy.

The University of Luxembourg has had a chair in Luxembourgish linguistics and literature since January 2009. Master's degrees are offered in Luxembourgish language and literature.

As part of its offer of lifelong learning, the University of Luxembourg also offers a course in Luxembourgish language and culture to train teachers for Luxembourgish language classes for adults.

National Languages Institute (INL)

The National Languages Institute (Institut National des Langues, INL) is a public establishment offering courses in languages. The languages taught include Luxembourgish. The INL serves as the national certification centre for diplomas and certificates in Luxembourgish.

  • 'Diplom Lëtzebuergesch als Friemsprooch' (diploma Luxembourgish as a foreign language)
  • Passing the 'Sprochentest Lëtzebuergesch' (Luxembourgish language test) is a requirement for applicants for Luxembourgish nationality

The INL also offers a course for teachers of Luxembourgish, leading to the 'Zertifikat Lëtzebuerger Sprooch a Kultur' (certificate of Luxembourgish language and culture).

Permanent Council for the Luxembourgish Language (CPLL)

The Permanent Council for the Luxembourgish Language (Conseil Permanent de la Langue Luxembourgeoise, CPLL), founded in 1998, comprises eleven language experts and representatives of institutions related to Luxembourgish, including:

  • Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth
  • the University of Luxembourg;
  • the National Languages Institute.

Its mission includes the study, description and promotion of Luxembourgish. It also issues opinions on any subject connected with Luxembourgish.

The CPLL has two working parties:

  • The Orthography Group deals with updating and drafting coordinated texts on the orthographic rules of Luxembourgish.
  • The Grammar Group has a similar mission with regard to the grammar of Luxembourgish.

The association 'Moien – Eng Bréck fir eis Sprooch'

Founded in 2005, the association 'Moien – Eng Bréck fir eis Sprooch' aims to make Luxembourgish a bridge rather than a barrier for people living and working in the Grand Duchy. To achieve this, the association offers courses in Luxembourgish (language, spelling, grammar). The purpose of the association is:

  • to stimulate the use of Luxembourgish;
  • to create a platform for discussion on Luxembourgish;
  • to make the Grand Duchy's culture and lifestyle more accessible.

Grand Ducal Institute

The department for linguistic, ethnological and onomastic studies at the Grand Ducal Institute (Institut grand-ducal) carries out linguistic studies in general and studies on Luxembourgish in particular. It is also responsible for publishing and updating the 'Lëtzebuerger Dictionnaire' (dictionary of Luxembourgish).

National Literature Centre (CNL)

The National Centre for Literature (Centre National de Littérature, CNL) is a centre for documentary research into Luxembourgish, and a real focus for socio-cultural activities involving books and reading. The CNL's mission is to prevent the dispersal and loss of examples of Luxembourgish literature (Luxemburgensia) and to allow its scientific exploitation.

Luxembourg National Library (BnL)

The Luxembourg National Library (Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg, BnL) is the guardian of the country's printed heritage; it maintains a collection of all the publications printed and published in the Grand Duchy. It also purchases publications relating to Luxembourg or written by Luxembourgers but published abroad. Its Luxemburgensia section includes a collection of 150,000 books in Luxembourgish.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Institutions promouvant le luxembourgeois

Voici les principales institutions publiques qui oeuvrent pour la promotion de la langue luxembourgeoise, que ce soit par la voie de l’enseignement, de la recherche ou de la documentation.

Université du Luxembourg

L’Université du Luxembourg a retenu les études luxembourgeoises parmi ses priorités de recherche. Ces études englobent des réflexions sur la langue et littérature luxembourgeoise, mais aussi sur l’identité, l’histoire, la migration, l’aménagement du territoire, la géographie et les sciences politiques au Luxembourg.

Depuis janvier 2009, l’Université du Luxembourg dispose d’une chaire professorale de linguistique et de littérature luxembourgeoise. Des masters en langue et littérature luxembourgeoise sont offerts.

Dans le cadre d’une formation continue, l’Université du Luxembourg offre aussi une formation en langue et culture luxembourgeoise, qui vise à former des enseignants pour les cours de luxembourgeois pour adultes.

Institut national des langues (INL)

L’Institut national des langues (INL) est un établissement public d’enseignement de langues. Parmi les langues enseignées figure également le luxembourgeois. L’INL fait fonction de Centre national de certification pour les diplômes et certificats en langue luxembourgeoise:

  • "Diplom Lëtzebuergesch als Friemsprooch" (diplôme de luxembourgeois comme langue étrangère)
  • "Sproochentest Lëtzebuergesch", habilitant son détenteur à acquérir la nationalité luxembourgeoise

L’INL offre également une formation de formateurs de luxembourgeois menant au "Zertifikat Lëtzebuerger Sprooch a Kultur" (certificat de langue et culture luxembourgeoises).

Conseil permanent de la langue luxembourgeoise (CPLL)

Fondé en 1998, le Conseil permanent de la langue luxembourgeoise (CPLL) se compose de 11 experts linguistiques et de représentants d’institutions ayant un rapport avec la langue luxembourgeoise comme

  • le ministère de l’Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse;
  • l’Université du Luxembourg;
  • l’Institut national des langues (INL).

Parmi ses attributions figurent l’étude, la description et la promotion de la langue luxembourgeoise. Il émet également des avis sur tous les sujets en rapport avec la langue luxembourgeoise.

Le CPLL possède 2 groupes de travail:

  • Le groupe de l’orthographe s’occupe de la mise à jour et de la rédaction de textes coordonnés sur les règles orthographiques de la langue luxembourgeoise.
  • Le groupe de grammaire a des attributions semblables dans le domaine de la grammaire de la langue luxembourgeoise.

Association "Moien – Eng Bréck fir eis Sprooch"

Fondée en 2005, l'association "Moien – eng Bréck fir eis Sprooch" veut faire de la langue luxembourgeoise un pont et non une barrière pour ceux qui vivent et travaillent au Luxembourg. A cette fin, l'association propose des cours de langue luxembourgeoise (langue, orthographe, grammaire). L'association s'est fixée comme objectif:

  • de stimuler l'usage de la langue luxembourgeoise;
  • de créer une plateforme d'échanges dans le domaine de la langue luxembourgeoise;
  • de rendre plus accessible la culture et le mode de vie luxembourgeois.

Institut grand-ducal

La Section de linguistique, d'ethnologie et d'onomastique de l'Institut grand-ducal fait des études linguistiques en général et des études sur la langue luxembourgeoise en particulier. Elle est également responsable de la publication et de la mise à jour du "Lëtzebuerger Dictionnaire" (dictionnaire de la langue luxembourgeoise).

Centre national de littérature (CNL)

Le Centre national de littérature (CNL) est un centre de recherche documentaire pour la langue luxembourgeoise et un véritable centre d’animation socioculturelle autour du livre et de la lecture. La mission du CNL est d’éviter la dispersion et la perte de témoignages de la littérature luxembourgeoise (Luxemburgensia) et d’en permettre l’exploitation scientifique.

Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg (BNL)

La Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg (BNL) est la gardienne du patrimoine imprimé luxembourgeois et collectionne toutes les publications imprimées et éditées au Luxembourg. En outre, elle achète les publications qui se rapportent au Luxembourg, ou dont l’auteur est luxembourgeois, et qui sont éditées à l’étranger. Elle possède une collection de 150.000 titres en langue luxembourgeoise dans la rubrique Luxemburgensia.

  • Mis à jour le 24-04-2015