Lëtzebuergesch - the national language

Lëtzebuergesch (Luxembourgish) — a Moselle Franconian dialect — is the mother tongue of most Luxembourgers. The 1984 Languages Law bestowed on it the status of national language. Luxembourgish is also one of the administrative languages, on a par with French and German.

According to the provisions of the Languages Law of 1984, the three languages of the Grand Duchy — Luxembourgish, French and German — are the languages used in administration and the judiciary system.

This parity is somewhat moderated by a provision in the law (Article 3), according to which the three languages are to be used 'as far as possible'. French nevertheless remains the language of legislation (Article 2), since the latter is based on the French Napoleonic Code.

The law therefore maintains the historic importance of both, German and French. And by maintaining the historic importance of 'foreign' languages, the Grand Duchy continues to stand as a meeting place.

This trilingualismmakes it easier for foreigners to integrate, as they are able to live in the Grand Duchy using French or German. It thus represents the openness of the Grand Duchy to the outside world.

Although French has developed into the lingua franca, Luxembourgish is still the language of integration.

The Grand Ducal Regulation of 30 July1999 reformed official spelling in Luxembourgish.

As well as in the Grand Duchy, Luxembourgish is also spoken in the eastern part of the province of Luxembourg (Belgium), the north-west of the Moselle département (France), and along the border between the Grand Duchy and Germany.

  • Updated 06-05-2015

Lëtzebuergesch – la langue nationale

Le Lëtzebuergesch, un dialecte francique-mosellan, est la langue maternelle de la plupart des Luxembourgeois. Depuis 1984, la loi sur le régime des langues lui donne le statut de langue nationale. Le luxembourgeois est aussi une des langues administratives au même titre que le français et l’allemand.

La loi sur le régime des langues de 1984 reconnaît les 3 langues du Luxembourg - le luxembourgeois, le français et l’allemand - comme des langues administratives et judiciaires.

Cette parité est légèrement nuancée dans une disposition de cette loi (article 3) qui mentionne que les administrés doivent se servir des trois langues "dans la mesure du possible". Il faut admettre que le français demeure la langue de la législation (article 2), car celle-ci s’appuie à l’origine sur le code Napoléon.

L'importance historique de l'allemand et du français a donc été maintenue par cette même loi. En maintenant l'importance historique des langues "étrangères", le Luxembourg reste le symbole d’une terre de rencontre.

En effet, le trilinguisme implique aussi une intégration plus aisée des étrangers, qui peuvent vivre au Luxembourg en parlant le français ou l’allemand. Il représente ainsi l'ouverture vers l’extérieur du Luxembourg.

Même si le français est entre-temps devenu la lingua franca, la langue d’intégration reste toujours le Lëtzebuergesch.

Le règlement grand-ducal du 30 juillet 1999 porte réforme du système officiel d'orthographe luxembourgeoise.

A part le Grand-Duché, le luxembourgeois est parlé à l'est de la province de Luxembourg (Belgique), au nord-ouest du département de la Moselle (France) et le long de la frontière germano-luxembourgeoise.

  • Mis à jour le 05-05-2015