Official Development Assistance (ODA)

Since 2009, Luxembourg has been part of the group of countries being most active in the field of Official Development Assistance, attributing 1% of its GNI to this end.

Since the adhesion of Luxembourg to the OECD’s Development Assistance Committee (DAC) in 1992, the Grand Duchy’s development cooperation policy has undergone significant change, both in terms of funds made available to it and with regard to its organisational and qualitative aspects.

The volume of Official Development Assistance (ODA) has substantially and regularly increased in the last year. The resolution 2626, adopted on 24 March 1970 by the United Nations, recommends countries to dedicate 0.7% of their gross national income (GNI) to cooperation with developing countries.

Luxembourg has committed even more than the 0.7% of its gross national income to development cooperation.

The country is thus one of the few countries to meet the commitments made by the European ministers in May 2005, under the Luxembourg Presidency, on ODA levels to be attained in 2010 (0.56%) and 2015 (0.70% ).

Already in 2000 Luxembourg reached the threshold of 0.7% of gross national income spent on ODA.

Since 2009, Luxembourg has been part of the group of countries being most active in the field of Official Development Assistance, attributing 1% of its GNI to this end.

The table below shows the steady increase in official development assistance of Luxembourg:

(Source: annual report 2013 on Luxembourg ODA)

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Aide publique au développement (APD)

Depuis 2009, le Luxembourg se situe parmi les pays les plus actifs dans le domaine de l'aide publique au développement, octroyant 1% de son RNB à la coopération.

Depuis l’adhésion du Luxembourg au Comité d’aide au développement (CAD) de l’OCDE en 1992, la politique de coopération au développement luxembourgeoise a connu une évolution substantielle aussi bien pour ce qui est des fonds mis à sa disposition que de ses aspects organisationnels et qualitatifs.

Le volume de l’aide publique au développement (APD) a connu ces dernières années une augmentation régulière et substantielle. La résolution 2626, adoptée le 24 mars 1970 par les Nations unies, recommande en effet aux états de consacrer 0,7% du revenu national brut (RNB) à la coopération avec les pays en développement.

Le Luxembourg s'est engagé à consacrer même plus que ces 0,7% du revenu national brut à la coopération au développement.

Le pays compte ainsi parmi les rares pays à respecter les engagements pris par les ministres européens en mai 2005, sous présidence luxembourgeoise, en matière de niveaux d'APD à atteindre en 2010 (0,56%) et en 2015 (0,70%).

C'est en 2000 que le Luxembourg a atteint le seuil de 0,7% du revenu national brut consacré à l'aide publique au développement.

Depuis 2009, le Luxembourg se situe parmi les pays les plus actifs dans le domaine, octroyant 1% de son RNB à la coopération.

Le tableau ci-dessous illustre la constante augmentation de l’aide publique au développement du Luxembourg:

(Source: rapport annuel 2013 de la coopération luxembourgeoise au développement)

  • Mis à jour le 28-02-2018