Luxembourg in the Heart of the Greater Region

The Greater Region is located in the heart of Europe, on the road and railroad axis that links the Mediterranean region to the North Sea. It is home to some 11.5 million people (comparable to the population of Belgium or Greece) and spans 65,500km2 of land (about the size of Lithuania).

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is the only sovereign state of this Greater Region, which includes:

  • Lorraine in France;
  • Saarland and Rhineland-Palatinate in Germany;
  • the Walloon Region and the French and German-speaking communities of Belgium;
  • Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Luxembourg's population only accounts for 4.8% of the total population of this cross-border space, but boasts the most dynamic growth. Also, when it comes to employment, the Grand Duchy can be said to be the powerhouse of the Greater Region.

Discover this unique cross-border space on the portal www.granderegion.net, which contains exhaustive information about the development of the Greater Region, its population, its culture, education and employment.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Le Luxembourg au coeur de la Grande Région

La Grande Région se situe au centre de l’Europe sur l’axe routière et ferroviaire qui relie les pays méditerranéens avec la mer du Nord. Elle compte 11,5 millions d’habitants (comparable à la Belgique ou à la Grèce) et 65.500 km2 de superficie (comme la Lituanie).

Le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg est le seul Etat souverain de cette Grande Région qui regroupe:

  • la Lorraine en France;
  • la Sarre et la Rhénanie-Palatinat en Allemagne;
  • la Région wallonne et les Communautés française et germanophone de Belgique;
  • le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

La population du Luxembourg ne représente que 4,8% de la population de cet espace transfrontalier, mais affiche la croissance la plus dynamique. Aussi au niveau de l'emploi le Grand-Duché peut être qualifié de véritable moteur de la Grande Région.

Découvrez cet espace transfrontalier unique sur le portail www.granderegion.net qui offre des informations exhaustives sur l’historique de la Grande Région, sa population, sa culture, l’enseignement et l’emploi!

  • Mis à jour le 16-04-2015