Luxembourgers in European Institutions

As a founding member of the European Union, Luxembourg has a role to play in Europe and in the world. From the first days of the existence of the European institutions, Luxembourgers have assumed important tasks. You will find details here of Luxembourg's current representatives in the European institutions.

European Parliament

At the European Parliament, Luxembourg is represented by six MEPs.

European Commission

Within the European Commission, Luxembourg is entitled to one Commissioner of Luxembourg nationality.

Jean-Claude Juncker, former Prime Minister of Luxembourg and former leader of the Eurogroup, became president of the European Commission on 1 November 2014. He is the first president of the European Commission to be elected to the post by the European Parliament. Juncker's term of office runs until 2019; he is the third Luxembourger to preside the European Commission, after Gaston Thorn and Jacques Santer.

Earlier, Viviane Reding was a member of the European Commission from 1999 to 2014. In February 2010 she became vice-president of the European Commission, with responsibility for Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. She is currently an MEP.

In the past, two Luxembourgers have been presidents of the European Commission: Gaston Thorn and Jacques Santer.

During his term in office as head of the EU executive (6 January 1981 to 5 January 1985), Gaston Thorn was particularly involved in the negotiations on the second enlargement of the Community to include Spain and Portugal.

While Jacques Santer was its president (23 January 1995 to 15 September 1999), the European Commission made progress on a number of European issues, such as the introduction of the euro, the enlargement of the EU to include countries in Central and Eastern Europe, and employment policy.

Council of the European Union

The current president of the European Commission, Luxembourg's former Prime Minister Jean-Claude Juncker, headed the euro area from 2005 to 2013. Jean-Claude Juncker was the first permanent president of the Eurogroup, a body that brings together the Finance Ministers of the member countries of the euro area. His first term of office ran from 1 January 2005 to 31 December 2006. At the Eurogroup meeting in Helsinki on 8 September 2006, he was reappointed to the presidency for a term of two years, ending on 31 December 2008. In Brussels on 18 January 2010, his term of office was once again renewed for a further two and a half years. Kept in office in July 2012, Jean-Claude Juncker began his fourth term, but ended it on 21 January 2013.

Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU)

Luxembourg's member of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) is François Biltgen; he has been a judge at the Court of Justice since 7 October 2013. The Court of Justice is composed of 27 judges and eight advocates general.

Marc Jaeger has been president of the General Court of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) since 17 September 2007. Before becoming its president, he had been a judge at the General Court since 1996.

Established in 1987, the General Court is one of the three jurisdictions of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU). It handles appeals by the member States against the European Commission and against certain acts of the Council, as well as appeals addressed to it by both natural and legal persons. The General Court is made up of at least one judge per member State.

European Court of Auditors

Henri Grethen has been Luxembourg's member of the European Court of Auditors since 1 January 2008.

European Central Bank

The president of the Luxembourg Central Bank (BCL) is a member of the Council of Governors of the European Central Bank.

Luxembourg's Yves Mersch began his eight-year term of office as a member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank on 15 December 2012.

European Economic and Social Committee

Luxembourg has six representatives at the European Economic and Social Committee.

Committee of the Regions

Luxembourg has six representatives at the Committee of the Regions.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Les Luxembourgeois dans les institutions européennes

En tant que membre fondateur de l'Union européenne, le Luxembourg a su assumer son rôle en Europe et dans le monde. Dès les premiers jours de l'existence des institutions européennes, les Luxembourgeois ont assumé des tâches importantes dans celles-ci. Trouvez ici les représentants luxembourgeois actuels dans les institutions européennes.

Parlement européen

Au Parlement européen, le Luxembourg est représenté par six députés européens.

Commission européenne

Au sein de la Commission européenne, le Luxembourg a droit à un(e) commissaire de nationalité luxembourgeoise.

Depuis le 1er novembre 2014, Jean-Claude Juncker, ancien Premier ministre luxembourgeois et ancien président de l'eurogroupe, est président de la Commission européenne. Jean-Claude Juncker est le premier président à être élu par le Parlement européen au poste de président de la Commission européenne. Juncker, qui exercera ce mandat jusqu'en 2019, est le troisième Luxembourgeois à présider la Commission européenne, après Gaston Thorn et Jacques Santer.

Avant cela, Viviane Reding a été membre de la Commission européenne de 1999 à 2014. Depuis février 2010, elle a été Vice-présidente de la Commission européenne, en charge de la Justice, des Droits fondamentaux et de la Citoyenneté. Elle est actuellement députée européenne.

Par le passé, deux Luxembourgeois ont présidé la Commission européenne: Gaston Thorn et Jacques Santer.

Au cours de son mandat à la tête de l’exécutif européen (6 janvier 1981 au 5 janvier 1985), Gaston Thorn s’est particulièrement impliqué dans les négociations relatives au deuxième élargissement des Communautés à l’Espagne et au Portugal.

La Commission placée sous la présidence de Jacques Santer (23 janvier 1995 au 15 septembre 1999) permet de faire progresser divers dossiers européens tels que l'introduction de l'euro, l'élargissement de l’Union vers les pays d’Europe centrale et orientale et la politique de l’emploi.

Conseil de l'Union européenne

L'actuel président de la Commission européenne et ancien Premier ministre luxembourgeois, Jean-Claude Juncker, a été à la tête de la zone euro de 2005 à 2013. Jean-Claude Juncker a été le premier président permanent de l’eurogroupe, organe qui réunit les ministres des Finances des pays membres de la zone euro. Il a effectué son premier mandat du 1er janvier 2005 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2006. Lors de la réunion de l’eurogroupe du 8 septembre 2006 à Helsinki, il a été reconduit dans sa fonction de président pour un mandat de deux ans s’achevant le 31 décembre 2008. A Bruxelles, il a été une nouvelle fois reconduit le 18 janvier 2010 pour un nouveau mandat de deux ans et demi. Reconduit dans sa fonction en juillet 2012, Jean-Claude Juncker a effectué un quatrième mandat qu'il a terminé le 21 janvier 2013 de sa propre initiative.

Cour de justice de l’Union européenne (CJUE)

Le membre luxembourgeois de la Cour de justice de l'Union européenne (CJUE) est François Biltgen. M. Biltgen est juge à la Cour de justice depuis le 7 octobre 2013. La Cour de justice est composée de 27 juges et de 8 avocats généraux.

Marc Jaeger est président du Tribunal de première instance de la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne (CJUE) depuis le 17 septembre 2007. Avant de devenir le président du Tribunal, il est juge au Tribunal depuis 1996.

Créé en 1987, le Tribunal est une des trois juridictions de la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne (CJUE). Il traite les recours formés par les Etats membre contre la Commission européenne et contre certains actes du Conseil, ainsi que des recours qui lui sont adressés par les personnes physiques et morales. Le Tribunal est composé d’au moins un juge par Etat membre.

Cour des comptes européenne

Le membre luxembourgeois de la Cour des comptes européenne est, depuis le 1er janvier 2008, Henri Grethen.

Banque centrale européenne

Le président de la Banque centrale du Luxembourg (BCL) fait partie du conseil des gouverneurs de la Banque centrale européenne.

Depuis le 15 décembre 2012, le Luxembourgeois Yves Mersch siège au directoire de la Banque centrale européenne pour une durée de huit ans.

Comité économique et social européen

Le Luxembourg compte six représentants au Comité économique et social européen.

Comité des régions

Le Luxembourg compte six représentants au Comité des régions.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015