Luxembourgers in International Institutions

A number of Luxembourgers occupy prestigious positions on the international scene.

As a member of major international economic, political, financial and legal institutions, Luxembourg assumes its role in Europe and in the world, furthering multilateralism and international cooperation. Luxembourgers have often held important tasks in these institutions. A number of Luxembourgers currently occupy important positions in international institutions.

Jean-Claude Juncker, president of the European Commission

The Luxembourger Jean-Claude Juncker has been president of the European Commission since 1 November 2014. Jean-Claude Juncker, former Prime Minister of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg, honorary Minister of State and former president of the Eurogroup (2000-2013), is the 13th president of the European Commission. Before him, other Luxembourgers have occupied the highest post in the European Commission: Gaston Thorn and Jacques Santer were presidents of the European Commission, from 1981 to 1985 and from 1995 to 1999 respectively.

Marc Jaeger, president of the General Court of the European Union

Since 1996 Marc Jaeger has been judge at the General Court of the European Union. He has been president of the General Court since 17 September 2007. Established in 1987, the General Court is one of the three jurisdictions of the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU). It handles appeals by the member states against the European Commission and certain acts of the Council, as well as appeals that are addressed by physical and legal persons. The General Court is made up of at least one judge per member state.

Dean Spielmann, judge at the General Court of the European Union

Since 13 April 2016 Dean Spielman has been judge at the General Court of the European Union. He is one of the new judges that have been appointed as a result of the reform of the judicial architecture of the Court of Justice of the European Union.

Yves Mersch at the Executive Board of the European Central Bank (ECB).

On 22 November 2012 the extraordinary European Council decided the appointment of Yves Mersch to the Executive Board of the European Central Bank (ECB) for a duration of 8 years. Having been president of the Luxembourg Central Bank (Banque centrale du Luxembourg, BCL) since its creation in 1998, Yves Mersch took over is new post on 15 December 2012. Thereby he succeeded Manuel González-Páramo, whose term ended on 31 May 2012.

  • Updated 08-04-2016

Les Luxembourgeois dans les institutions internationales

Plusieurs Luxembourgeois occupent des postes prestigieux sur la scène internationale

En tant que membre des principales institutions internationales dans les domaines économique, politique, financier et juridique, le Luxembourg, souscrivant au multilatéralisme et à la coopération internationale, assume son rôle en Europe et dans le monde. Les Luxembourgeois ont souvent exercé des tâches importantes dans ces institutions. Plusieurs Luxembourgeois occupent actuellement des postes de premier rang dans des institutions internationales.

Jean-Claude Juncker, président de la Commission européenne

Le Luxembourgeois Jean-Claude Juncker est président de la Commission européenne depuis le 1er novembre 2014. Ancien Premier ministre du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, ministre d’Etat honoraire et ancien président de l'Eurogroupe (2005-2013), Jean-Claude Juncker est le treizième président de la Commission européenne. Avant lui, d’autres Luxembourgeois ont occupé ce plus haut poste à la Commission européenne: Gaston Thorn et Jacques Santer ont été présidents de la Commission européenne, de 1981 à 1985, respectivement de 1995 à 1999.

Marc Jaeger, président du Tribunal de l’Union européenne

Marc Jaeger est juge au Tribunal de l’Union européenne depuis 1996. Il est président du Tribunal depuis le 17 septembre 2007. Créé en 1987, le Tribunal est une des trois juridictions de la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne (CJUE). Il traite les recours formés par les Etats membres contre la Commission européenne et contre certains actes du Conseil, ainsi que des recours qui lui sont adressés par des personnes physiques et morales. Le Tribunal est composé d’au moins un juge par Etat membre.

Dean Spielmann, juge au Tribunal de l'Union européenne

Depuis le 13 avril 2016, Dean Spielmann est juge au Tribunal de l'Union européenne. Il fait partie des nouveaux juges nommés au Tribunal suite à la réforme de l'architecture juridictionnelle de la Cour de justice de l'Union européenne.

Yves Mersch au directoire de la Banque centrale européenne (BCE)

Le Conseil européen extraordinaire a adopté le 22 novembre 2012 une décision portant nomination d’Yves Mersch au directoire de la Banque centrale européenne (BCE), pour une durée de huit ans. Président de la Banque centrale du Luxembourg depuis sa création en 1998, Yves Mersch occupe son nouveau poste depuis le 15 décembre 2012. Il a succédé à José Manuel González-Páramo, dont le mandat s'est achevé le 31 mai 2012.

  • Mis à jour le 06-04-2016