The economy and key sectors

Economic highlights

A very open economy, high growth potential, balanced macroeconomic foundations, diversified industry, international financial centre, modern infrastructures, excellent market connectivity, attractive institutional, legislative and fiscal framework

Capital of the European Union:

Luxembourg City is one of the three 'capitals' of the European Union, along with Brussels and Strasbourg. Luxembourg City is home to a number of European departments and institutions, including several departments of the European Commission (translation, publications, statistics), the European Court of Auditors, the Court of Justice of the European Union, the European Investment Bank (EIB), the European Investment Fund (EIF), the European Parliament's Secretariat, the European Financial Stability Facility (EFSF), and the European Financial Stabilisation Mechanism (EFSM).

Founding member of major international organisations:

  • Benelux, Council of Europe
  • European Union
  • NATO
  • OECD
  • United Nations
  • WTO ...

Currency

  • 1 euro (€) = 100 cents

Employment market

Unemployment rate

  • 7,1% (March 2014)

Total domestic employment*

  • 392,131 employees (March 2014); around 70% of the country’s workforce is composed of immigrants or cross-border employees.

Frontier workers

  • incoming cross-border employees *: 162 183 (March 2014)
  • outgoing resident employees*: 11,908 (March 2014)

The ratio of cross-border employees grew from 3% in 1961 to 44% in 2010; nearly one cross-border employee in two comes from France.

International agents and officials

  • 1,400 (2012)

Inflation rate

  • 1.7% (2013)

GDP (real growth rate) **

  • 2.7% (2014)

* seasonally adjusted data
** forecast

per capita GDP

82,700 EUR in 2012. This figure makes the Grand Duchy the richest country in the world, but account should be taken of the large number of cross-border workers who by definition are not included in the equation.

Great political and social stability

Faithful to the 'Luxembourg social model', the government, employers and the trade unions get together under the 'Tripartite' scheme to discuss important social and economic matters. As a result, the annual number of days of industrial action is particularly low in the Grand Duchy.

The Grand Duchy's open attitude:

The Grand Duchy is heavily dependent on other countries, both as clients for its goods and services and as suppliers of those goods and services not available on the national market.

Information society:

in 2013, 99.4% of households had a mobile phone, 94% had a computer, 95% had access to the Internet at home, and nearly 8 households in 10 had high-speed access. Almost all businesses use computers and are connected to the Internet. 9 businesses in 10 use broadband connections. 8 businesses in 10 apply a 'green IT' policy.

Breakdown of GDP by sector of activity:

  • agriculture: 0.3%
  • industry: 13.4%
  • services: 86.8%

Important economic sectors

The financial sector is the main driving force behind the Grand Duchy's economy. Even so, the Grand Duchy's authorities are aware of the risk of the economy being over-dependent on any one sector, and have adopted a policy of diversification of the country's economic fabric by providing support for information and communication technologies (ICTs), logistics, bio- and eco-technologies, research, etc. as well as actively promoting the diversification of the financial marketplace.

Finance 

The Grand Duchy is a first rate financial marketplace. Some 150 banks (2014) operate out of the Grand Duchy. Luxembourg is the leading centre in Europe for investment funds (in second place worldwide, after the USA), the leading centre for private banking in the Eurozone, and the domicile of choice for reinsurance companies. Luxembourg for Finance (LFF) is the country's agency for the development and promotion of the financial marketplace. The banks located in the Grand Duchy specialise in private banking (wealth management for private clients), insurance, the functions of custodian bank for investment funds and fund administration, and in the distribution of shares in invetment funds. The activities of the financial marketplace are also diversifying into the fields of microfinance, philanthropy and Islamic finance. The financial sector creates one-third of the Grand Duchy's GDP.

  • For more information, please read our 'Finance' pages.

Information and communication technologies (ICT) 

The ICT sector provides 6.6% of total gross added value (figure for 2012). The ICT sector's share of total employment is 4.0% (figure for 2012). Multiple very high-speed direct connections lead from the Grand Duchy to the main European hubs. The time lag between the Grand Duchy and London, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Paris, etc. is extremely short. The Grand Duchy hosts some of the 'stars' of the ICT sector, including Amazon, iTunes, eBay, Vodafone, RealNetworks, Rakuten, etc., as well as a number of online video game companies. Some of the Grand Duchy's other advantages:

  • Great diversity of very high level data centres
  • Low cost of electricity
  • Broadband Internet coverage: 100% (2014)
  • Penetration rate of mobile broadband Internet: 65% (based on mobile telephone users, 2012)
  • Fixed-line broadband Internet coverage at 100 Mbps: 80% (based on population, 2014)
  • Fixed-line broadband Internet coverage at 1 Gbps: 25% (based on population, 2014)
  • Number of certified Tier IV data centres in the Grand Duchy: 6 (2014)

The Grand Duchy is the leading country in Europe for broadband Internet coverage (2014) and international internet bandwidth (2014). It is also the leading country (among 148) for legislation on ICTs (2014). The Grand Duchy's ICT Cluster oversees the whole sector.

  • For more information, please read our 'E-commerce' pages.

Logistics

Logistics: Taking advantage of excellent connectivity to international markets, the Grand Duchy's logistics sector is surging ahead. It is based on three mainstays: air freight with Cargolux, one of the largest air freight companies in the world, LuxairCargo and CargoCenter, rail freight with CFL Cargo and CFL Multimodal, and river freight; Luxembourg Freeport, the first free zone of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg at Findel International Airport; Pharma & Healthcare Center at Findel International Airport; Pharma & Healthcare Centre at Findel international airport; 'Cluster for Logistics' overseeing the whole sector. According to the World Bank's Logistics Performance Index (LPI), the Grand Duchy stands in 8th position of the countries with the best performance in logistics (2014).

  • For more information, please read our 'Logistics' pages.

Biotechnology

The University of Luxembourg and the publicly funded research centres are collaborating with a number of internationally renowned research institutions on three projects: a bio-bank, the Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL), the Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine, and research in the field of validating markers for lung cancer. The Luxembourg BioHealth Cluster oversees the whole sector.

Eco-technologies

The Grand Duchy hosts about 200 eco-industries working in the fields of renewable sources of energy, waste management, water and eco-construction. They are supported in their work by 28 public-sector agencies and six research institutes. The Luxembourg Ecoinnovation Cluster oversees the whole sector.

Industry

For many years, the iron and steel industry was the driving force behind the Grand Duchy's economy, until the crisis in the industry in the 1970s. ARBED's name is directly connected with the country's wealth. ARBED's merger in 2001 with Usinor and Aceralia produced ARCELOR, which in turn merged with Mittal Steel in 2006. ArcelorMittal, whose headquarters are in Luxembourg City, is currently the world's largest steel group. Other industrial sectors materials (DuPont de Nemours, Guardian Glass, etc.) and fittings for the motor vehicle industry (Goodyear, Delphi, etc.)

  • For more information, please read our 'Industry' pages .

Audiovisual production

The Grand Duchy played a pioneering role on the European media scene. Two media and communications giants came into being in Luxembourg and are still continuing to expand from their HQ in the Grand Duchy: the RTL group, the leading radio and television broadcaster in Europe, and SES, the world's leading provider of communication and broadcasting services, with a fleet of about fifty satellites. There are also about twenty film production companies, three film studios, and about thirty post-production companies in the Grand Duchy. A good number of Luxembourgish (co-)productions have won awards at international film festivals. In 2014, the Grand Duchy won its first Oscar, for the animated film Mr Hublot (Zeilt Productions). In 2013, the animated film Ernest et Célestine (Mélusine Productions) won, among other awards, the César for the best animated film.

Research and innovation

Research and innovation are key elements in the policy to diversify the Grand Duchy's economy. In 2014, 1,24% of the Grand Duchy's GDP was devoted to research. Un peu plus que la moitié des dépenses de recherche émane du secteur privé. The government has set a national target of 2.6% of GDP for spending on research and development (R&D). The University of Luxembourg, created in 2003, is a new, multilingual university focusing on research. It is located at the centre of the City of Science, Research and Innovation on the ancient industrial site of Esch-Belval as well as the House of Innovation and several public research bodies: LISER (Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research), LIST (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology), LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine)...

Crafts

Crafts: This sector, with some 7,000 businesses, is the leading employer in the Grand Duchy. In relation to the economy as a whole, the crafts sector represents 22% of businesses and 23% of total employment (2017 figures). The sector is heavily dependent on cross-border labour (49%). 

Tourism

Tourism: The World Tourism & Travel Council (WTTC) calculated the direct and indirect impact of tourism as representing 5.7% of the Grand Duchy's GDP (2012). The tourism sector represents 7.6% of total employment. The government pays particular attention to business and congress tourism (MICE). Tourism in the Grand Duchy is promoted by the National Tourist Board (Office national du tourisme, ONT).

Agriculture

Agriculture's contribution to the national economy has been stable in recent years, but at a very low level. Whereas in 1947 43.7% of the population of the Grand Duchy worked in the primary sector (agriculture, hunting, forestry, fishing), the figure has dropped considerably since, falling to 3.61% in 2001. Today, the number of farms and jobs in farming (1% of total employment in 2012) is declining, although the total area used for agricultural purposes remains more or less stable. Organic production is increasing (120 producers in 2013), albeit slowly. Demand for organic products continues to rise, however, in both specialist shops and supermarkets.

  • Updated 11-05-2017

Economie et secteurs-clés

Points forts économiques

Economie largement ouverte, fort potentiel de croissance, bases macroéconomiques équilibrées, industrie diversifiée, centre financier international, infrastructures modernes, excellente connectivité aux marchés, cadre institutionnel, législatif et fiscal attrayant

Capitale de l'Union européenne

Avec Bruxelles et Strasbourg, Luxembourg est une des trois "capitales" de l'Union européenne. La capitale abrite plusieurs services et institutions européennes, dont les services de la Commission européenne (traduction, publications, statistiques), la Cour des comptes européenne, la Cour de justice de l'Union européenne, la Banque européenne d'investissement (BEI), le Fonds européen d'investissement (FEI), le Secrétariat du Parlement européen, le Fonds européen de stabilité financière (FESF), le Mécanisme européen de stabilité (MES).

Membre fondateur d'organisations internationales majeures

  • Benelux, Conseil de l'Europe
  • Union européenne
  • OTAN
  • OCDE
  • Nations unies
  • OMC...

Unité monétaire

  • 1 euro (€) = 100 cents

Marché de l’emploi

Taux de chômage*

  • 7,1% (mars 2014)

Emploi total intérieur*

  • 392.131 salariés (mars 2014); autour de 70% de la main-d’œuvre du pays est composée de travailleurs immigrés ou frontaliers.

Salariés frontaliers

  • salariés frontaliers entrants*: 162.183 (mars 2014)
  • salariés résidents sortants*: 11.908 (mars 2014)

la part des travailleurs frontaliers est passée de 3% en 1961 à 44% en 2010; près d'un travailleur frontalier sur deux est originaire de France.

Agents et fonctionnaires internationaux

  • 10.400 (2012)

Taux d’inflation

  • 1,7% (2013)

PIB (taux de croissance réelle)**

  • 2,7% (2014)

* données corrigées des variations saisonnières (cvs)
** prévision

PIB/habitant

82.700 EUR en 2012. Cet indicateur classe le Luxembourg en tête des pays les plus riches du monde, mais il est à relativiser compte tenu du nombre important de travailleurs frontaliers qui, par définition, ne figurent pas au dénominateur de ce ratio.

Grande stabilité politique et sociale

Fidèles au "modèle social luxembourgeois", le gouvernement, les patrons et les syndicats se mettent autour d’une table pour traiter des questions économiques et sociales importantes dans le cadre de la Tripartite. Avec comme résultat que le niveau des jours de grève par an est particulièrement bas au Luxembourg.

Grand degré d’ouverture du Luxembourg 

Le Grand-Duché est fortement dépendant des pays étrangers, aussi bien pour l’écoulement de ses biens et services que pour son approvisionnement en biens et services non disponibles sur le marché national.

Société de l'information

En 2013, 99,4% des ménages disposent de téléphone portable, 94% des ménages disposent d'un ordinateur, 95% des ménages ont un accès Internet à la maison et près de 8 ménages sur 10 ont un accès à haut débit. Quasiment l'ensemble des entreprises utilise des ordinateurs et est connecté à Internet. Les connexions à large bande sont utilisées par 9 entreprises sur 10. 8 entreprises sur 10 appliquent des politiques "Green-IT", c.-à-d. elles ont mis en place une politique informatique verte.

Part des secteurs d’activités dans le PIB

  • agriculture: 0,3%
  • industrie: 13,4%
  • services: 86,8%

Secteurs économiques importants

Le secteur financier est le principal moteur de l’économie luxembourgeoise. Toutefois, conscientes des risques d’une trop forte dépendance de l’économie à un seul secteur, les autorités luxembourgeoises poursuivent une politique de diversification du tissu économique national en soutenant les technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC), la logistique, les biotechnologies et les écotechnologies, la recherche, etc., tout en promouvant activement la diversification de la place financière.

Finance 

Le Luxembourg constitue une place financière de tout premier ordre. Quelque 150 banques (2014) opèrent depuis le Grand-Duché. Luxembourg est le premier centre européen de fonds d’investissement (numéro deux mondial derrière les Etats-Unis), premier centre de banque privée dans la zone euro et domicile de choix pour les sociétés de réassurance. Luxembourg for Finance (LFF) est l’agence pour le développement et la promotion de la place financière. Les banques implantées au Luxembourg sont spécialisées dans le private banking (gestion de fortune pour une clientèle privée), l’assurance, les fonctions de banque dépositaire pour fonds d’investissement et d’administration de fonds, et dans la distribution de parts de fonds d’investissement. Les activités de la place financière se diversifient en outre vers la microfinance, la philantropie et la finance islamique. Le secteur financier est à la source d’un tiers du PIB luxembourgeois.

  • Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre rubrique sur la finance.

Technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) 

La part du secteur ICT dans la valeur ajoutée brute totale est de 6,6% (2012). La part du secteur ICT dans l’emploi total est de 4,0% (2012). De multiples connexions directes à très haut débit mènent de Luxembourg vers les principaux hubs européens. Les temps de latence vers Londres, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Paris... sont ultra-courts. Le Luxembourg accueille les "stars" du secteurs des TIC comme Amazon.com, iTunes, eBay, Vodafone, RealNetworks, Rakuten, etc. ainsi que des entreprises de jeux vidéo en ligne. Autres avantages du Luxembourg :

  • Grande diversité de centres de données de très haut niveau
  • Faible prix de l’électricité
  • Taux de couverture Internet large bande: 100% (2014)
  • Taux de pénétration Internet large bande  mobile: 65 % (Base: utilisateurs de téléphones mobiles, 2012)
  • Taux de couverture Internet fixe large bande 100 Mbps: 80% (Base: population, 2014)
  • Taux de couverture Internet fixe large bande 1 Gbps: 25% (Base: population, 2014)
  • Nombre de centres de données certifiés Tier IV au Luxembourg: 6 (2014)

Le Luxembourg est le 1er pays européen quant à la couverture Internet large bande (2014) et quant à la bande passante Internet internationale (2014). Il est également le 1er pays (parmi 148) quant à la législation en matière de TIC (2014). Le Luxembourg ICT Cluster chapeaute l’ensemble du secteur.

Logistique

Profitant d’une excellente connectivité aux marchés internationaux, le secteur logistique luxembourgeois a le vent en poupe. Il repose sur trois piliers: fret aérien avec Cargolux, une des plus importantes compagnies de fret aérien du monde, LuxairCargo et CargoCenter, fret ferroviaire avec CFL Cargo et CFL Multimodal et fret fluvial. Luxembourg Freeport, la première zone franche du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg à l’aéroport international de Findel; Pharma & Healthcare Center à l’aéroport international de Findel; Cluster for Logistics chapeautant l’ensemble du secteur. Selon le Logistics Performance Index (LPI) de la Banque mondiale, le Luxembourg occupe en 2014 la 8e place du palmarès des pays les plus performants en matière de logistique.

  • Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre rubrique sur la logistique.

Biotechnologies

L’Université du Luxembourg et les centres de recherche publics collaborent avec des instituts de recherche de renom mondial sur trois projets: une biobanque, l’Integrated Biobank of Luxembourg (IBBL), le Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine et la recherche dans le domaine de la validation des marqueurs du cancer du poumon. Le Luxembourg BioHealth Cluster chapeaute l’ensemble du secteur.

Ecotechnologies

Le Luxembourg héberge environ 200 éco-industries qui œuvrent dans les domaines de l’énergie renouvelable, de la gestion des déchets, de l’eau et de l’écoconstruction. Elles sont soutenues dans leur travail par 28 agences publiques et 6 instituts de recherche. Le Luxembourg Ecoinnovation Cluster chapeaute l’ensemble du secteur.

Industrie

La sidérurgie fut longtemps la locomotive de l’économie luxembourgeoise et ce, jusqu’à la crise de la sidérurgie dans les années 1970. Le nom de l’ARBED est directement lié à la richesse du pays. En 2001, la fusion de l’ARBED avec Usinor et Aceralia donne naissance à ARCELOR, qui fusionnera à son tour en 2006 avec Mittal Steel. ArcelorMittal, dont le siège est situé à Luxembourg, est aujourd’hui le plus grand groupe sidérurgique mondial. D’autres secteurs industriels: les matériaux (DuPont de Nemours, Guardian Glass,...) et les équipements de l’industrie automobile (Goodyear, Delphi,...).

  • Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre rubrique Industrie.

Production audiovisuelle

Le Luxembourg a joué un rôle de pionnier sur la scène médiatique en Europe. Deux géants des médias et communications sont nés au Luxembourg et continuent aujourd’hui leur développement à partir du Grand-Duché: RTL Group, premier diffuseur européen de télévision et de radio, et SES, premier fournisseur mondial de services de communication et de télédiffusion avec une flotte de quelque 50 satellites. Au-delà, le Luxembourg compte une vingtaine de sociétés de production de films, trois plateaux de tournage et une trentaine de sociétés de postproduction. De multiples (co)productions luxembourgeoises ont été récompensées lors de festivals de film internationaux. En 2014, le Luxembourg a obtenu son premier Oscar pour le film d’animation Mr Hublot (Zeilt Productions). En 2013, le film d’animation Ernest et Célestine (Mélusine Productions) remporte entre autres le César du meilleur film d’animation.

Recherche et innovation

La recherche et l’innovation sont un élément-clé de la politique de diversification de l’économie luxembourgeoise. En 2014, le Luxembourg a consacré 1,24% de son PIB à la recherche. Un peu plus que la moitié des dépenses de recherche émane du secteur privé. Le gouvernement a fixé comme objectif national un taux d’intensité de recherche et développement (R&D) de 2,6% du PIB. L’Université du Luxembourg, créée en 2003, est une université jeune et multilingue centrée sur la recherche. Elle est implantée au cœur de la Cité des sciences, de la recherche et de l’innovation sur l’ancien site industriel d’Esch-Belval de même que sa Maison de l'innovation et plusieurs des organismes de recherche publics: LISER (Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research), LIST (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology), LCSB (Luxembourg Centre for Systems Biomedicine)...

Artisanat 

Avec plus de 7.000 entreprises, ce secteur représente le premier employeur du Grand-Duché. Par rapport à l’économie dans son ensemble, l’artisanat représente 22% des entreprises et 23% de l’emploi total (chiffres 2017). Ce secteur est très dépendant de la main-d’œuvre frontalière avec 49% de salariés venant de nos frontières. 

Tourisme

Pour l’année 2012, le World Tourism and Travel Council (WTTC) estime l’impact direct et indirect du secteur à 5,7% du PIB luxembourgeois. Le secteur touristique représente 7,6% de l’emploi total. Le gouvernement accorde une attention particulière au tourisme d’affaires et de congrès (MICE). La promotion touristique nationale est assurée par l’Office national du tourisme (ONT).

Agriculture

La part de l’agriculture dans l’économie est stable au cours des dernières années, mais se situe à un niveau très bas. Tandis qu’en 1947, 43,37% de la population luxembourgeoise exerçait un travail dans le secteur primaire (agriculture, chasse, sylviculture, pêche), ce chiffre a fortement diminué pour se trouver à 3,61% en 2001. Aujourd’hui, le nombre d’exploitations et la main-d’œuvre agricole (1% de l'emploi total en 2012) diminuent, alors que la surface agricole totale utilisée reste plus ou moins stable. Le secteur de la production biologique est en progression (120 producteurs en 2013), bien que lentement. Or, la demande en produits biologiques ne cesse d’augmenter, aussi bien dans les commerces spécialisés que dans les grandes surfaces.

  • Mis à jour le 11-05-2017