Geography and climate

Geography

Position: Western Europe

Geographical coordinates: latitude 49° 37’ N, longitude 6° 08’ E

Neighbouring countries: Germany, Belgium, France

Area: 2,586 square kilometres Luxembourg extends from north to south over a maximum distance of 82km and 57km from east to west.

Border length: 356km. The country has 148km of borders with Belgium, 135km with Germany and 73km with France.

Dimensions of the country: north-south 82km, east-west 57km

Altitudes: maximum (Wilwerdange): 560m; minimum (Wasserbillig): 130m; Luxembourg City: 300m

Geographical centre of the country: 49° 46' 38'' N and 6°05' 43'' E . It is situated in the forest reserve called 'Pëttenerbësch'.

Main rivers: Moselle (37km), Sûre (136km), Alzette (67km)

Area covered by water: 0.6% of the national territory

Wooded area: 88,000 hectares (34% of the entire country); wooded area per inhabitant: 0.18 hectare

  • Find all the maps and geographical information on the national geoportal: www.geoportail.lu

Geographic areas

Oesling or Éislék (Luxembourgish Ardennes):

The ’Éisléck, in the northern part of the country forms part of the Ardennes massif and borders the German Eifel region. This wooded areas cover 828 square kilometres, one third (32%) of the entire country. Oak and pine forests cover the steep slopes. Its nature parks and castles attract large numbers of visitors. The highest point in the Grand Duchy (560m) is here, in Wilwerdange. The climate is harsher than in the rest of the country. The main towns in this region are Wiltz, Clervaux and Vianden.

Guttland ('good country'):

Guttland, in the south and centre of the country, together with the capital, occupies the remainder of the country (68%, or 1,758 square kilometres). It is mainly open countryside and forests. The main regions are the Luxembourg sandstone plateau, marly depressions, the Moselle valley, the Mullerthal area (the Grand Duchy's 'Little Switzerland'), and the Red Earth area ('Terres Rouges'). The Luxembourg sandstone plateau is the dominant feature of the Guttland. The Grand Duchy's finest forests are to be found here. Marly depressions constitute the most widespread and typical landscapes in the Guttland. Their broad valleys lie at the foot of the Dogger and Luxembourg sandstone escarpments. Over two-thirds of this area are farmland.

Tourist regions

The main tourist regions of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are Luxembourg, the capital and its surroundings, the Ardennes and their nature reserves, the Mullerthal – Luxembourg's Little Switzerland, the Moselle and the Red Lands.

Luxembourg City (the capital) and the surrounding areas:

A capital city with a thousand years of history, Luxembourg City was founded in 963. Its median altitude is 300m above sea level. The capital offers a striking contrast between the modern quarter, perched on a rocky plateau with a sheer drop, and the three older areas of Grund, Clausen and Pfaffenthal. The quarter housing the European institutions has been located on the Kirchberg plateau to the north-east of the city since the 1960s.

Valley of the Seven Castles

The 24km of the Valley of the Seven Castles to the west of Luxembourg City link the castles of Mersch, Schoenfels, Hollenfels, Ansembourg (two castles), Septfontaines and Koerich. They are part of a landscape of meadows and old villages which is perfect walking country.

The Ardennes and their nature parks:

Here you will find magnificent castles, upland villages, rivers and lakes (Upper Sûre lake), and two nature parks (Upper Sûre and Our). Oak and pine forests cover the steep slopes. The climate is harsher than in the rest of the country. The main towns in this region are Wiltz, Clervaux and Vianden. There are many kilometres of marked paths offering hikers a host of possibilities.

The Mullerthal – Luxembourg's Little Switzerland

The Mullerthal – Luxembourg’s Little Switzerland lies north of the Moselle valley along the border with Germany. Its main town, Echternach, is one of the oldest in the Grand Duchy. Elevated wooded plateaus and rock formations are the features of this area, where a great number of walks are signposted.

The Moselle

The Moselle valley is the most impressive in Luxembourg both in terms of size and variety of landscapes. It has the advantage of a mild climate. It is one of the country’s main tourist attractions, largely on account of its winemaking activities (Wine Route, wine-tasting).

The Terres rouges area:

The 'Terres rouges' area (literally: red earth) lies to the south of the marly depressions. The landscape has been shaped by industry because the red earth was a source of iron ore, hence the area's name 'Minett' in Luxembourgish (from 'minette', the word used in Lorraine for iron ore). The main towns are Esch-sur-Alzette, the second-largest town in the Grand Duchy, Differdange and Dudelange. It is an area which combines an industrial past and an innovative future.

Main towns:

Luxembourg City, Diekirch, Differdange, Dudelange, Echternach, Esch-sur-Alzette, Ettelbruck, Grevenmacher, Remich, Rumelange, Vianden and Wiltz. The title of 'town' is attributed by legislation.

Climate

Climate: temperate, with no extreme fluctuations, tending to damp and cold.

Average annual temperature: about 9°C; average temperature ranges between 0°C in January and 18°C in July.

Time zone: Central European Standard Time (CET) = GMT/UTC +1; Central European Summer Time (CEST) = GMT/UTC +2

The climate in detail

The Grand Duchy does not have a clear-cut climate: it varies between the oceanic climate of the Atlantic region (slight seasonal differences, with mild, wet winters) and the continental climate of the plains of eastern Europe (substantial seasonal differences, harsh winters and wet summers).

The ocean influence brings rain throughout the seasons and the continental influence brings biting, dry weather in winter. The climate is temperate from May to mid-October. July and August are the hottest months, but May and June frequently have more sunshine. The Grand Duchy often experiences its own version of an Indian summer in September and October.

There are slight variations in temperature, of rarely more than 2°C, between the north and south of the country, due to the difference in altitude.

  • Updated 10-06-2016

Géographie et climat

Geographie

Position: Europe occidentale

Coordonnées géographiques: 49° 37' de latitude nord et 6° 08' de longitude est

Pays voisins: Allemagne, Belgique, France

Superficie: 2.586 km2. Le Luxembourg s'étend du nord au sud sur une distance maximale de 82 km et sur 57 km d'est en ouest.

Longueur des frontières: 356 km. Le pays compte 148 km de frontières avec la Belgique, 135 km avec l’Allemagne et 73 km avec la France.

Dimensions du territoire: nord-sud: 82 km; est-ouest: 57 km

Altitudes: maximum (Wilwerdange): 560 m; minimum (Wasserbillig): 130 m; capitale: 300 m

Centre géographique du pays: 49° 46' 38'' N et 6°05' 43'' E . Il se situe dans la réserve forestière intégrale "Pëttenerbësch".

Principales rivières: Moselle (37 km), Sûre (136 km), Alzette (67 km)

Superficie aquatique (cours et plans d’eau): 0,6% du territoire national

Superficie boisée: 88.000 ha du territoire national (34% de la superficie totale); superficie boisée/habitant: 0,18 ha

  • Trouvez toutes les cartes et informations géographiques sur le géoportail national: www.geoportail.lu

Régions géographiques

Oesling ou Éisléck (Ardennes luxembourgeoises)

Situé au nord du pays, l’Éisléck fait partie du massif des Ardennes et borde l’Eifel allemand. Cette région boisée couvre 828 km2, soit un tiers du territoire (32%). Les forêts de chênes et de pins couvrent les versants abrupts. Ses parcs naturels et ses châteaux attirent de nombreux visiteurs. C’est ici que se situe le point le plus haut du Luxembourg, qui est de 560 m (Wilwerdange). Le climat y est plus rude. Les villes principales de cette région sont Wiltz, Clervaux et Vianden.

Guttland ("bon pays")

Situé au sud et au centre du pays, le Guttland forme avec la capitale le reste du territoire (68%), soit 1.758 km2. Il est constitué essentiellement de campagnes et de forêts. Ses principales régions sont les suivantes  le plateau du Grès de Luxembourg, les dépressions marneuses, la vallée de la Moselle, la région Mullerthal-Petite Suisse luxembourgeoise et les Terres rouges. Le plateau du Grès de Luxembourg représente l’élément dominant du Guttland. On y trouve les plus beaux ensembles forestiers du Luxembourg. Les dépressions marneuses constituent le paysage le plus grand et le plus typique du Guttland. Elles s’étendent au pied des côtes du Dogger et du Grès de Luxembourg et sont composées de larges vallées. Plus des deux tiers de la superficie sont consacrés à l’agriculture.

Régions touristiques

Les principales régions touristiques du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg sont Luxembourg, la capitale et ses environs, les Ardennes et leurs parcs naturels, la région Mullerthal-Petite Suisse luxembourgeoise, la Moselle ainsi que les Terres rouges.

Luxembourg, la capitale et ses environs

alentours-lux-resizeCapitale millénaire, fondée en 963, Luxembourg-Ville est située à une altitude de 300 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer. La capitale surprend par le contraste entre le quartier moderne, perché sur un plateau rocheux découpé à pic, et les trois quartiers anciens que sont Grund, Clausen et Pfaffenthal. Depuis les années 1960, le quartier européen avec les institutions européennes est implanté sur le plateau de Kirchberg, au nord-est de la ville.

La Vallée des sept châteaux

La Vallée des sept châteaux à l’ouest de la capitale réunit sur 24 km les châteaux de Mersch, Schoenfels, Hollenfels, les deux châteaux d’Ansembourg, celui de Septfontaines et celui de Koerich. Ceux-ci font partie d’un paysage de prairies et de vieux villages, qui se prête à de nombreuses promenades.

Les Ardennes et leurs parcs naturels

ardennes-resizeOn y trouve de magnifiques châteaux, des villages de hauteur, des rivières et des lacs (lac de la Haute-Sûre) et deux parcs naturels (parc naturel de la Haute-Sûre, parc naturel de l’Our). Les forêts de chênes et de pins couvrent les versants abrupts. Le climat y est plus rude. Les villes principales de cette région sont Wiltz, Clervaux et Vianden. Des kilomètres de sentiers de randonnées offrent d’innombrables possibilités aux randonneurs.

La région Mullerthal-Petite Suisse luxembourgeoise

mullerthal-resizeLa région Mullerthal-Petite Suisse luxembourgeoise se trouve au nord de la vallée de la Moselle, en bordure de la frontière allemande, et a pour chef-lieu Echternach, une des plus anciennes villes du Luxembourg. Hauts-plateaux boisés et formations rocheuses caractérisent cette région qui invite à une multitude de randonnées.

La Moselle

moselle-resizeLa vallée de la Moselle est la plus imposante vallée luxembourgeoise de par sa taille et la variété de ses paysages. Elle profite d’un climat doux. C’est un des premiers centres d’attraction touristique du pays, essentiellement grâce à son activité viticole (Route du vin, dégustation de vins et crémants).

Les Terres rouges

terres-rouges-resizeLes Terres rouges sont situées au sud des dépressions marneuses. L’industrie y a façonné le paysage, car de la terre rouge fut extrait du minerai – d’où l’appellation de "Minett" en luxembourgeois pour qualifier cette région. Ses villes principales sont Esch-sur-Alzette, la deuxième ville du Grand-Duché, Differdange et Dudelange. C’est un endroit où se marient passé industriel et avenir innovant.

Les principales villes

Luxembourg (capitale), Diekirch, Differdange, Dudelange, Echternach, Esch-sur-Alzette, Ettelbruck, Grevenmacher, Remich, Rumelange, Vianden et Wiltz. La dénomination de "ville" est attribuée par la loi.

Climat

Climat: tempéré, sans fluctuations extrêmes, à tendance humide et froide.

Température moyenne annuelle: environ 9 °C; la température moyenne oscille entre 0 °C en janvier et 18 °C en juillet.

Zone horaire: Central European Standard Time (CET) = GMT/UTC +1; Central European Summer Time (CEST) = GMT/UTC +2

Le climat en détail

Le Luxembourg n’a pas un climat parfaitement défini: il oscille entre le climat océanique de la zone atlantique (écarts saisonniers faibles, hivers doux et pluvieux) et le climat continental des plaines de l’Europe orientale (écarts saisonniers marqués, hivers rudes et étés pluvieux).

L’influence océanique amène des précipitations en toute saison et l’influence continentale amène un froid piquant et sec l’hiver. De mai à la mi- octobre, le climat est tempéré. Alors que juillet et août sont les mois les plus chauds, mai et juin sont souvent les plus ensoleillés. En septembre et octobre, le Luxembourg connaît souvent son propre "été indien".

De légères variations de température existent entre le nord et le sud du pays; elles sont dues à une différence d’altitude et excèdent rarement 2 °C.

  • Mis à jour le 19-04-2016