History and symbols

History

Located in the heart of Europe, positioned between France, Belgium and Germany, the Grand Duchy has taken part in the major European developments. The Grand Duchy's history can therefore be seen as a condensed version of European history.

963 The history of Luxembourg goes back to 963, when Count Sigfried acquired the small fort called Lucilinburhuc in an exchange with St Maximin's Abbey in Trier. The fort stood on the rocky spur of the Bock, dominating the Alzette valley.
14th and 15th centuries:

During the Middle Ages, the Princes of Luxembourg wore the crown of the Holy Roman Empire.

  • Henri VII, Count of Luxembourg, was elected King of Germany in 1308 and crowned as Emperor four years later in Rome. The Counts of Luxembourg also became Kings of Bohemia by the marriage of John the Blind, son of Henri VII, to Elisabeth, heiress to the kingdom of Bohemia. John the Blind was a model knight, and died a hero’s death in the service of the King of France at the Battle of Crécy in 1346.
  • In 1364, with the definitive acquisition of the County of Chiny, the possessions of the Dukes of Luxembourg covered the largest area in their history (10,000 square kilometres).
  • After Henri VII, three other members of the Luxembourg dynasty were to wear the royal or imperial crowns in succession: Charles IV (1346-1378), Wenceslas (1376-1400) and Sigismund (1410-1437), the last Emperor from the House of Luxembourg.
  • In modern times, Luxembourg's fortress, referred to as 'Gibraltar of the North', was a focal point in the struggles among the major powers.
  • Before obtaining its independence during the 19th century, Luxembourg lived under successive Burgundian, Spanish, French, Austrian and Dutch sovereignty.
1795 Luxembourg was annexed to France, becoming the 'Département des Forêts' under Napoleon
1815-1890 Creation of the current Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
1815 After the collapse of the Napoleonic Empire, the map of Europe was redrawn and divided up among the major powers, meeting at the Congress of Vienna in 1815. This was when Luxembourg was created as an independent political entity. It was made a Grand Duchy, and attributed to the King of the Netherlands, William I of Orange-Nassau. Despite this rise in status, the Grand Duchy was obliged to cede to Prussia the Eifel area and a vast area to the east of the Moselle, Sûre and Our rivers.
1839 It was not until 1839, with the Treaty of London, that the Grand Duchy took on its present day form. The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg remained under the sovereignty of the House of Orange-Nassau, but acquired its own administration, and the Belgian part of Luxembourg became a province of Belgium.
1890 The personal union with the Netherlands did not end until 1890, with the death of William III. Adolphe of Nassau-Weilbourg became Grand Duke of Luxembourg. The country then had its own dynasty.
20th century

The end of neutrality, and the Grand Duchy's role in the construction of Europe

  • Despite its neutrality, the Grand Duchy was invaded by the German army during both World Wars, on 2 August 1914 and 10 May 1940.
  • During the second invasion, Grand Duchess Charlotte and the government went into exile and the country was subjected to occupation by the Nazis. On 10 September 1944, Luxembourg City was liberated by American troops. During the Ardennes offensive (the Battle of the Bulge), German forces devastated the north and east of the country (between December 1944 and February 1945).
  • After the Second World War, the Grand Duchy abandoned neutrality and took its place in the international community which came into being after 1945. It is a founding member of the UN (1945), Benelux (1947), NATO (1949), the ECSC (1951), the EEC and Euratom (Treaties of Rome) (1958), etc.
  • The accession to the throne of Grand Duke Jean in 1964 coincided with an era of exceptional prosperity. Grand Duke Jean abdicated in 2000 in favour of his son, Henri.
  • 2014 marks the 175th anniversary of the Grand Duchy's independence.

For more information read our pages about the history of the Grand Duchy!

Some famous people who passed through the Grand Duchy

The following famous people visited Luxembourg:


Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban (1633-1707) French engineer Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban directed operations for the armies of France's King Louis XIV besieging Luxembourg's fortress in 1684.
Jean Racine (1639-1699) Great French playwright Jean Racine passed through Luxembourg in 1687 as Louis XIV's historiographer and inspector of Luxembourg's fortress.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe(1749-1832) German poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe stayed in Luxembourg's fortress on two occasions in 1792.
Joseph Mallord William Turner (1775-1851) English painter Joseph Mallord William Turner painted a good number of views of Luxembourg's fortress during his two visits, in 1826 and 1834.
Victor Hugo (1802-1885) French writer Victor Hugo produced a number of drawings during his stay in Vianden, in the Ardennes.
Barend Cornelis Koekkoek (1803-1862) Dutch landscape artist Barend Cornelis Koekkoek painted a series of landscapes depicting the Grand Duchy in the 1840s.
Mihály Munkácsy (1844-1900) For 25 years, Hungarian painter Mihály Munkácsy lived with his Luxembourgish wife at Colpach castle, the couple's summer residence. The most important painter in 19th-century Hungary was constantly painting the surroundings of the castle and the inhabitants of the village.
Franz Liszt (1811-1886) Hungarian composer Franz Liszt also stayed in Colpach some time before his death. He gave his last piano recital, on 19 July 1886, at the 'Casino Bourgeois' in Luxembourg City.
André Gide (1869-1951) French Nobel Prize in Literature winner André Gide was among the guests of the famous 'Colpach circle', centred on Aline and Emile Mayrisch, which brought together the European cultural icons of the early 1920s at Colpach castle.
Paul Almasy (1906-2003)

Franco-Hungarian Paul Almasy, one of the greatest photo reporters of the 20th century, took hundreds of photographs of the Grand Duchy during his many stays in the country.

Symbols

The symbols of a State represent and symbolise not only the identity of its people and its sovereignty, but also its desire to 'live together'. The symbols of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg are:

drapeaulux

The National Flag

The national flagconsists of three horizontal stripes in red, white, and sky blue. Although the flags of the Grand Duchy and the Netherlands are very similar, the distinguishing feature of the Dutch flag is its ultramarine blue stripe, whereas the blue on the Grand Duchy's flag is sky blue.

Like the national coat of arms, the Grand Duchy's flag is protected by the Law of 23 June 1972 on national emblems.

infographie-hymne-198573

The National Anthem

The national anthem (legally protected since 1993) consists of the first and last verses of the song 'Ons Heemecht' (our homeland), dating from 1859, with words by the poet Michel Lentz and set to music by Jean-Antoine Zinnen. Played in public for the first time at a major ceremony in Ettelbruck in 1864, the national anthem expresses the country's immense joy at finally becoming independent, and celebrates its peacefulness and prosperity.

Only the government has the right to translate the national anthem. Translations into a number of languages are available online on this portal:

wilhelmus-129168

The 'Wilhelmus', the anthem of the grand ducal house.

The 'Wilhelmus' is the anthem of the grand ducal house. It is heard whenever a member of the grand-ducal family arrives at or leaves an official ceremony. It takes its inspiration from a trumpet sounding or a cavalry fanfare; there is no written trace thereof prior to the 16th century.

En amont de la fête nationale

National Day: 23 June

The National Day has been celebrated on 23 June each year since 1962: it is the public celebration of the sovereign's birthday, regardless of the actual date of his or her birthday (grand ducal order of 23 December 1961). Every year it attracts tens of thousands of Luxembourgers, foreign residents and tourists.

Les petites armoiries

Coat of arms

The origins of the Grand Duchy's coat of arms date back to the Middle Ages. There are three grades of the Grand Duchy's coat of arms: the small coat of arms, the medium coat of arms and the great coat of arms. They are protected by the Law of 23 June 1972 on national emblems.

Inscription

National motto

'Mir wëlle bleiwe wat mir sinn' (We want to remain what we are) The motto is taken from a song entitled 'De Feierwôn' (the chariot of fire) written by national poet Michel Lentz to mark the inauguration of the railway in 1859. It has become a true national song.

Other objects of great symbolic importance

drapeau-lionrouge-162126
The red lion, as represented on the blue and white striped flag Luxembourgers bring out for sports events, or in a stylised form on biometric passports;
gelle-fra-129195
The 'Gëlle Fra' (Golden Lady) — the monument with its statue of a golden lady on the Place de la Constitution in Luxembourg City — is considered to be a symbol of Luxembourgish identity.
  • Updated 30-01-2017

Histoire et symboles

Histoire

Situé au cœur de l’Europe, entre la France, la Belgique et l’Allemagne, le pays a participé aux grandes évolutions européennes. Ainsi, l’histoire du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg peut être considérée comme un véritable condensé de l’histoire européenne.

963 Les origines de Luxembourg remontent à 963 lorsque le comte Sigefroi acquiert le fortin appelé Lucilinburhuc par un acte d’échange avec l’abbaye Saint-Maximin de Trèves. Le fortin se trouvait sur l’éperon rocheux du Bock dominant la vallée de l’Alzette.
Du XIVe au XVe siècle

Au Moyen Âge, les princes du Luxembourg ont porté la couronne du Saint Empire romain germanique.

  • Henri VII, comte de Luxembourg, est élu roi d’Allemagne en 1308 et se fait couronner empereur quatre années plus tard à Rome. Les comtes de Luxembourg deviennent également rois de Bohême, par le mariage du fils d’Henri VII, Jean l’Aveugle, avec Elisabeth, l’héritière du royaume de Bohême. Chevalier modèle, Jean l’Aveugle meurt en héros au service du roi de France dans la bataille de Crécy en 1346.
  • En 1364, avec l’acquisition définitive du comté de Chiny, les possessions des ducs de Luxembourg atteignent leur plus grande étendue (10.000 km2).
  • Après Henri VII, trois autres membres de la dynastie des Luxembourg porteront successivement la couronne royale, voire impériale: Charles IV (1346-1378), Wenceslas (1376-1400) et Sigismond (1410-1437), le dernier empereur de la maison de Luxembourg.
  • Pendant les temps modernes, la forteresse de Luxembourg, dénommée "Gibraltar du Nord", a été un enjeu majeur dans la lutte entre les grandes puissances.
  • Avant d’accéder à l’indépendance au XIXe siècle, le Luxembourg a vécu successivement sous souveraineté bourguignonne, espagnole, française, autrichienne et hollandaise.
1795 le Luxembourg est annexé à la France et devient le département des Forêts sous Napoléon.
1815-1890 création du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg actuel
1815 Après l’effondrement de l’empire de Napoléon, la carte de l’Europe est redécoupée et repartagée par les grandes puissances réunies au congrès de Vienne en 1815. C’est le moment de la création du Luxembourg en tant qu’entité politique indépendante. Il est érigé en grand-duché et attribué au roi des Pays-Bas, Guillaume Ier d’Orange-Nassau. Malgré cette élévation en rang, le Grand-Duché doit céder à la Prusse la région de l’Eifel ainsi qu’une vaste région à l’est des fleuves de la Moselle, de la Sûre et de l’Our.
1839 Ce n’est qu’en 1839, avec le traité de Londres, que le Luxembourg prend sa forme actuelle. Le Grand-Duché de Luxembourg reste sous la souveraineté des Orange-Nassau, mais obtient une administration séparée, et le Luxembourg belge forme une province de la Belgique.
1890 L’union personnelle avec les Pays-Bas ne prend fin qu’en 1890, à la mort de Guillaume III. Adolphe de Nassau-Weilbourg devient le Grand-Duc de Luxembourg. Le pays a désormais sa propre dynastie.
XXe siècle

abandon de la neutralité et rôle du Luxembourg dans la construction européenne

  • Malgré sa neutralité, le Grand-Duché a été envahi lors des deux guerres mondiales par l’armée allemande, le 2 août 1914 et le 10 mai 1940.
  • Lors de la deuxième invasion, la Grande-Duchesse Charlotte et le gouvernement partent en exil et le pays est soumis au régime d’occupation nazie. Le 10 septembre 1944, la ville de Luxembourg est libérée par les Américains. Lors de l’offensive des Ardennes, les forces allemandes dévastent le nord et l’est du pays (de décembre 1944 à février 1945).
  • Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Grand-Duché abandonne son statut de neutralité et s’assure une place dans la communauté internationale qui se forme après 1945. Il est membre fondateur de l’ONU (1945), du Benelux (1947), de l’OTAN (1949), de la CECA (1951), de la CEE et d’Euratom (traités de Rome) (1958), etc.
  • L’avènement au trône du Grand-Duc Jean en 1964 coïncide avec une ère de prospérité exceptionnelle. Le Grand-Duc Jean abdique en 2000 en faveur de son fils Henri.
  • En 2014, le Luxembourg célèbre ses 175 ans d’indépendance.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez nos pages sur l'histoire du Grand-Duché!

Personnalités de renom de passage au Luxembourg

Les personnalités de renom suivantes étaient de passage au Luxembourg:


Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban (1633-1707) L’ingénieur français Sébastien le Prestre de Vauban dirige les opérations du siège de la forteresse de Luxembourg en 1684 par les armées de Louis XIV.
Jean Racine (1639-1699) Jean Racine, le grand auteur dramatique français, est de passage au Luxembourg en 1687 comme historiographe de Louis XIV et inspecteur de la forteresse de Luxembourg.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe(1749-1832) Johann Wolfgang von Goethe séjourne à deux reprises dans la forteresse de Luxembourg en 1792.
Joseph Mallord William Turner (1775-1851) Joseph Mallord William Turner peint de nombreuses vues de la forteresse de Luxembourg lors de ses deux séjours en 1826 et en 1834.
Victor Hugo (1802-1885) Victor Hugo réalise des dessins lors de son séjour dans la ville ardennaise de Vianden.
Barend Cornelis Koekkoek (1803-1862) Le paysagiste néerlandais Barend Cornelis Koekkoek peint une série de paysages du Grand-Duché au cours des années 1840.
Mihály Munkácsy(1844-1900) Pendant 25 ans, le peintre hongrois Mihály Munkácsy réside avec sa femme luxembourgeoise au château de Colpach, dont le couple a fait sa résidence d’été. Le peintre le plus important de la Hongrie du XIXe siècle ne se lasse pas de peindre les alentours du château et les habitants du village.
Franz Liszt (1811-1886) Le compositeur hongrois Franz Liszt a également séjourné à Colpach peu de jours avant sa mort. Il a donné son dernier récital de piano le 19 juillet 1886 au Casino bourgeois à Luxembourg.
André Gide (1869-1951) André Gide, le Prix Nobel de littérature français, fait partie des invités du fameux "cercle de Colpach", qui réunit les personnalités culturelles européennes au début des années 1920 au château de Colpach autour d’Aline et Emile Mayrisch.
Paul Almasy (1906-2003)

Le Franco-Hongrois Paul Almasy, un des plus grands photoreporters du XXe siècle réalise des centaines de clichés du Luxembourg lors de ses nombreux séjours au pays.

Symboles

Les symboles de l’Etat représentent et symbolisent l’identité d’un peuple, sa souveraineté, mais aussi son désir de "vivre ensemble". Les symboles du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg sont:

drapeaulux

Le drapeau national

Le drapeau national se compose de trois bandes horizontales rouge, blanc et bleu ciel, disposées horizontalement. Même si les drapeaux du Luxembourg et des Pays-Bas se ressemblent beaucoup, le signe distinctif du drapeau néerlandais est la bande bleu outremer, alors que le bleu du drapeau luxembourgeois est le bleu ciel.

Comme les armoiries nationales, le drapeau luxembourgeois est protégé par la loi du 23 juin 1972 sur les emblèmes nationaux.

infographie-hymne-198573

L’hymne national

L’hymne national (protection légale depuis 1993) est constitué par la première et la dernière strophes du chant Ons Heemecht (Notre Patrie) de 1859, un poème en langue luxembourgeoise de Michel Lentz, mis en musique par Jean-Antoine Zinnen. Joué pour la première fois en public lors d'une grande cérémonie à Ettelbruck en 1864, l’hymne national exprime toute la joie du pays devenu enfin indépendant et qui se réjouit de la quiétude et de la prospérité.

Seul le gouvernement a le droit de traduire l’hymne national. Des traductions en différentes langues sont disponibles sur ce portail.

wilhelmus-129168

Le Wilhelmus, l’hymne de la maison grand-ducale

Le Wilhelmus est l’hymne de la maison grand-ducale. Il est entonné lorsqu’un des membres de la famille grand-ducale arrive à une cérémonie officielle et au moment où il prend congé. Il est inspiré d’une sonnerie de trompette ou d’une fanfare de cavalerie, dont il n’existe pas de trace écrite avant le XVIe siècle.

En amont de la fête nationale

Fête nationale: 23 juin

Depuis 1962, la fête nationale est célébrée le 23 juin: c’est la célébration publique de l’anniversaire de la naissance du souverain, indépendamment de sa date de naissance réelle (arrêté grand-ducal du 23.12.1961). Elle attire chaque année des dizaines de milliers de Luxembourgeois, de résidents étrangers et de touristes.

Les petites armoiries

Armoiries nationales

L’origine des armoiries de l’Etat luxembourgeois remonte au Moyen Âge. Les armoiries du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg sont à trois échelons: les petites armoiries, les moyennes armoiries et les grandes armoiries. Elles sont protégées par la loi du 23 juin 1972 sur les emblèmes nationaux.

Inscription

Devise nationale

"Mir wëlle bleiwe wat mir sinn" ("Nous voulons rester ce que nous sommes"). Cette devise est extraite du chant De Feierwôn (Le char de feu) du poète national Michel Lentz qui a composé ce chant patriotique à l’occasion de l’inauguration du chemin de fer en 1859. Il est devenu un véritable chant national.

Autres objets à grande valeur symbolique

drapeau-lionrouge-162126
Le lion rouge, représenté par exemple sur le drapeau rayé bleu-blanc, est utilisé par les Luxembourgeois lors de manifestations sportives ou encore, de façon stylisée, sur le passeport biométrique.
gelle-fra-129195
La "Gëlle Fra" ou monument du Souvenir représentant la statue de la femme en or à la place de la Constitution à Luxembourg est considérée comme le symbole de l’identité luxembourgeoise.
  • Mis à jour le 30-01-2017