Media

The Grand Duchy can boast an extensive, diverse media scene. Alongside a national press, with the main dailies being the main platforms for opinion, there is also an impressive number of foreign newspapers, audiovisual media and new media.

With its polyglot population, the use of the three languages habitually spoken in the country - Luxembourgish, German and French — is one of the most striking features of the press in the Grand Duchy.

In the audiovisual sector, it was only in the early 1990s that the monopoly — in place since the introduction of radio in the 1920s — was broken by the liberalisation of the airwaves.

In the written press — at least until the appearance of newspapers and magazines exclusively in French in the early 2000s — it has been usual to find articles in German and others in French side-by-side on the same page.

Luxembourg has never known the phenomena of dynastic media groups or of media controlled by industrial capital. Four media groups lead the market: RTL Group in the audiovisual sector, and Saint-Paul Luxembourg, Editpress Luxembourg and Maison Moderne for the written press.

  • Updated 28-04-2015

Médias

Le Luxembourg peut se prévaloir d’un paysage médiatique étoffé et pluraliste. A côté d’une presse nationale dont les principaux quotidiens se qualifient volontiers d’opinion, les titres étrangers, les médias audiovisuels et les nouveaux supports sont abondants.

Face à une population parfaitement polyglotte, l’utilisation des trois langues usuelles du pays – luxembourgeois, allemand, français – est une des particularités les plus frappantes de la presse luxembourgeoise.

Dans l'audiovisuel, ce n’est qu’en début des années 1990 que le monopole en place depuis les premiers pas de la radio dans les années 1920 tombe avec la libéralisation des ondes.

Dans la presse écrite, du moins avant l’apparition d’organes de presse exclusivement francophones en début des années 2000, il est usuel de trouver côte à côte sur une même page des articles en langue allemande et en langue française.

Le Luxembourg ne connaît par contre ni le phénomène de groupes de médias à capitaux familiaux, ni celui de médias dominés par des capitaux industriels. Quatre groupes de médias dominent le marché: RTL Group du côté de l’audiovisuel, Saint-Paul Luxembourg, Editpress Luxembourg et Maison Moderne du côté de la presse écrite.

  • Mis à jour le 07-04-2015