The grand ducal family

Grand Duke Henri, the reigning sovereign, is the eldest son of Grand Duke Jean and Grand Duchess Joséphine Charlotte of Luxembourg (passed away on 10 January 2005). He succeeds to the throne on 7 October 2000, after the abdication of his father, Grand Duke Jean (1964 — 2000).

One family, four generations

On 14 February 1981, prince Henri marries Maria Teresa Mestre in the Cathedral Our Lady of Luxembourg. Grand Duke Henri and Grand Duchess Maria Teresa have 5 children, as well as 3 grand-children. From their union are issued:

  1. prince Guillaume, Hereditary Grand Duke, born on 11 November 1981;
  2. prince Félix, born on 3 June 1984;
  3. prince Louis, born on 3 August 1986;
  4. princess Alexandra, born on 16 February 1991;
  5. prince Sébastien, born on 16 April 1992.

Grand Duke Jean, who lives in Fischbach Castle, holds a special place among these four generations.

A close family

The grand ducal family is an especially close family, which, like all Luxembourgish families, tries to spend a maximum of time together. During holidays the complete family can either be found at Berg Castle, or at their Cabasson estate, or in Switzerland for winter sports.

Marriages and births

Prince Guillaume was officially appointed Hereditary Grand Duke on 18 December 2000. In October 2012, at the Cathedral Our Lady of Luxembourg, he married countess Stéphanie de Lannoy, who thereby became Hereditary Grand Duchess of Luxembourg.

In September 2013, prince Félix married princess Claire of Luxembourg at the Basilica of Sainte Marie-Madelaine in Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume (France). From this union a grand-daughter was born: princess Amalia.

Finally, two more grand-children are issued from the marriage of prince Louis to princess Tessy of Luxembourg, celebrated in September 2006: princes Gabriel and Noah.

A very committed family

In the context of their official functions, TRH the Grand Duke and the Grand Duchess regularly embark on state visits and official visits, which allow them to meet heads of state and government across the globe. As head of the Luxembourg army, the Grand Duke also regularly visits deployments of the Luxembourgish army abroad.

The grand ducal couple is also involved actively in the life of the country, through numerous sponsorships and commitments in the social, humanitarian, economic, cultural and sports domains.

Thus, the Grand Duke is, among others, member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC). The Grand Duchess is notably president of the Grand Duke and Grand Duchess Foundation, whose objective is to help people in need in Luxembourg. On an international level, she is among others a Unesco Goodwill Ambassador.

The Hereditary Grand Duke also travels across the globe to represent Luxembourg abroad. As honorary president of Luxembourg for Business, he regularly heads Luxembourgish economic or financial missions, during which he is often joined by the Hereditary Grand Duchess. Moreover, he shows its humanitarian commitment by its patronage of the Kräizbierg Foundation, which helps people with disabilities.

(Source: www.monarchie.lu)

  • Updated 28-04-2015

La famille grand-ducale

Le Grand-Duc Henri, l’actuel Souverain, est le fils aîné du Grand-Duc Jean et de la Grande-Duchesse Joséphine-Charlotte de Luxembourg (décédée le 10 janvier 2005). Il accède au trône le 7 octobre 2000, succédant à son père, le Grand-Duc Jean (1964 – 2000).

Une famille, quatre générations

3-generations-137264Le 14 février 1981, le prince Henri épouse Maria Teresa Mestre en la Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Luxembourg. Le Grand-Duc Henri et la Grande-Duchesse Maria Teresa ont cinq enfants ainsi que trois petits-enfants. De leur union sont nés :

  1. le prince Guillaume, le Grand-Duc héritier, né le 11 novembre 1981;
  2. le prince Félix, né le 3 juin 1984;
  3. le prince Louis, né le 3 août 1986;
  4. la princesse Alexandra, née le 16 février 1991;
  5. le prince Sébastien, né le 16 avril 1992.

Le Grand-Duc Jean, qui vit au château de Fischbach, tient la place d'honneur au milieu de ces quatre générations.

Une famille soudée

La famille grand-ducale forme une famille particulièrement unie qui, comme toutes les familles luxembourgeoises, tente de passer un maximum de temps ensemble. Pendant les vacances, toute la famille se retrouve soit au château de Berg, soit au domaine de Cabasson dans le sud de la France ou, pendant la saison des sports d'hiver, en Suisse.

Mariages et naissances

Le 18 décembre 2000, le prince Guillaume est officiellement nommé Grand-Duc héritier. En octobre 2012, il épouse en la Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Luxembourg la comtesse Stéphanie de Lannoy, qui par ce mariage est devenue Grande-Duchesse héritière de Luxembourg.

En septembre 2013, en la Basilique de Sainte Marie-Madeleine de Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume, est célébré le mariage du prince Félix et de la princesse Claire de Luxembourg. Une petite-fille est née de cette union: la princesse Amalia.

Enfin, deux petits-enfants sont issus du mariage du prince Louis et de la princesse Tessy de Luxembourg, célébré en septembre 2006,le prince Gabriel et le prince Noah.

Une famille très engagée

Dans le cadre de leurs fonctions officielles, LL.AA.RR. le Grand-Duc et la Grande-Duchesse effectuent régulièrement des visites d'Etat et des visites officielles, ce qui leur permet de rencontrer les chefs d'Etat et de gouvernement à travers le monde. En tant que chef de l’armée luxembourgeoise, le Grand-Duc rend également visite aux contingents de l’armée luxembourgeoise à l’étranger.

Le couple grand-ducal s'implique aussi très activement dans la vie du pays, à travers de nombreux engagements et patronages dans les domaines social, humanitaire, économique, culturel et sportif.

Ainsi, le Grand-Duc est, entre autres, membre du Comité international olympique (CIO). La Grande-Duchesse est notamment présidente de la Fondation du Grand-Duc et de la Grande-Duchesse, qui a pour objectif d’aider les personnes dans le besoin au Luxembourg. Sur le plan international, elle est entre autres Ambassadeur de bonne volonté de l’Unesco.

Le Grand-Duc héritier voyage aussi à travers le monde pour représenter le Luxembourg à l’étranger. En tant que président d’honneur de Luxembourg for Business, il est régulièrement à la tête de missions économiques ou financières du Luxembourg lors desquelles il est souvent accompagné par la Grande-Duchesse héritière. Par ailleurs, il manifeste son engagement humanitaire par sa présidence d’honneur de la Fondation Kräizbierg, qui œuvre en faveur des personnes en situation de handicap.

(Source: www.monarchie.lu)

  • Mis à jour le 10-04-2015